We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy with The Red Roof Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Near Plymouth State University
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed 17 June 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Red Roof Inn in Plymouth, NH June 15th. We left the a.m. of the 16th. We were up there for my son's orientation at PSU. We had made our reservations a couple of months in advance. I am disabled, and didn't think I would be comfortable staying on campus. We were told it was BIKE week plus PSU orientation weekend. So, rates would be double. It was $144.99 for one night. I remember from years ago the Red Roof Inn was nice, and I knew the hotels were filling up fast. So, I figured spend the extra money, and stay somewhere nice.

Boy, was I wrong! When we first got there the receptionist didn't even know how to check us in because we were paying in cash. She actually said that. When we went to the room. We knew instantly it wasn't what we expected. They stuck us in a corner room on the first floor. I had originally had a 2nd floor room, but had requested a first floor because of the stairs. When I called back to confirm this past week they had a first floor available. I told them I didn't require the handicapped room. That should be for someone in a wheelchair. The steps were hard for me, and I knew I would have to walk a lot for orientation. But, I did appreciate that I could get a first floor room. So, as we entered the room there was a bad smell. It was dingy, dirty and disgusting. The entire room had a pugnent musty odor. The odor in the room was apparent as soon as you walked in. The curtains smelled, the sheets, blanket ,bedspread smelled, were dirty and looked about 10 years old. When I took my shoes off the rug was moist! All over! There was no refrigerator or coffeemaker. The furniture looked dingy and one of the chairs was dirty. There were signs of water damage to the ceiling throughout the room. The toilet paper dispenser was broken, with the toilet paper just hanging there almost falling on the floor. There was also dirt on the outside of the toilet like it hadn't been washed well. There was no liquid soap to wash your hands. The doors to the outside were right outside our room. They were unlocked. Both of them. There was also a chip mark on our room door like someone had tried to break in. Out back there was a huge dumpster filled with furniture, right in front of the swimming pool. Very attractive! We were concerned about sleeping in the bed, so we slept on top. The smell when you were in the bed was horrible.

We couldn't even eat in the room because the smell was too disgusting. We were nervous because of the unlocked door next to us, and with the condition of the room, needless to say we didn't sleep well. We couldn't wait to leave the next a.m. We stayed here because we figured that everybody else would be booked for the weekend, and maybe it wouldn't be that bad. It was.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShannonBellingham_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2008

We stayed at the Red Roof Inn in Plymouth NH to avoid a nasty drive home in the snow and be close to Tenney Mountain in Plymouth, NH.

Upon arriving we discovered, much to our delight, that the hotel offers a free (basic) continental breakfast in the lobby each morning, free hot drinks all day, and the use of a microwave and toaster oven in the lobby. Also, free use of a computer with internet access in the lobby.

The hotel is a two-story place without an elevator. Thankfully, my husband carried the luggage up the stairs, but those with any sort of physical problems should be sure to ask for a lower level room. Also, this is not a non-smoking hotel, so be prepared for possible cigarette smoke in the hallways (which we experienced).

The room was neat and tidy. Clean bathroom. Plenty of towels, warm (once we cranked the heat). Cable TV. Nice sheets and plenty of pillows. Comfortable beds. The place looked recently renovated. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly.

At $78 (including tax), it was far nicer than many places we have stayed and a great place to wait out a snowstorm on the way to more skiing.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlgtigger2, general manager at Econo Lodge Near Plymouth State University, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2008

thanks for your positive review, we are sorry you were inconvenienced due to no elevator. our service has increased to helping people with bags up the stairs, we are sorry that was not offered to you.

if you decide to come back to RRI in plymouth we are offering a 10% discount with this printout. based on availabilty, may not be used during our events.

thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

Hotel looks like a newer modern two story hotel from the road, and it might be in the main building . However, I stayed over during the busy Columbus Day weekend and was told upon arrival that I would be staying in their new "300 Unit building" around back. This building turned out to be an old dumpy motel that apparently had been on the property behind the Red Roof Inn and had recently been purchased. Renovations had begun on this building, and may be better in the future....however while I was there almost nothing had been done to this building. Yellow bed sheets, dirty comforter, old creeky beds, ripped carpet, holes in the wall, and squeeling water pipes were a few of the charming features of this building.

I would make sure you are not put in this building if staying at this hotel.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank BostonTraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlgtigger2, manager at Econo Lodge Near Plymouth State University, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2008

We apologize, that your stay in October 2007, was unpleasant.

The 300 Building that you refer to is indeed going thru renovations, which we expect to be complete in 2008.

The 300 Building will have new carpets, new paint, new furniture, new bedding, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

Second stay at this hotel. Moderate Price, used the internet rate via the Red Roof Inn Website.

Hotel is clean, quiet, and has a free continental breakfast with nice hot New England Coffee.

Free USA Today, nice friendly front desk staff.

Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zshiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlgtigger2, general manager at Econo Lodge Near Plymouth State University, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2008

thanks for your positive review, if you decide to come back to RRI in plymouth we are offering a 10% discount with this printout. based on availabilty, may not be used during our events.

thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2007

This was my first ever stay at a Red Roof Inn, so I was not expecting much. The room was inexpensive at only $77.00 for one night during the foliage season, and for me price is always a concern. The room and bathroom were clean, albeit lacked much character, with just a handful of pictures on the wall. The real bonus for us was the unexpected continental breakfast in the morning. It was not mentioned anywhere on their web page, but it was very nice with a good assortment of muffins, danish, cold cereals, and coffee. Not much else to say, other than that there was practically no road noise, it's pet-friendly, and the outdoor pool in the back was closed when we stayed, although it looked nice and secluded. Overall, this motel left me with a very favorable opinion of the Red Roof Inn chain and I would not hesitate to visit this location again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PhantomReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlgtigger2, manager at Econo Lodge Near Plymouth State University, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2008

thanks for your positive review, if you decide to come back to RRI in plymouth we are offering a 10% discount with this printout. based on availabilty, may not be used during our events.

thanks
melody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2004

Decent, clean, inexpensive, no frills place to stay. Friendly management.

7  Thank RSFanSATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015
1  Thank 903guyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
0.1 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#4 of 10 in Plymouth
95 reviews
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
334 reviews
18.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
1.3 mi away
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Near Plymouth State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Near Plymouth State University

Address: 304 Main St, Plymouth, NH 03264-4518 (Formerly Plymouth Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: £52 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Near Plymouth State University 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Plus Rooms, 2 Floors, Interior Corridors, Free Wifi, Continental Breakfast, Staff On Duty 24 Hours. Approx. 1 Mile From Downtown Plymouth. Conveniatly Located Off Exit 26, Hwy 93rooms Most Rooms Have Been Newly Renovated, Painted! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge Near Plymouth State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Red Roof Inn Plymouth
Plymouth Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing