We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent "window" on early life in Portsmouth”

Strawbery Banke Museum
Ranked #2 of 66 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Museum houses open in December only for Candlelight Stroll: Saturdays Dec 12 and 19, 5-9 pm and Sundays, December 13 and 20, 4-8 pm. Guided Holiday House Tours offered Dec 26-31, 10 am to 2 pm with last tour starting at 2 pm. Labrie Family Skate outdoor ice rink at the museum is open daily 9 am to 9 pm (except for occasional private rentals).
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent "window" on early life in Portsmouth”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Allow half a day to view this series of early dwellings each depicting aspects of family life and the various trades carried out. Many houses had a knowledgeable guide. We found the cooper's workshop especially interesting. There is a cafe but we ran out of time before trying it.
Good educational visit for wide range of children.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    225
    55
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Level Contributor
334 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I teach history and have visited dozens of historical sites in New England. This ranks as one of the best. It is beautiful, well presented, and highly informative. Homes from many eras are presented, and many of the oldest have cut away areas to highlight the methods used by woodworkers of the 1600s. It is well worth a day and has the added benefit of an excellent sit down restaurant serving light meals made with quality ingredients.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bonniemreeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“History”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our visit was great. Video shown at beginning of tour gives a lot of info on how Portsmouth came about. Very interesting for history buffs. Only of couple of hours to do this, leaving the rest of the day for other adventures. It is a must see.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Blown away”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

....by the breadth of this place! We so enjoyed walking around. It was way better that we had anticipated. The interpreters in the houses were super knowledgeable and the role-players were really believeable and informative. It was a day well spent and we look forward to spending more time there in the future.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank travelover1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful history outing for our family!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This place should be marketed more! We chanced upon it when it was exactly the kind of interactive place we were looking for. The buildings and stories span four centuries. In addition to learning about the neighborhood and the way of life there, many national and world events were interpreted through how individuals and families were effected and they responded.

We found the costumed "residents" to be informative, interesting and engaging. Our teens loved it and participated.

One of the interpreters said our ticket was good for two days, although we had not picked up on that and did not verify since we did not have time to return.

It is compact enough that even my elderly parents could have enjoyed it.

If we had known about it we would have planned a lot more time there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SamMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strawbery Banke Museum also viewed

 

Been to Strawbery Banke Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing