We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here while atttending a wedding in the area. Staff was exceptional. Got us checked in a timely manner even though it was busy. Extremely friendly and accommodating. Room was very nice but will need some updating ASAP. Rugs and furniture are worn. Didn't eat here, but had a drink in the bar that has a view of the river. The best thing? The location. Valet parking Friday, didn't move car til Sunday. Easy walk to shops, restaurants, bars and people watching. Looking forward to a return trip in the fall. Great, great area and a most satisfactory hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Chris H,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope you come back soon. If you wouldn't mind sending us a quick note to sroberge@sheratonportsmouth.com about which room you were in, we will take a look at the carpeting.

Thank you and come back soon.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    351
    179
    57
    38
See reviews for
272
415
34
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed on the second floor. Although our room was right next to the atrium stairs, we never heard a thing. Very quiet and well-run hotel. Room & bathroom were very clean, crisp & bright. Great little lounge overlooking the harbor on that same floor as well. We have stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for the past several years, but we stayed at the Sheraton this summer and LOVED IT. Really pretty brick driveway/entrance. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonFabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear BostonFabulous,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Portsmouth.

Warm Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Sheraton and checked in quickly and easily. We loved our room so much we almost stayed in and ordered room service. The room temp was just right...the beds so comfy! Late check out was a bonus. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic! Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Lisa G,

Thank you so much. Please come back and see us again.

Warmest Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

the hotel is beautiful.. the location great...close to all sorts of dining choices..there were a couple of minor issues during our stay that were swiftly resolved bt john linnehan at the front desk.. "thank you john " would deffinetly stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn MacTaggart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Lynn,

Thank you for your understanding and kind words. We'll be sure to recognize John for a job well done. Please come visit us again.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have been staying at the hotal a few nights a week for the past 14 weeks for business. In addition I have also had functions in some of the hotels many function spaces and have rented one of the boardrooms weekly. The staff at this hotel has been amazing which is much appriciated when travling so much. Dan,Justin,and Alison in the sales office are fantastic, no matter how last mnute my request is they always seem to make it happen if possible. Mike in the restaurant is great, I was sick a few weeks back and while bringing one of my co-workers lunch Mike brought me crackers and ginger ale without me even asking. It was perfect! Melissa, Alex, and John at the front desk always take good care of me as well. Last but not least the guest loyalty manager Micah is top notch. He goes above and beyond for me daily and has even helped me to book an employee outing when we had executives staying at the hotel from out of town. I really can't say enough about these folks, can't wait to go back next week! Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbrank1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear KBrank1,

Thank you so much for your great comments. We know the team enjoys seeing you just as much and we look forward to seeing you back.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Perfect place for me and my clients! Awesome staff friendly and accommodating, especially Alison Walsh who facilitated our stay and went above and beyond to ensure we had the best experience possible. Great location, room, and facility. Would stay again in a heartbeat.
Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Jason P,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and recognizing Alison for her hard work. We are so thankful for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We rushed to check in when staying overnight for a friend's wedding. The staff was very friendly and helpful t get us to the reception. When we returned to the room at midnight I noticed that the room smelled like a sweaty locker room. Too tired to complain but mentoined to the staff the next day that we expected more when we booked six monthes in advance. And we paid more than the weekend rate! The staff said thanks, we'll let the maid know. Great.Don't get the breakfast buffet.it was more tha n 30 dollars you can find MUCH better elsewhere. We wouldn't stay there again. Other wedding attendees said the same, that there room was in a terrible location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mewickmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Memichalak,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are truly sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations and that more importantly, when you voiced your concerns that we didn't follow up appropriately. We all know that issues can arise, but we want to be sure that when they do, our team handles them in a manner that exceeds expectation. We will be using your comments here to train on this point moving forward.

We recently underwent a renovation on over 120 of our guest rooms and so we are very disappointed to hear the feedback on our rooms. If you would be willing to contact us separately so that we can be sure to check on the odor you described, we would appreciate it. Our Director of Housekeeping, Pam can be reached at pdavison@sheratonportsmouth.com.

Thank you again for your time and feedback.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Property: Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Address: 250 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing