We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stopover on Star Island”
Review of Isles of Shoals

Isles of Shoals
Book In Advance
More Info
US$119.00*
and up
Portsmouth New Hampshire and Isles of Shoals Cruise
Ranked #6 of 66 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nine isolated, barren islands off the coast of New Hampshire.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stopover on Star Island”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Take the Oscar Laighton and stop on Star Island for a guided tour and learn about the history of the island. Sit on a rock overlooking the ocean or stop in the hotel for an ice cream or lime ricky and sit for a bit in one of the rocking chairs on the expansive hotel porch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank sol707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    43
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rumney, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Star Island tour”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked our tour through Uncle Oscar Island Cruises. We live closer to Rye than to Portsmouth and the cost was almost 1/2 what the Portsmouth company charged. It was a beautiful day and a beautiful island. The Captain of the small ferry (20 passenger max) was very informative both on the ship and the island. I would highly recommend visiting Star Island and use Uncle Oscar if that's closer to you. My daughter and I created some wonderful memories on the Island. We brought a picnic lunch with us but you can eat at the hotel on the island if you choose.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Visiting or have guests that can't do long distances walking?”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This tour is awesome. Mother in law was visiting from overseas and she cannot walk well anymore, challenge was to us to find some sights we could enjoy...
We chose the steamship out of Portsmouth and were not disappointed! Bar and food on board, the proverbial 3 hour tour was fantastic. Family atmosphere, GREAT guide talking about the history (being a history buff, I found he was more knowledgeable than most National Park guides. One to keep in mind for future visitors that have limited mobility like our 4 year old and grandma. Hats off to ALL the staff!

Helpful?
8 Thank anton_new_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunset tour - just perfect”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I would recommend this tour to all -young, not so young, honeymooning and not so much,

Vistas were all so pretty, music was just as nice (live) and bartenders were eager to please,

It was a bargain at what ever we paid!

Helpful?
2 Thank sharon z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
209 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Thomas Laighton”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Thomas Laighton Ferry to the Isle of Shoals is New Hampshires best tourist attraction. As a senior, 67yo., I am always looking for a bargain. 4 hour trip, 3 hours on the river before entering the open blue of the Atlantic. Upon arrival we were offered a one hour guided tour of Star Island. Our onboard guide told a story about every lighthouse, the US Navy yard n all the coastal history & mystery. Every question, on land n sea was answered. After we returned from our island walk, we sat on 2nd deck dining room and ate our lunch, which we brought with us. All this for $32. Parking was $5 a car in a secure lot. The 3 of us, went directly from the boat to Market Square to finish our day with shopping. A good day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isles of Shoals also viewed

 

Been to Isles of Shoals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing