We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveller rating
472
71
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
472
71
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfly fishingconnecticut lakemoose alleygreat north woodsget awaytroutgas grillfudgemoose watchingguest housefull kitchena great vacationfire pitmain officemini vacationbeautiful areacanadian border
Filter
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 552 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We booked a rather last minute long weekend in PIttsburg, and chose the Cabins at Lopstick because they still had cabins available. We rented the cabin closest to the office, which is one of the older units. It isn't fancy but was clean and had a great kitchen which was newly done. The cabin was comfortable and convenient to everything. We rented kayaks and took them up to East Inlet after trying them out across the street. We had plenty of space, hot water, fresh towels; it was a great weekend and a reasonable price. The office staff was very helpful and even made dinner reservations for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varneykr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

It's great to hear that your last minute get away went so well for you. Angler's Roost is a unique cabin, and is enjoyed by many of our guests. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your kayaking adventure. Kayaking is a great way to get out and explore, and the places you chose are probably some of the best in the area. On behalf of the staff I would like to thank you for choosing us, and giving us the opportunity to make your experience all that you expected it would be.

Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have been going here for 10 years. It is so peaceful and we have enjoyed all 4 seasons. If you like deer March is the best time to go. The fall is great for leaf peepers. In the winter there is nothing better than sitting in front of a roaring fire and watching the snow come down. Summer is fishing and water fun. The cabins they offer are are varied from rustic to private homes waterfront, views, near trails,pet-friendly. You really can't go wrong. If you are the type that likes room service, night life you will not be happy here. But, you never know, once you get a taste-you might just fall in love with the place. We will be staying in Otter Landing starting September 5th for 6 nights. Its on First Connecticut Lake and with luck we will see lots of wildlife and have another wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The camps we have stayed at are RiverEdge, The Camp, Starlight Cove and of course Otter Landing (our favorite).
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your long term dedication to Lopstick. It is because of guests such as yourselves that the "Lopstick" family is built upon. All of the cabins you have stayed at are great choices to get away and relax. As you also mentioned, it is neat to see how each season has its own character and how it changed your experience with us. I look forward to seeing you again soon, and for year to come.

Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We go to Powderhorn every Labor Day weekend with my husband's family and thoroughly enjoy our time there. We relax on the dock, we kayak on Back Lake, we fish, we have fire in the outdoor fireplace at night and just plain old enjoy ourselves. Steve and Bonnie keep the cabins clean and are attentive when we need it. This was our 6th or 7th year there and we are already looking forward to next year's visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lopstick2017, Director of Guest Relations at Lopstick, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

I am so sorry this wonderful review was somehow overlooked. We really appreciate your repeat business and let's hope you are still coming to stay at Powderhorn this year!

Thank you again for the great review.

Best regards,
Courtney Major

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Don't go to Lopstick Cabins if electricity or water is important to you. We paid over $200 a night and were without those conveniences on the hottest night in July because of an electric storm. Other nearby resorts had generators that restored power. Not so Lopstick. We went to bed by flashlight, hot and sticky. and not able to shower or use the toilets. We were offered no refunnd for this great inconvenience that no high-end hotel would put up with and neither should a customer paying over $200 a night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joaner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

It disappoints me to hear that your stay with us was not as you expected it would be. Unfortunately, power outages are outside of our control, and they can not be predicted. While several businesses in the area have generators to keep part of their operations functional, I am not aware of anyone who rents multiple units/cabins, and has the ability to run all of their units with a generator when there is a power outage. While power outages are an inconvenience, I hope this incident has not discouraged you from choosing to stay with us again in the future, so that you are able to fully experience the quality of care we are know for and have built our reputation upon.

Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My friend and I spent 5 days and 4 nights in Pittsburg, NH. We stayed in the Bear's Den at Lopstick Cabins. Although small and one of the older cabins in the complex, it was very clean, comfortable and well-maintained. There was plenty of hot water. We cooked in every day, using the well-equipped kitchen and the gas grill on the porch. We spent most of our time at the cabin on the porch enjoying the beautiful view of First Connecticut Lake, in the morning while having coffee and after dark when the call of the loons added to the enchantment of the place. We also had a front-row view of the stocked fishing pond and were able to watch children (and a young great blue heron) honing their fishing skills. The grounds, too, are beautifully kept. We had a small problem with the gas grill and it was attended to promptly.

Lopstick Cabins are close to everything one would need in the Great North Woods. We kayaked a different body of water each day, drove into Canada once (look for the optical illusion in the road not far over the border), ate ice cream at a nearby stand, shopped for local souvenirs, and cruised Moose Alley every evening at dusk (no moose). We also enjoyed a couple of pretty, short hikes.

Would I stay there again and recommend it to friends? Absolutely!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sldahlfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre D, Front Office Manager at Lopstick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

It is great to hear that you enjoyed Lopstick so much that you would refer us to a friend without hesitation. I am glad we were able to leave such a lasting impression on you. Thank you for your kind words and compliments, they are greatly appreciated. It is also nice to hear that you were able to enjoy many of the area attractions. All the activities you mentioned are a few of my personal favorites, and I try to do each at least once a summer.

Thank you again for your stay with us, see you soon.

Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews