We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week getaway”
Review of Martin Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Martin Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mid week getaway”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here mid week last week and had a wonderful time. It is just out of the downtown (10-15 minutes) and certainly worth the walk, especially on a beautiful summer evening after a terrific dinner at any of the amazing restaurants in Portsmouth. The breakfasts were delicious and very filling--no need for lunch after the lemon mousse and tart we had one day. We stayed in the Noonday suite which has its own sun porch. Very nice for coffee in the morning or reading at night. I wish the sun porch had sheers or shades to give a little more privacy, especially at night. Russ and Meg are wonderful Innkeepers and we certainly will stay there again on our next trip to Portsmouth.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTXCskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    31
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
90
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
511 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Oozing romance, attention to detail in the room and at breakfast, and a good location make this inn a perfect place to stay. We were in Portsmouth last year for a night and stayed outside of downtown, so when we returned this year for a few days, we wanted to stay close to downtown. This inn is a short walk downtown, so it's perfectly located. Parking is around back, just look for the sign, and then enjoy a nice stroll through the sloping backyard that offers several tables where you can enjoy some peace and quiet. We arrived shortly after check-in time at 4 and were quickly greeted by Russ who showed us around the dining room and explained breakfast, and then walked us up the narrow staircase (It's an old house, so this staircase is not unusual, and I found it charming.) to our room, Tycoon, named for a ship. The room was charming. I especially liked the wide plank floors which date from the early 19th Century. Two comfortable wing chairs were also in the room, along with antique pieces and attractive art. I liked the refrigerator hidden in a piece of furniture, and the complimentary water and snacks inside. Two delicious chocolates were also available. The bathroom was attractive with a large walk-in shower. Now, breakfast is an event to be savored. You can come down between 8:30 and 9:30 to enjoy a selection of coffees from the Keurig, or fresh coffee on the table. A drawer holds an array of loose teas. You also have four different juices to choose from. Breakfast's first course is something small and delicious to get you going. One day we had exquisite custard and fresh fruit, and the next day was a strawberry mousse. Each starter is followed by a delicious main course. One day we had Greek omelettes, blueberry crumble coffee cake and pork sausages, and then next was a chocolate french toast with raspberries, plus bacon on the side. Absolutely delicious. Each day we were there, there was a couple who had special dietary considerations, and they were easily accommodated. I would also like to say the inn has the most comprehensive Portsmouth manual to read. I learned a lot about town and saw all the attention to detail the hosts went through to anticipate what guests might need to know. Additionally, my husband wants to add that they are a class act, because when our credit card didn't go through for payment before we arrived for breakfast on our last day, hubby noticed that we were introduced as the Typhoon room by the daughter who was serving in the morning (very friendly young woman), but saw the host sort of wave her off as if saying, "not now." The dining room was full, so he obviously didn't want to say anything that would embarrass us. Our credit card number had been stolen (three different times with three different numbers), and the inn unfortunately had one of the stolen numbers. We were able to straighten it out when we went to pay, and that's when hubby put it all together when he saw the daughter and host communicating. That's what we call classy. They could have said something at any time, but waited until we arrived for check out. I wish I could transport our guest room to our house because it was so comfortable and lovely. We will only stay here when we return to Portsmouth.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babu2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My 17 years old son and I spent two wonderful nights at Martin Hill's Inn.
I love the B&B concept, and have stayed in quite a few around Europe, Canada and the US.
I have to say that Russ and Meg are doing an excellent job here. You can tell the minute you walk in, how passionate they are about running this place. Everything is just perfect, even the warm emails I got prior to our arrival.
The inn is full with nice details, like a wide selections of coffee and loose leaf teas and home made brownies or even sherry for a nice afternoon break, and of course, impeccable bedrooms and bathrooms with amenities. We spent nice reading hours, not really in a hurry to leave the room for dinner.
Their breakfast are really delicious, and we had a lot of fun talking with the other guests in the house, and of course, with our lovely hosts.
I could keep writing, but I will resume by saying that if you're into B&B lodging, don't let this one pass. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyes-wide-opn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We arrived early...........and were told our room was not ready which was understandable. I then asked if I could use there bathroom and explained we had just driven for 3 hours to get there. The innkeeper's response was........''we don't have a bathroom people can use".........and susggested I use the public bathroom downtown which was horrible!!! She knew we were staying there that night and I think she could have been kinder. I have stayed at many B&B's and sometimes arrive early due to flight times or whatever and have NEVER had this happen. They ussually go out of their way to accomodate us, let us leave our stuff there until the room and is ready and certainly allow us to use the bathroom. Cute place but needs updating. Room is too hot and it could have been cleaner.....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg_and_Russ, Owner at Martin Hill Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi! Thank you so much for your review. We are so sorry you didn't have a better experience with us. We really wish we could check guests in whenever they arrive, ( I believe you arrived at around 12:30?) but our late check out time at 11AM doesn't allow us the time to get all the rooms ready in time. Indeed, in our first "high season" it's all we can do to get everything ready to welcome guests by our 4PM check-in time. Re/ your request to use the bathroom as you had not had the opportunity to shower - again we do wish we had a bathroom other than in the guest rooms for guests to use, but sadly we do not. The Innkeepers and Staff all use the Innkeepers' bathroom and we are simply not allowed to open it to guests. We do suggest to early-arriving guests that they may park in our lot, take a walking map and take the 10 minute walk to town and for folks who do not have a car, we do allow them to leave their belongings with us until check-in. Thanks for advising us re-our need for updates - while we try to keep up, we are also committed to maintaining the old house charm that attracts so many to Martin Hill Inn. We are sorry that your room was too hot and wish you had let us know as we could have remedied this. We had had previous requests re/ the room being too cold. It is hard to get it right for everyone but we certainly aim to. Re/ the cleanliness, we so appreciate your comment, as we have new housekeeping staff. Again, we wish you had brought whatever was not cleaned to your satisfaction to our attention, as we would have quickly and gladly taken care of it. Finally, thank you for your comment that I could have been more hospitable. As new innkeepers, we make it our mission to be as hospitable as we can be and it is helpful to know that we have room to improve. Again, Thank you for this thoughtful review. Meg, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. We were made to feel welcome, everything was clean. The B&B was quite charming and a less than 10 minute walk from the center of town. Beautiful shade garden to relax after morning activities. The breakfast was out of this world! I hope to visit Portsmouth again, and I would not hesitate to stay here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarolynT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A very charming B&B which enhanced our family trip to the NE Coast from the UK. We had two rooms, both of which were excellently presented and maintained. The hosts were very friendly, accommodating and helpful without being obtrusive.

The house itself is located close enough to the town centre to be convenient, without being so close to be affected by the increased noise/traffic. We walked to the town centre, Strawberry Banke and the fantastic 4 July fireworks display without any issue - and all within 10 minutes stroll.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The old house in the center of Portshouth (15 min walk to Strawberry Bank) is charming and very nice. Rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable, clean and well maintained.

The two course full breakfast is superb and tasty, and the owners manage very well special food requirements. They also offer good tips for your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verleihnix2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Hill Inn

Property: Martin Hill Inn
Address: 404 Islington St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4208
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martin Hill Inn provides traditional New England Hospitality in the heart of vibrant Portsmouth, NH. There are two buildings dating from the early 1800's with a large shade garden connecting the property to an off-street parking area for our guests. The Inn has a total of 7 bedrooms in the two buildings. We serve a full complimentary breakfast. Favorite menu items include Banana-Walnut muffins, Orange Cardamom Baked Pears, Baked Ham and Swiss Omelets, Cornmeal waffles with Strawberry sauce and traditional Blueberry pancakes with real 100% maple syrup. The Inn is located a 10-15 minute walk to downtown Portsmouth's shops, restaurants, theaters and museums. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing