We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, awesome food, exceptional service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I do love this hotel! The property is beautiful and the staff is top notch! I was upgraded to a lovely suite and surprised with a lovely amenity. I definitely stay here whenever possible and plan on brining my family as soon as I can! The food is really incredible...I'm a bit of a food snob and the pork chop was one of the best I ever ate. If they have the butternut squash risotto, order it without hesitation...divine!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wipkmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Wipkmm,

Thank you so much! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant. Please come back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

737 - 743 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Nice hotel, close to downtown Portsmouth-which is a fabulous town to visit.
I was with a large group-17-who had come to town to run in the Seacoast Half-Marathon-which is also a wonderful run! Arranging with the hotel was challenging. What was quoted as our rate in September, suddenly wasn't the rate when we arrived in November. The hotel staff did work hard to make it right.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprilstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear AprilStein,

Thanks so much for letting us know about your stay. We are very sorry to hear that it was anything but easy for you during your booking process and we would love to hear more so that we can work on a resolution to the roadblocks that you encountered. Please feel free to reach out to Suzanne, our Director of Revenue to discuss the issues in more detail. She would be happy to hear from you.

We hope that your booking challenges were not enough to deter you from coming to see us again and we hope to have another chance to welcome you to Portsmouth.

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A group of 8 of us stayed at this hotel this weekend for a weekend of shopping and a little pub crawl. This is the second year in a row we have stayed here and I have to say I love this hotel. It was maybe 10 mins from the Kittery outlets and was perfect for walking around bars and restaurants in Portsmouth. It was a simple walk down the stairs and we were in front of a bunch of great places.

The hotel itself was very nice. The parking was a pain as we parked $15 for alot across the street, but overall that wasn't too bad. The room was very nice and we were able to get a great partial view of the harbor.

Overall, I will stay here again when we come to Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Sean,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again. We would love to hear more about your feedback on how we can make parking easier so feel free to let us know by contacting our Parking Manager, Jonah at jonah@unifiedparkingpartners.com.

Thank again and we'll see you soon.
Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The Sheraton is situated in the heart of Portsmouth and within easy walking distance of Congress street, the waterfront, and a wide array of pubs and restaurants. I was at a conference there and the number of small breakout rooms and little nooks to gather and talk made it ideal for a conference. The food was excellent also.

Room Tip: For the best view request the 4th floor looking east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear BBrodie,

Thank you so much! We hope you have a chance to visit us again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for my brothers wedding. They were supposed to make sure to block off several rooms for friends and family however failed to do so. Some family ended up at another hotel due to what the management referred to as miscommunication/misunderstanding. Either way we got a king suit which was very comfortable and clean. But for the price I expected more. The elevator took forever, and to make matters worse, parking at this hotel is a complete pain in the behind. Probably won't stay here again as we will find something in the area just as average but half the price.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PhantomFatGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Phantom Fat Guy,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us. Without knowing the details of your specific event, we can't comment on the reservation confusion, however, we are truly sorry if that was the case! We're pleased you enjoyed your suite but are very sorry to hear that you found your experience average at best.

We strive to provide every guest and warm welcome and an easy stay. Our parking is available with two options to overnight guests: self parking for $15 and valet for $18 with full in and out access. We would love to hear how we could improve this experience and make it better moving forward. If you would be willing to send your suggestions to Jonah at jonah@unifiedparkingpartners.com we will be more than happy to revisit how we can make the process more seamless for our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We hope that you will reconsider and give us another shot.

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I have been wanting to stay at this hotel since I was a student at UNH 20 years ago. It is a beautiful looking hotel, has a great location, a beautiful lobby and a truly wonderful staff. However, for the price the rooms (in my opinion) are dumpy. The room had a smell when we walked in (smelled like BO quite frankly), the bathroom was very outdated, as were the rooms. It looked more like a motel than a hotel where you would pay over 300 a night. As nice as everything else was, not having a nice room really put a damper on the experience and I was sorry I spent the money. I also found the rooms not protected from noise - you could hear everything. As lovely as it looks and as nice as the staff was to us, based on the rooms, I would not return. I see someone else posted that we should have asked for a renovated room - the hotel was booked with 2 weddings so that was not an option but I wish they would give a much fairer discount for the poor quality of the rooms. I really hope they made enough upgrades to the new rooms as they definitely did not seem worthy of the rest of the hotel. Know parking will cost you 15-18 a day. (I would give the staff a 5 of 5; the hotel appearance outside and in the lobby a 5/5 but the rooms (for the price) were definitely a 1.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roxiebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear RoxieBay,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are truly thankful for your very honest and helpful review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the staff and the public space and can certainly understand the importance of the room meeting those same standards. Please know we are actively working to improve all areas of the hotel, but it does take time. We recently did complete a renovation to one floor of guestrooms and are scheduling more updates in the near future.

We hope that based on the care of our staff and the positive aspects of your experience you will reconsider giving us another opportunity as we continue to update our hotel. Please feel free to reach out to Suzanne and sroberge@sheratonportsmouth.com and she'd be happy to make arrangements for you to try one of our newly renovated rooms.

With warmest regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We at the Sheraton for two days it is a central, clean and well staffed hotel. they have a great maintained pool. The staff helped us with the 2 day tour of Portsmouth both with local visits and restaurants. the only thing I was not happy with was the rooms service breakfast, though the breakfast looked excellent the taste was not so inviting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqueline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Jacqueline,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so pleased to hear overall what a great experience you had while visiting us. We would also love to hear your specific feedback as to how we could improve our room service breakfast. If you are willing, please contact Chef Garth at glyndes@sheratonportsmouth.com with more information.

We thank you for the chance to improve and for taking the time to share your comments.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
522 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Address: 250 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3478
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £91 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is just steps from downtown Portsmouth and near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. Take in picturesque harbor views from our onsite restaurant & bar as our premier culinary experts serve delicious fare in a casual atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing