We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best vacations ever!!!”
Review of Tall Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tall Timber Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Great accomodations, amenities and staff...everything was perfect...Thanks!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike-d-rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2010

Tall Timber is a find - fabulous fly fishing, hiking, food, service and accommodations. We stayed at Mallard Rock cabin, a serene cabin on the lake. Jon Howe was our guide and we dined at the resort for dinners. The resort is one of the top 100 resorts for fly fishing and deservedly so. The staff was attentive and friendly. A wonderful place for families to come and re-connect with nature.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trout33907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We celabrated our sons wedding in Pittsburgh and Tall Timber was an ideal location for the large group we traveled with. We opted for a weeks stay prior to the wedding for a little "down time" along with many friends & family. Additional guests arrived daily. So our stress level escalated as the week went on. We hosted a picnic for all the guests at Tall Timber the night before the wedding and could not haved pulled it off without the assistance of Kevin - anything we wanted - we got!

Thanks to everyone for all your help!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenjean1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We had such a nice time at Tall Timbers! They are very accommodating and allow pets! I look forward to spending some time there again someday! Very friendly people!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraMcMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Tall Timber Lodge provides wilderness experiences that are both rustic and elegant. Whether staying in one of the cabins, an apartment, or a room in the lodge, guests will be in a setting that seems like the most comfortable fishing or hunting camp imaginable. Over the course of the last twelve years my family and I have stayed in all three types of accommodations at the lodge, and we have enjoyed every experience. The Caron family, proprietors of the lodge, make every guest feel like their favorite guest.

The grounds are well kept and provide ample opportunities for lounging and bird watching, with many loons and ducks raising their new family members on Back Lake. The rooms, apartments and cabins are as nicely kept as are the grounds, and the cabins and apartments have most of the amenities that a guest would want, including kitchen facilities. Breakfast and dinner are available in the lodge's Rainbow Grille, as well as at several other local establishments, for those moments when guests do not want to cook their own meals.

The lodge is easily accessible from a major highway, yet its location on a quiet lake access road provides ample opportunities for walking, jogging and cycling. Bicycles are available for rental, as are small powerboats for fishing on Back Lake. The lodge is a short drive from other wilderness experiences in the Connecticut Lakes region, including fly-fishing blue ribbon streams, and viewing wildlife along "moose alley." Winter guests also enjoy snowmobiling the areas many trails.

There are many things to like about northernmost New Hampshire, and Tall Timber Lodge is near the top of the list. While my family and I do not have the opportunity to return to the lodge nearly often enough, we will certainly return as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tunapete37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

My family has been staying at TTL for 10 yrs, since our kids were babies. The cabins give a nice sense of being away from it all and yet the amenities including gas fireplaces, jacuzzi tub and Spa treatments are far from rustic. The Caron Family and Staff are welcoming, kind and responsive to questions and needs. Small beach area for kids to swim in the lake right at your doorstep. Love the free use of kayaks, canoes. They allow pets in many of the cabins but it is really important to follow the rules, pick up after your pet and don't allow your pet to bother any of the other guests. Oh, did I mention the moose, fishing and loons?

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BD4218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We stayed at Tall Timber opening night (for the season) of the restaurant. The seafood I ordered was fresh and cooked to perfection, and my husbands bison steak was "melty" (his words) translate: melt in your mouth wonderful. The meal was the cap to an enjoyable 2 days in the north country. We'll be going back in July!

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
Thank AverysMom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburg
14.5 mi away
Colebrook Country Club & Motel
13.6 mi away
Notch View Inn
Notch View Inn
#5 of 9 in Colebrook
19 reviews
13.0 mi away
Bear Rock Suites
Bear Rock Suites
#1 of 9 in Colebrook
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
A Peace of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Tall Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timber Lodge

Address: 609 Beach Rd, Pittsburg, NH 03592-5465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range: £120 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Tall Timber Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Timber offers a variety of comfortably furnished one to four bedroom retreats ranging from rustic lake shore log cabins to the finest luxury cottages in the Connecticut Lakes Region. The Rainbow Grille & Tavern offers exceptional food in a relaxed North Woods atmosphere, serving a varied dinner menu of uniquely prepared steaks, seafood, poultry, game such as elk, buffalo and venison. It’s the perfect spot for a romantic candlelight dinner for two or an enjoyable dinner with the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tall Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Timber Hotel Pittsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing