We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
N Chittenden, VT
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here 2 nights, and loved that it was so conveniently located to downtown. Nice amenities, especially on the club floor level, where our room was. The pool, while clean, was in the basement, and could have been more inviting, a small detail. Overall a great stay, a friendly staff and the perfect spot to discover downtown Portsmouth.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailorBill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear SailorBill3,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to both our hotel and Portsmouth. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    365
    180
    59
    38
See reviews for
281
427
35
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The person at the front desk named shay was very helpful and professionally courteous with directions. I have experience in the management side of hotels and Shay is someone I would value as an employee. Thank you shay for giving me chocolate and directions haha

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlombard86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Jlombard86,

Thank you so much for the great comments. We will be sure to recognize Shay for a job well done and thank you for taking the time to share.

Warm Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Starting off with the positive: the receptionist was very nice and accommodated us kindly.

Negatives: On the way to the room, the hall way are dirty, elevator is dirty. We walk in the room, we find same thing, floor is not clean and dusty. The mattress was horrendous, as soon as you sit on it, it sinks. My wife had a back pain from it. I couldn't sleep all night because of it.
The housekeeping people were so loud cleaning the rooms across the hall. Walls are super thin, you can hear everything. And by the way pool is not clean.
Only reason I give it 2 stars is because of the friendly receptionist but not enough to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilios77g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear emilios77g,

We are truly sorry to hear about this visit and your experience. As you can see from our other guest comments, this certainly is not the norm for us and we are absolutely horrified that this is the impression you have of our hotel.

If you would be so kind as to contact us directly so that we can research the details of your stay and what went wrong, we would appreciate it. Please reach out to Hopi and hstradling@sheratonportsmouth.com. We hope to have a chance to connect with you directly.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I had almost a week to spend in Portsmouth at a technical event, so I knew choosing where I stayed would be a little more important than the usual one or two night stint. Overall, this place was a really good choice, and I would recommend it to just about any traveler (until something much better comes along).

The room itself was nice. I had a room overlooking the interior circle, so nothing special, but not too bad either. Staff were really nice and put forth a genuine interest in how my day was going. I had only two issues during the whole stay. Twice, my key stopped opening my room. Big deal--I had to call the front desk, and they were up promptly. The other issue involved the valet: there was an automated service to call for your car, and it was a bit sporadic. If you choose to valet, just call the desk and they'll take better care of you than the phone system will.

In particular, two ladies at the club level made an outstanding impression on me: Christine and Rachel were both stars at making people feel welcome. If I had more TripAdvisor pins, I would have given out two here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Lawrence H,

Thank you so much for your review and for recognizing our Sheraton Club staff for their exceptional service. We are sorry the texting service didn't work as planned while you were here. It is a relatively new system for us, so we are still working out the kinks.

We do hope you'll be back soon and thank you again for your comments.

Warmest Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

just completed a one night stay here and that was hard to come by as the hotel was sold out for the weekend. Persistence paid off as did points as they were getting $379/night here. Not surprising given how full the town was, but this property, while better than expected, is not a nearly $400/night property.

It is, however, a hard to find one. Use the hotel's address and not what Google Maps throws up, otherwise you'll be driving in circles. Once we got there and parked (valet, $18, we just wanted to be done with driving. Self park is $15), we didn't touch the car until we left. They're one of an increasing number of properties where you can text for your car, and it was ready by the time we checked out. It's the perfect location for exploring downtown as you're a quick walk to Congress Street and Market Square.

Check in went smoothly and our room was nice. No train noises to contend with and the bathroom was nice. Loved the makeup mirror. Staff was good and the restaurant served a good breakfast. It & Riverwatch Lounge had nice views of the bridges to Maine. The hotel was a little crowded and chaotic due to a wedding, but we weren't really bothered by them. Fitness center is small but in good order and pool looked to be good. Odd quirk that they don't have vending machines for drinks in the ice rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floors. There is, however, a small shop adjacent to the front desk with snacks.

PSA: The main (brick) building has only two elevators serving it and only one of which goes to the club level. If you're able bodied and not laden down with suitcases, take the steps.

I'd stay here or one of the other chains (Hilton Garden Inn, Courtyard by Marriott) right downtown if I came back to Portsmouth, but I wouldn't pay the peak rate.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Carinanne C,

Thank you so much for your comments. We're so sorry that you had difficulty finding the place. With our address on Market Street and our entrance being on Russell Street, we can certainly understand the confusion. We are happy to hear that overall your visit was a positive one and that you would come back to see us.

Warmest Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, MI
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We came to attend a family wedding and EVERYONE was staying here. So, we booked 3 rooms, one for us/separate rooms for our adult kids.

6:15pm Friday check-in was nightmare. Already running late for 6:15 rehearsal dinner which I told clerk at check in. Got to rooms to discover we received passkeys to only 2 rooms. Called down and were told someone would be up right away. After 15 minutes, my husband bounced down stairwell to retrieve keys. He returned five minutes later and we’re in our room. Ten minutes later clerk arrives with keys to our room! Absolutely clueless front desk operations.

Valet? As we unloaded car we contemplated using valet when a valet jumped into car next to us and turned key on already running engine. Loud metal grinding noise determined our decision: no.

Room:
- Towels: thin, cheap low quality.
- Phone: filthy, circa 2005?
- Dust under glass sheeting covering desk is disgusting. Removing heavy glass sheeting and thoroughly cleaning should be part of monthly “special” cleaning. Appears glass underside has not been cleaned in months/years.

Restaurant: Only visited for breakfast. Should be presented as buffet only. Too short-staffed to handle off-the-menu orders.

Never again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_MV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Katie_MV,

We are truly sorry to hear that you were so disappointed by your visit. We care deeply about the feedback we receive from our guests and always strive to provide them with the best possible service before, during and after their stay. We would love to speak to you more about your concerns if you have the time. If you would be willing to email us directly, please contact hstradling@sheratonportsmouth.com. Hopi is our Director of Operations and would love to speak to you more about your visit.

Warmest Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulster Park, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The staff at the Sheraton are all fabulous! They are so accommodating. They are all eager to meet your every need. From the front desk, to the housekeeping, to the parking attendants, they were all wonderful. They went above and beyond. This is the fourth time we visited this hotel and we have always had this same great experience. In particular I would like to mention Inki and Vivian. They work on the Sheraton Club floor and they made us feel right at home. They remembered us from past visits and made us feel like we must come back again to see them. There were many other staff members who helped us and were very gracious. Some of them were Melody, Linnus and Grayson.

Room Tip: Ask for harborview and the club floor has bigger rooms. Club floor is more expensive, but it includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Richard J,

Thank you so much for your kind words and the time you took in recognizing our team. We are so pleased to hear you'll be back again and we look forward to welcoming you then.

With warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.2 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Property: Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Address: 250 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3478
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is just steps from downtown Portsmouth and near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. Take in picturesque harbor views from our onsite restaurant & bar as our premier culinary experts serve delicious fare in a casual atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing