We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at the Sheraton Portsmouth NH , Aug 18 th ! The location is excellent but could use a little updating . We were on the club floor level , evening attenant was so sweet and were quite surprised with the breakfast room attendant ( noticed by 2 other couples that mentioned it too ) that she seemed not very friendly & that we were putting her out ! Overall a great stay and we will defiantly stay at this hotel again !

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calebaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,078 - 1,084 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at the Portsmouth Sheraton with our friends and family for our recent August wedding. We reserved 3 townhouses and our other guests stayed in the hotel rooms/suites. I am reviewing the townhouses only, as I did not have a chance to see the other rooms.

Overall we were satisfied with our stay. The location of the Sheraton is perfect and allowed our guests to explore Portsmouth (Market Square) on foot.

The townhouses themselves were a bit of a disappointment, especially for the price. Although very spacious and clean, the decor was tired and the kitchenettes old. The appliances in the kitchen were at least 15 years old and the lighting and cabinetry hadn't been updated since the early 90s. The bathrooms also needed updating as well.

Overall, our experience with the staff was pleasant. We had a few room service deliveries (champagne, etc.) which were all well presented and the staff even made adjustments to their cleaning schedule to allow us to check in an hour early.

If you choose to stay in a townhouse, please know that they face a main road which is a truck route for the sand & gravel company nearby. The noise from the trucks is quite loud in the morning and could be disruptive to anyone who wants to sleep in.

Also, if you plan to park at the Sheraton, there is a $20 per car, per night fee that gets added to your bill at the end of your stay. However, the Sheraton wi-fi is complementary and very easy to use!

I would recommend staying at the Sheraton, but encourage the Sheraton Management team to make some much needed updates to the townhouses, as they do not match their $300+ room rates.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelkimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Dear Travelkimba,

Please allow us to express our gratitude for the time you took to provide us with valuable feedback. We have heard your comments regarding the townhouses and will take the time to review with our Executive Committee members and ownership. We are sorry that these rooms did not meet your expectations. There is a parking charge at the hotel of $10 per night per car for self parking and $15 per night per car for valet parking. Our apologies if this was not communicated to you until your departure. While the parking information is included on our confirmation emails we will also be sure to review the check in process with our team to ensure they are making this clear at that time.

We are very pleased to hear that our staff was pleasant and went out of their way to make you comfortable.

Thank you for your candid comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The best thing I can say about this hotel is that it is in a great location. I booked a 2 night stay as a special surprise for my husband. It was very expensive and I had organised a surprise gift in advance to be arranged in the room for our arrival. Upon arrival the staff had no knowledge of these arrangements due to lack of communication. To their credit they managed to arrange something at short notice, but the entire surprise was ruined. Our room was next to the ice and vending machines which were used 24/7 by other guests. This would not have been too bad, but the sound proofing in the room was non- existent. The door may as well have been made of paper and we heard every noise from the corridor. If staying here, make sure you ask for a room located away from any vending areas. Guests have to pay extra if they want to park at the hotel so be aware of this additional cost - I was not aware of this prior to check in although I may have missed this detail when booking. This hotel was tired and they did not even have basic niceties like complimentary hot drinks available in reception. You had to pay extra for breakfast which we did not do as it was expensive on top of what was already an expensive stay. If anyone reading this has stayed at a Hampton Inn lately - they are 10 times nicer than this Sheraton and by far better value for money. If you book this hotel for a special break - lower you expectations before booking in.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the vending areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBWooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Dear Brisbane42,

First, please accept our sincere apologies that your recent stay fell short of expectations. We appreciate that you took the time to provide your commentary so that we may work to improve upon the concerns you mentioned.

We are truly sorry that the surprise for your husband was ruined, unfortunately, without knowing the details of your stay we can’t provide an explanation for this miscommunication. We can only offer up our apologies and ask that you contact us directly regarding this issue as we would appreciate the chance to rectify the situation.

In regards to the ice machine noise, please know that we are currently working on all of our ice machine areas to improve the sound proofing and we will continue to try to be creative in ways to resolve this issue. We certainly encourage all of our guests to let us know if for any reason during their stay they are uncomfortable so we can attempt to resolve the issue as soon as possible.

We do offer complimentary tea and coffee in the mornings directly off the main elevators. This service is available every morning from 7am to 9am and until 10am on Saturday and Sunday mornings. Additionally, we do offer complimentary beverages in the afternoon, such as lemonade or infused water from 4pm to 6pm by the registration desk. We are very sorry to hear we must have missed you during your comings and goings in the hotel. We will review these hours closely to ensure we are catching the maximum number of guests possible.

Again, we thank you for the time it took to provide us with feedback. We do hope you contact us to give us more information so that we can make this right and have another opportunity to welcome you to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel.

With Warm Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The rooms are large enough and clean. The beds are comfortable and the hotel provided a real baby crib, not just an uncomfortable Park'n Play. But most importantly, the service at this hotel was excellent and exceeded my expectations. When I was in a hurry and needed milk for my baby, I stopped at the restaurant and the staff provided me with a complimentary glass of milk. A nice man called Najib El Karmach, in charge of the restaurant, also took the liberty to find me a quiet place to work when the bar upstairs was too loud, without me even having to ask for it. An employee who can anticipate the clients' needs like this is really dedicated to his work and sure knows what good customer service means.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had a fine 2 night stay last week. Location is great, within walking distance of all that downtown Portsmouth has to offer. We requested an upgrade to the Club Floor but were told there was no availability, hard to believe. In any case, the room we were given was clean and the bed was comfortable. The ac unit was a little loud and unpredictable, but nothing unbearable. We were charged $20 per night for parking when we did not use their parking lot, the front desk attendant adjusted the bill without a problem. Check the specials or call Sheraton to inquire, we received a birth year promotion which made our 2nd night only $62, this promotion was not easy to find, but a good one. I would recommend the Sheraton, a fine base in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyS-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed at the Sheraton Harborside for 3 nights with my family. As a gold member usually I get a upgrade to club level but they told me now unless you are a Platinum member there is no upgrade. I paid $20 extra each night for the upgrade. I found the rooms a bit dusty and the AC very loud. There were stains on the carpet and the room was a bit shabby. The club room was sparsely stocked and if you went there later in the evening there were no refreshments available, not even water. I don't think paying for the upgrade was worth it unless you like eggs and sausages every morning. Also if you plan to park there in the garage its $15 a night w/ or w/o valet. The best thing was the location. Its central and there are alot of sights and restaurants within walking distance. Try Friendly Toast for breakfast, 121 Congress St. I highly recommended it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmomwkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Throughout our stay every level of personnel were terrific, except for a little confusion at check-in. However, that was more than compensated for by the excellence of the staff: mechanic, housekeeping, and most especially Greg Grande and the rest of the dining staff were fabulous. They were well informed about tourist sites, interesting and interested, told a little about themselves, but never crossed the line of being too personal., really made the experience feel like a friendly small hotel within a large efficient corporate setting.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Address: 250 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3478
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £107 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is just steps from downtown Portsmouth and near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. Take in picturesque harbor views from our onsite restaurant & bar as our premier culinary experts serve delicious fare in a casual atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing