We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Dinner”

The Italian Farmhouse Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Italian Farmhouse in Plymouth, N.H. is a proud member of the Common Man family, and serves delicious Italian food in a quaint farmhouse with spectacular views of 42 acres of surrounding land. Specializing in American-Italian fare, start off your meal with a selection from our antipasti menu, such as Fresh Mussels or Fried Calamari. Try our Antipasto or Verde Salad in between courses, and then delve into one of our hearty main dishes, like Farmhouse Scampi or Cioppino.
Webster, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had eaten once before at this restaurant, enjoyed it, and decided to return for a birthday dinner. We went on a Monday night arriving just after they opened at five. There was one other table occupied when we got there and more people arrived soon after. We were seated immediately and our server pointed out the warm bread and olive oil mix on the table near the door. We both had a shrimp and pasta dish which was very good with lots of shrimp. At the bread bar, there is also shredded cheese, which is good because we both like quite a bit of cheese on our pasta. My husband also ordered a bowl of seafood chowder, which the server forgot. That was the only issue we had with the meal. The food is good (as it is at all of the Common Man Restaurants), and the prices are reasonable. We like this restaurant because it is in a real farmhouse so has lots of atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyPicthallFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    88
    41
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Must have been on off night”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

After hearing such good chat about the place, we FINALLY got to go on a Friday night. Got there just as the place opened. Staff was friendly and our waitress Kim was superb!! Very attentive and made for a sweet dining experience. However, was totally disappointed in the food although the bread bar was really good. Caesar Salad was totally dry. The marinara sauce is very sweet and more blah than anything. Perhaps too fresh. My Italian Mother cooked her's for hours! I had spaghetti and meatballs which were huge, mushy, not cooked in the sauce and flavorless-yuk! Others had the eggplant parm which they liked. Chicken and broccoli Alfred was missing the chicken and a bit bland. We had the Bailey's creme brulee which was grainy and just ok. I expected better and instead found nothing to write home about. If I go again, will try the pizza-that looked pretty good on the table next to us.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eminana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Predictably Good”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Italian Farmhouse - a little gem of a restaurant off the beaten path. Worth the drive, and the wait if there is one. You can get pizza, or entree's ... and they have specials every night. A Common Man Restaurant .. so you know it is going to be good. The atmosphere is great, the service is good (the food is fresh so it might take a few minutes), the menu varied, and the food is yummy. It gets crowded - so arrive early - or be prepared to wait a little while. Manga!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhiteMtnsFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is probably our favorite local restaurant. The food is always good, no matter what we order, and the service has been top shelf.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDLNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian food; great atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Plan to go early and call ahead. The locals know this place is good. And if there's a wait, it will be worth it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jstyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Italian Farmhouse Restaurant also viewed

Plymouth, White Mountains
Plymouth, White Mountains
 
Plymouth, White Mountains
Plymouth, White Mountains
 
Holderness, White Mountains
Plymouth, White Mountains
 

Been to The Italian Farmhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing