We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Quaint and Historical B&B”
Review of Federal House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Federal House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Salem, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Quaint and Historical B&B”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Federal House Inn is a charming quaint Inn in Plymouth, NH. The surrounding are has so many restaurants and activities to offer. The Inn is very beautiful with spacious rooms. The owners make your stay so comfortable it's like coming home. The food is phenomenal! The attention to detail makes this Inn stand out as the best the area has to offer! When you stay at the Federal House Inn, it isn't just staying in a "room" it's staying in a beautiful historical home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
85
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Danby, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

What a great stay! Cassie and Kevin (Innkeepers) are amazing! Slept great. Room was super clean and cozy. I loved the charm of such a historic Inn. Great location-the area is beautiful. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Smalltowngirl35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

The Federal House was built in 1825 approx. An historical album shows pictures of the owners and their background. It is therefore a great experience to stay there. The present owners are personal and informative. They have a wonderful and yummy breakfast. Then in the late afternoon cheese and wine are set out. We had wonderful time staying there.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Upon arrival, we were greeted by Kevin, the innkeeper, who helped us with our luggage and showed us to our room. He shared information on area restaurants and activities, which was very helpful. The inn is very welcoming and comfortable. We enjoyed talking with Kevin and the other guests over wine and cheese in the evening before dinner. Chocolate and strawberries after dinner was a treat. We stayed in the Doris Cummings Suite, which is a large bedroom with an en suite bath. A clean, very comfortable, romantic room. Kevin prepared a delicious breakfast, with locally acquired foods. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to the area.

Room Tip: We recommend the Doris Cummings Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank genelary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at the Federal House for one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. The inn is beautifully decorated, spotless, our room extremely comfortable, and Kevin (the innkeeper) extremely helpful and customer-friendly, as is his dog Bailey. Breakfast was top notch, chocolates are always available by the front door, and beer and wine in the dining room. We also enjoyed being able to use the free gym in the building next door. We highly recommend the Federal House.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ElMasMacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naugatuck, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Kevin made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Loved the wine, cheese, crackers and conversation every afternoon. Breakfast was a daily treat with food from local farms. Kevin was eager to share his suggestions for local dining and sightseeing. Loved the proximity of "our own" bathroom next to Harry's Room. Great B&B and looking forward to returning.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank PJB1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Kevin and Cassie have a great New Hampshire B&B--historic and charming, but with all the comforts of home. Excellent breakfasts (must try the English muffins with strawberry jam), comfortable room, great location for seeing the NH fall colors (must hike The Flume). Kevin had wonderful recommendations for local restaurants, too. Definitely a place to visit again!

Room Tip: Wonderful view from the 3rd floor (room 6).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
4.0 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
326 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#3 of 10 in Plymouth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Near Plymouth State University
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
104 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tea Rose Inn
Tea Rose Inn
#2 of 2 in Plymouth
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal House Inn

Property: Federal House Inn
Address: 27 Route 25, Plymouth, NH 03264
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Plymouth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1835 Historic Bed and Breakfast on the border between the lakes and White Mountains Regions of New Hampshire. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing