We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 day break at an amazing place”
Review of Tall Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tall Timber Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“4 day break at an amazing place”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We returned to Tall Timber Lodge in late June for a short break. It was once again amazing. My new favorite place is the Evergreen cabin. Adorable and well appointed, it is effect for a getaway for two. The rainbow grill escape package is perfect and well worth the expense. We love the food and ambiance in the rainbow grill and the staff at the lodge is wonderful. Everyone makes you feel so welcome and like a part of the family.
Take advantage of booking a guide for a half or full day. We love going fishing with Angus. He is incredibly knowledgable, a great teaher, and fun to be around. You simply can't go wrong at this place.

Room Tip: Everything here is great, but I prefer the small private cabins... Perfect for a getaway with your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariahwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    34
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
108
156
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Spent four nights in July 2012 for a fishing break. The owners and staff are unfailingly welcoming and attentive. The lodge room I occupied was simple, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The evening meal can be taken in the Rainbow Grille or the bar, where a bar menu is also available, along with an accomplished shaker of cocktails. Close to the Connecticut River "trophy water" and several ponds, the lodge has boats on the lake which it overlooks. If you are looking for loons, moose and the occasional osprey Tall Timber Lodge offers an informal and very comfortable base.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We had a wonderful stay at TallTimber in September 2011.
The restaurant was fantastic, very quaint and rustic.We enjoyed Elk,Buffalo, and Seafood.The
meals were all delicious and large. Two meals a day were plenty for us.
Corrine at the front desk was ever so helpful and friendly.
We fished on Back Lake and caught plenty of small trout (rainbow,brown and brook).
We did 3 different hikes around Mt. Magalloway and enjoyed them all.
We definately plan on retuning , next time we will bring our 2 dogs.

Thanks TTL,for a wonderful getaway

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b3910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We've been staying here each year for over ten years. The cabins are always clean, comfortable, and quiet. We've stayed in the lodge too, and it just brings us back to a time when life moved a bit slower...peaceful....comforting. The hosts Corinne, Cindy, and Tom have always gone above and beyond to make our time at TT memorable and without concerns.

Room Tip: Take a Lake view cabin....PERFECT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveP3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2012

What's not to love at Tall Timber? You can stay in a clean and neat wilderness cabin and have a campfire at night (This is northern New Hampshire) and/or eat at a excellent restaurant. You have your choice of lake fishing, kayaking, stream fishing, spa treatments or just reading out on the porch. There is wi-fi in the lodge which is important because there is NO cellular service within miles. Not their fault -- when you live above the 45th parallel of latitude there are trade-offs. The staff is very friendly and will give fishing advice that actually works. The bag lunches are fantastic if you plan a day hike and start the day with blueberry pancakes. OK, I've been coming here for almost 25 years and the above are just some of the reasons. You'll have to experience Tall Timber for yourself to find what you like best.

Room Tip: Cabin Number 9 is right on the lake and close to the lodge yet at the end of the property so there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronbo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francestown, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2012

One of the best fishing trips we have had in years. Great fishing, great food, extremely comfortable accomodations and the nicest people you can imagine. We have been coming up to the north country fishing for 18 years and this is our 1st time at Tall Timber. We now have a new, permanent, destination to call home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom nh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

What a great weekend. If you haven't been to Tall Timber you are missing a super place to chill, fish, EAT , and meet some really great people. The staff is great and they have a gem there in the North Country.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iflycast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburg
14.6 mi away
Colebrook Country Club & Motel
13.7 mi away
Notch View Inn
Notch View Inn
#4 of 7 in Colebrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
13.0 mi away
Bear Rock Suites
Bear Rock Suites
#1 of 7 in Colebrook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Deer Mountain Lodge & Wilderness Resort
19.3 mi away
A Peace of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timber Lodge

Property: Tall Timber Lodge
Address: 609 Beach Rd, Pittsburg, NH 03592-5465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Tall Timber Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Timber offers a variety of comfortably furnished one to four bedroom retreats ranging from rustic lake shore log cabins to the finest luxury cottages in the Connecticut Lakes Region. The Rainbow Grille & Tavern offers exceptional food in a relaxed North Woods atmosphere, serving a varied dinner menu of uniquely prepared steaks, seafood, poultry, game such as elk, buffalo and venison. It’s the perfect spot for a romantic candlelight dinner for two or an enjoyable dinner with the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tall Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Timber Hotel Pittsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing