We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is in a great location and after that it is downhill. We were on a club floor, the room was adequate but definitely on the small side. The bathroom was no great shakes. All that aside the knowledge and willingness of the front desk staff was well below par for a hotel of this type with absurdly high room rates. When asked for recommendations for dinner- they could not come up with any. When asked about things to do they had no suggestions. My husband had to ask where the bar was. When we went up to the bar there were three employees getting ready and no one asked us if we wanted anything to drink or if they could help us. We were very disappointed in the value for the price. We have travelled a fair amount and were very disappointed in the quality of service.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Dbp2,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are truly sorry to hear that you felt this way about your recent stay and we are working to educate some of our new team members on the local area as well as reviewing the lack of service you received in the bar.

We assure you that your experience, while regrettable, is far from the standard here and we do hope to have another chance to win you back as our guest.

With warmest regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

As other reviewers have mentioned the location of this hotel is excellent. We were able to park our car (which is a ridiculous $15/night charge for self-park, across the street!) and walk everywhere for the entire weekend. We rented one of the townhouses, which was large and would have provided excellent accommodation if it were not for the fact that it looked like someone moved out in 1978 and the hotel had not updated or cleaned since then.
We’d specifically booked the townhouse for the large space and kitchen so that we could spend time together and cook/eat at "home" instead of at a restaurant. We were disappointed to find out that the kitchen in the townhouse was extremely outdated and that the dishes were very dirty. Some of the dishes we took out of the cabinet had old food on them from the last people who used them; one of our wine glasses still had a woman's lip impression from her lipstick. It was clear to us that this space is not cleaned as it should be. Some of the pots and pans were not usable as the non-stick coating had partially worn off and it is not safe to use them when that happens.
The living room couches were dirty and disgusting- as though a toddler had spilled food on them and no one had cleaned it up. The dining room table had a “stain” on it that came off with a paper towel, some water, and some elbow grease.
The upstairs bathroom was again outdated and dirty, and the shower curtain is about to fall out of the wall. When I retrieved something that I dropped on the floor in the master bedroom I had the pleasure of seeing all of the “stuff” that has been collecting under the bed because, again, no one has cleaned properly.
When we checked out we mentioned the dirty dishes at the front desk, we were told “Sorry….no one really uses those dishes.” We don’t even understand that response….of course people use them. That’s why people book rooms with kitchens. Additionally, since the dishes were dirty we know people were using them.
The room simply felt neglected; as though it had not been properly updated or cleaned in a very long time. Some of it was pretty gross.
It’s too bad really because the space itself is nice; Large downstairs with separate living and dining room spaces and two bedrooms upstairs. Linens had been updated and the beds were mostly comfortable, about what you’d expect from a hotel. We will absolutely return to Portsmouth, but never to the this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear E2207,

We are so sorry to hear about this experience and would like to speak to you about your experience in more detail. If you are willing, please reach out to Suzanne at sroberge@sheratonportsmouth.com to discuss your stay.

The experience you had was unacceptable and far from the standards that we expect and we would like the chance to address it directly.

Thank you.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

On the good side, the location is close to dining and shopping. Also, the bathrooms have complimentary bath sponges, which is the first time I've ever seen that in a hotel. Unfortunately, there are some unfavorable aspects if the hotel too. First was the lobby. Check in took about 15 minutes for three people which seems too long. And part of our reservation was lost. The newly renovated room wasn't amazing. Water pressure in the shower was low and I just can't stand when hotels use a network on their TVs and a cheap universal remote to select your movie. I had to aim that thing in weird directions to change the channels. Lastly, they shouldn't have to charge for parking. This area isn't that crowded but if it is, just validate the ticket if guests.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank SpicyBigMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear SpicyBigMac,

Thank you very much for taking some time to provide us with your feedback from your recent visit.

We certainly are disappointed that there were unfavorable aspects of your stay and would like to address them and hopefully alleviate some of your concerns so that we have the opportunity to welcome you back next time you're in town.

We are currently undergoing renovations to improve our front desk. As a result, we have a remote check in location set up while the improvements are made. Unfortunately, due to wiring challenges, this means we are limited to two check in stations while the renovations are under way and as a result are experiencing longer wait periods than normal. We are truly sorry to hear this impacted your experience, but we know this is a short term issue and we hope you'll have a chance to visit when we have a new and improved front desk.

We also utilize an outside parking service in order to provide a better parking experience for our guests and as a result, like the rest of downtown Portsmouth, we do charge a parking fee. One of the aspects we love about Portsmouth is the big city amenities it offers in dining and culture for being while maintaining a quaint, small town feel, unfortunately it means the parking challenges of a larger city as well.

In regards to the improvements for the rooms, we really appreciate your feedback and are in the process of updating some of our television systems to minimize the inconvenience for our guests.

We hope you'll give us another opportunity the next time you're in town and thank you once again for your comments.

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have stayed at the Sheraton in Portsmouth several times this year and have thoroughly enjoyed each visit! The rooms are comfortable and attractive. We usually arrived too late for the restaurant and dined at the bar. Food and drinks were very good; great job on martinis and old-fashioneds!
We have stayed at fine hotels in several countries and enjoyed great rooms and meals. But people matter the most. And the Sheraton Portsmouth has great people. Everybody - the valets at the door, the folks at reception, the bartenders, the housekeepers, the club lounge attendant, the managers - They are professional yet friendly and they always greet you with a smile! i We look forward to more visits to the Sheraton Portsmouth!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjorie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Marjorie S,

Thank you so much! We really appreciate that you took the time to let us know that we're doing a great job making you feel welcome. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to hosting you for years to come.

Warmest Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here with my husband in February. We were hoping to stay at Wentworth by the Sea, which we like very much, but it was booked up so we stayed at this one. Portsmouth is a great little city with a lot of charm. We were unfortunately underwhelmed by this hotel, however. The room smelled of smoke and was very tired and in need of updates. The bathroom lacked caulking and tiles were distinctly becoming separated. There were also several hairs in our shower suggesting it hadn't been properly cleaned. We did stay on the club level but I would not recommend it as I don't think it was worth any additional money. The spread in the "club lounge" was not very impressive. Overall an average experience at best.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Juliana,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the condition of the guest room. We are very appreciative to you for bringing this to our attention.

Please know that we are working to make improvements to the guest experience in both continuous training of our co-workers and also with improvements to the product we offer. We completed one floor of renovations in July and are in the process of completing an additional floor.

We certainly hope to welcome you back so you can experience the improvements we're making and thank you again for your feedback.

With warmth.
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

So, I've lived at this hotel part time for 3 years. I really enjoy this hotel, and find it to be very warm and personable for a Sheraton. First off, Portsmouth is a fantastic town, with an unbelievable number of great restaurants and fun places to walk around. The Sheraton is well positioned to visit all of downtown Portsmouth.

The hotel itself is undergoing some renovations, and the new rooms are great. The services have also seen a significant uplift, with a very inspired new menu and outstanding beers on offer in the bar. I have to thank Lynn for always suggesting the newest offering to make its way on tap. I should also thank Micah for running a great overall guest experience. Everyone is friendly and kind, but lets me work in peace when needed. Great town, great property, great staff.

Room Tip: As of 4/2014, the 3rd floor has been renovated. The 4th floor should be done in a few months. Avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doppler197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Doppler197,

Thanks for choosing us to be your home away from home. We are very glad to hear that you enjoy the improvements that we're making at the hotel and thank you for letting us know.

Warmest Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I recently stayed at the Sheraton in Portsmouth New Hampshire during restaurant week. Our front desk receptionist Alexandra was very helpful and accommodating. We plan to come again we felt so welcomed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debross6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Debross6,

Thank you so much for recognizing Alexandra. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit in Portsmouth and invite you to come see us again, very soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
511 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Address: 250 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3478
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £94 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is just steps from downtown Portsmouth and near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. Take in picturesque harbor views from our onsite restaurant & bar as our premier culinary experts serve delicious fare in a casual atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing