We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway in the woods”
Review of Tall Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tall Timber Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic getaway in the woods”
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Quiet cabins away from commercialism. Beautiful scenery. There is no cell phone signal so you can break away from the world for a few days.
We had an excellent snowmobiling experience even though we were beginners. Definitely recommend taking the snowmobile up trail 5 from the bottom of the Ridge Runners map they give you.
We stayed in the Aspen which has a very cozy layout with a double jacuzzi thats a lot of fun for couples :-)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silk_and_Steel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    34
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
108
156
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2011

It can't get better than being on the lake, but the staff, food and wide array of activities are what makes the experience one you won't find anywhere else in great north woods. I would recommend it to families or couples looking for a quite getaway. The Caron's are sure to exceed all your expectations.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHFishergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Lyme, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2010

This is my 5th year staying at Tall Timber Lodge, it's one of the highlights of my fall season. We come here to hunt Grouse and Woodcock and have never been disappointed. The past two years we hired Tom as our guide (we should have used him 5 years ago). It was a great experience.....we hunted some beautiful country and saw lots of birds. Two thumbs up...thanks very much Tom. Tanya and Corinne went above and beyond too!!! Thank you everyone, Pete

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Decoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gray, ME
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2010

The check in was fast and effecient, the room was clean beyond clean and I really wish I could take that bed home with me!!!! Everyone that worked there was so friendly and helpful. I loved everything about our stay and will be back someday. And can I mention, the food was great.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1rottenbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed at Tall Timber Lodge over Columbus Day Weekend. We chose Tall Timber based on previous stays, it’s proximity to the ATV trails and also because it has an on-site restaurant. We stayed in the Silver Birch apartment. It was clean, comfortable and had a rustic campy feel to it. There were two bedrooms, one bath and a well-equipped small kitchenette. Although we could have prepared our own meals, we chose to dine at their restaurant, The Rainbow Grille. We enjoyed two wonderful dinners, freshly prepared, as well as hearty breakfasts to start our day. Meals were very reasonably priced. Upon request, they will also prepare “bag lunches”, which we had them do for us to take four wheeling. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to our needs.

As we were there for four-wheeling, it was very convenient to be able to ride our ATVs directly from Tall Timber Lodge to the trail head. The ATV trails in Pittsburg were fantastic - well groomed, with miles of roads and trails to choose from, incredible views of Back Lake and surrounding mountains. We saw a lot of wildlife while on the trails, including two bull Moose, a red Fox, and several Partridges. Pittsburg is a beautiful place to visit, and Tall Timber makes for a wonderful stay. We can’t wait to go back and do it again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We had an amazing stay at one of Tall Timbers woodside cabins. Everything was clean, and well taken care of. They we're accommodating in every way. The kayaking, fly-fishing, and fall colors we're all excellent. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tag2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We are regulars to Rainbow Grill and the lounge. Lately we have been going to the lounge for drinks and light dinners. The atmosphere is great and the drinks are awesome. One of the best magaritas anywhere. The waitstaff is always friendly and we enjoy our time during the evenings. Oh and to mention trying to get some tips on fly fishing 'hot spots'!

Try the lounge if you are not up for a full dinner. You will not be disappointed.

John Bialek

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ct_skidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburg
14.6 mi away
Colebrook Country Club & Motel
13.7 mi away
Notch View Inn
Notch View Inn
#3 of 7 in Colebrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
13.0 mi away
Bear Rock Suites
Bear Rock Suites
#1 of 7 in Colebrook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Deer Mountain Lodge & Wilderness Resort
19.3 mi away
A Peace of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timber Lodge

Property: Tall Timber Lodge
Address: 609 Beach Rd, Pittsburg, NH 03592-5465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Tall Timber Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Timber offers a variety of comfortably furnished one to four bedroom retreats ranging from rustic lake shore log cabins to the finest luxury cottages in the Connecticut Lakes Region. The Rainbow Grille & Tavern offers exceptional food in a relaxed North Woods atmosphere, serving a varied dinner menu of uniquely prepared steaks, seafood, poultry, game such as elk, buffalo and venison. It’s the perfect spot for a romantic candlelight dinner for two or an enjoyable dinner with the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tall Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Timber Hotel Pittsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing