We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Screams Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Somersworth, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Screams Quality”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just got back from spending a night at the Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown and what a great stay it was. Right from the moment we pulled up at valet parking we were welcome in as if they'd been waiting just for us. Amanda and Joey at the check in desk was super friendly and welcoming and made us feel like we were coming home. We had a delicious warm cookie and then headed up to our room, Wow! It was beautiful. We had a one bedroom suite and it exceeded our expectations. The room came with so many amenities I wished we were staying longer so that we could make use of them all. I was especially impressed with the beautiful bathroom and the Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner :-)
After unpacking we headed down to the bar for a drink. Heather was our bartender and was an absolute sweetheart. She was so friendly and funny and made every single person who entered the bar area, no matter if they sat at the bar or the furthest away from it, that she was there just for them. She was very attentive to everyone's needs. We watched her expertly whip up lots of different cocktails and make wonderful suggestions to those, including myself that weren't quite sure what they wanted. She even took the trouble to ask people where they were going for dinner and rustled up coupons for discounts to each restaurant for them. We enjoyed her company at the bar so much that after dinner we went back to bar for more drinks served by Heather. By the time we left we knew everyone's name at the bar and felt like we were spending the evening with family. Thank you Heather.
As we headed back up to our room we met Anthony at the front desk who was also very warm and friendly.
The morning breakfast was excellent, so many choices! With options to pack a breakfast and carry out. We sat in the very spacious breakfast area and thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the very attentive staffed that checked on us to see if we had everything we needed and took away our plates as we were done with them.
Everything about this hotel screams quality from the art work,the toiletries, the furniture, the food to the absolute top notch staff.
we will definitely be back and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Rachel,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay from start to finish. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to the staff. Thank you for recommending us to the TripAdvisor community and we look forward to your next visit!

Best,
Christopher Moulton, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    145
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
147
187
12
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I travel 200+ nights per year and I have never experienced a hotel with friendlier staff members. Brielle, Heather, and Matt ( to name a few) were very gracious and helpful. The valet guys were cheerful and prompt. The housekeeping and engineering folks were friendly and accommodating. You really can't go wrong staying at this Residence Inn.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitzpatrick_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

From the moment we stepped into the Residence Inn in the Downtown/Waterfront area in Portsmouth, NH, we were treated like family. When we arrived, we were greeted by Heather at the front desk; she welcomed us and checked us in. She was so professional yet so friendly and warm, she is the perfect example of what top notch customer service should be. She gave us a beautiful room on the 5th floor, overlooking the city. For the remainder of our trip, Heather continued to take such good care of us, I now feel like I have a family member that lives in Portsmouth. She even posed for a picture with us on New Year’s Eve in the beautiful hotel lobby! This was our third stay in this hotel, my family and I go to Portsmouth for "First Night". The rooms are clean, roomy and nicely decorated and it's wonderful to have a full kitchen that includes a refrigerator, stove, toaster, etc. There is also a complimentary breakfast each morning that is delicious! But the main reason we keep returning to this hotel is the staff. We're looking forward to our next visit to Portsmouth and staying at the Residence Inn!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Voyager5578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Sharon,

Thank you for returning to our hotel to celebrate the New Year and for sharing your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. I'm so pleased to hear that you've found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I will pass your compliments along to Heather. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Best,
Christopher Moulton, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

During Blizzard Hercules, we stopped short our trip north to the Portland Residence in Portsmith. We've stayed at Residance Inns all over the country, but the Portsmith Inn has the BEST, friendliest, and most helpful employees of all. We did not have a reservation, but the desk clerk found us a good price and make check in effortless.
Valet Service -- $18. per 24-hours with unlimited access to the car. The best part, though, was that the young men cleaned off the car of the foot of snow and had it warm when we needed it. Since it was 5 degrees or less outside, this was an enormous treat. They were even friendly and cheerful as they worked in the minus wind chill weather.
Room -- Recently we have noticed in other Residence Inns that the decor was faded and needed updating. Here the room had been completely re-done from the kitchen cabinets to the wall paint, bed linens, and all furnishings. The bathroom was large and gorgeous.
Value -- with breakfast included, Residence Inns are the best value around for spacious and comfortable lodging.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkCityTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOS
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Group of us went to NH for Portsmouth First Night.. The hotel was very nice, clean and staff was really nice, helpful and upbeat. Rooms were more than I expected, had refrig, and stove, and coffee pot, toaster... We enjoyed drinks in the lobby, and the free breakfast included!!

Room Tip: we were in a room near exit on the third floor. not near elevator.. Only noise was a child upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinimom52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Upon arriving at our hotel of choice (the Residence Inn Portsmouth Downton/Waterfront), we were greeted with smiles and amazing attention. Heather and Carly, who both greeted us at the front desk, were superb with welcoming us and attending to our families needs. The way that they handled all check ins with families with multiple children was effortless. They were the definition of customer service. Brian another hotel staff member was so accomodating and went out of his way to help with our pack and play and luggage. They all were so attentive and helpful that my wife didn't need to lift a finger. It provided our family with such a relaxing experience that it made us wish all other hotels and hotel staff were to follow their lead. They must have amazing leadership at the Residence Inn in Downtown Portsmouth. I can only wish I could hire and retain amazing employees like this. My wife and I will be visiting for many years to come due to the amazing experience. We can't thank you guys enough!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmalt877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and consider our staff to have exhibited "the definition of customer service." I will pass your compliments along to them. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope you'll visit us again soon.

Best,
Christopher Moulton, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We like Portsmouth a lot and have stayed at other nearby hotels; so far this one is by far our favorite. Friendly service, a large clean room, and a very good breakfast included. The price was also excellent. The only issue we encountered was a noisy heating unit but that was fixed almost immediately. We reserved a suite, and I'd recommend it for families.

Green Features: LEED certified hotel with good environmental practices
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
477 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3719
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing