We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a lot of amenities in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My wife and I, along with another couple, stayed here for one night to celebrate our friends birthday.

I chose this hotel mostly due to its location but also due to the price for the area. We paid $199 plus taxes for a Saturday night stay (8/7/10). Portsmouth is a great "walking" city with very few hotels in the waterfront/downtown area. I found this hotel to be a little cheaper than the others nearby and the location lived up to its hype. Everything you would need, or want to see, is within a block or so.

Check-in was quick and efficient as I would expect for hotels these days. The desk manager was very nice; he asked what our plans were and if we needed any suggestions just ask and they would be happy to point places out.

The hotel is only a couple months old and you can almost smell the "new-ness". We had a studio room and it had everything you would need and more. It was equiped like a small apartement with a fridge, microwave, 2 burner stove, dishwasher, etc. The kitchen had dishes and everything you would need. Little things, like a platic pitcher came in handy so we could have cold water waiting for us after a night out. The rest of the room had a nice sitting area, flat screen TV, and a king size bed. The bathroom was also quite large with a very large shower. We only really needed a place to sleep so most of the stuff was not needed for us but it would be really nice if you were staying for an extended period of time.

The hotel offers free breakfast everyday and dinners such as pizza, burgers, wings, etc on most weeknights. Portsmouth has a lot of great places to eat, and we were there only one night, so we didn't take advantage of either. Also, they will get some groceries for you if you leave them a list which is a really nice service.

The only issue I had with the room was with the shower. It had a half glass "wall" instead of a shower curtain. The wall only goes half the length of the shower and does not move. It gives a nice, clean, modern look but did not do well in keeping the water off the floor. The shower head is also mounted in the corner too which made it awkward. I felt like I was too confined in the corner when it was such a huge shower. Due to the combination of how the shower head was mounted and the glass wall design I ended up with a puddle outside the shower. The water ran down the glass, onto the ledge of the shower, and then onto the floor. The mat I had put down was almost completely soaked along with my towel that was on the floor. I didn't notice it until I got out but I am not sure if there was much I could have done to prevent it. Overall, the shower looked nice but there was a definite design flaw.

Check-out was really easy in that you don't have to do anything. They dropped off a bill/receipt to the room that morning. When we went to the desk to "check-out" he asked if we were checking-out but didn't actually do anything further. He was the same guy that we checked-in with and he just asked how our night was and where we ended up going. He rememebered the couple of places that we mentioned we were going and asked how they were. He thanked us for the stray, hoped we would be back, and we were on our way.

As other reviews have mentioned, we paid $12 for the night to park in the lot next to the hotel.

So overall this was a very nice hotel in a fantastic location! It is has a ton of great amenities for staying for an extended period of time but is also great for one night. We would definitely stay here again if we wanted another overnight getaway in a fun town.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srauhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2010

As a long time Marriott loyal customer, I've stayed away from most of the hotels because of the "sameness" and tired look of most of their hotel rooms. This Residence Inn breaks that mold.
The room (studio) was large and very comfortable. The small kitchen area allowed us to prepare an evening cup of tea very conveniently, as well as the refrigerator was quite welcome. The breakfast was more than ample and better than most.

Our only complaints: the air conditioning in the room was very difficult to control, we either froze or were too warm, and there was only an indoor pool without any seating available outdoors to take advantage of the beautiful sunny weather we experienced in this lovely quaint New England town.It was a bit annoying to be charged $12/a daty to park in the public lot across the street, when the room charge we were paying was $250.
The hotel is walking distance from the harbor, from the shops and restaurants on Main Street and easy to get to the Interstate and travel, as we did, to Ogunquit, and Kennebunkport in Maine. (We recommend Popovers for a delicious, and inexpensive meal.)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We knew nothing of Portsmouth or the Residence Inn downtown when we arrived for our third honeymoon, but we found out soon enough. What a wonderful stay we had! The Residence is quite new, and the service was remarkable. Breakfast was spectacular, and there's even some hot food available in the evenings for those staying in - and no extra charge! The staff are very friendly, down-to-earth and obliging, especially the breakfast crew. Portsmouth itself is a hidden wonder. Like the hotel, small and very welcoming. We spent four days walking,, exploring the historic homes,waterfront and Kittery (heaps of wholesale outlets). Highest recommendation!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
3  Thank Dahlenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Stayed at this nice new hotel in Portsmouth on 4th of July weekend at the last minute and was pleasantly surprised. We got a great room that slept 3 comfortably and had very clean (new!) furnishings. The service desk attendents were very helpful--they even tracked down a locksmith for us at 11pm! Unlike many frontdesk ladies, a very nice woman working at the front desk reset our keys without complaint at midnight after one member of our party had de-magnetized hers with her cell phone. Comfy beds, very clean room, and great location! They also have a parking lot out front which eliminates the need to go hunting for a spot in downtown Portsmouth (which usually takes a while) where you can park overnight for about 6 bucks.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatMiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Portsmouth is such a great city to be downtown in, and finally a hotel that delivers what you need with the convenience of being in the middle of it all. I grew up in the Portsmouth area, and for years the only hotels were cheesy ones at the traffic circle, seasonal properties on the beach or the Sheraton downtown. This Residence Inn makes a notable addition of a downtown hotel.

And a great addition it is. Located in the new 'Port Walk' project, we were just a few minutes walk to everything we wanted to do in town - shopping, restaurants and bars, and the 4th of July fireworks. There is a large parking lot adjacent to the property which is helpful considering the challenges in parking in Portsmouth at peak times, though valeting the car may still be easier.

The rooms were clean (granted the hotel had only been open a few weeks...) appliances were modern and the furnishings fresh. The bathroom was HUGE, but have to say the one thing that was very disappointing was the virtually non-existent water pressure in the shower.

The King suite we had was comfortable, though I think it might be tight for more than a two or three people to stay for any length of time. Perhaps the other rooms are more spacious.. The price of the room was a little high, but comparable to the Hilton Garden Inn next door, so we chose the suite instead to have the extra room to entertain friends and family.

I didn't use any of the amenities, but there is a large lobby area with outlets and tables to work at if you are tired of being locked up in your room, comfortable seating areas and a bar area that looked to be open at night.

I'd stay here again and recommend it to others!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank QuigsTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

June 19th 2010
My husband and I love the city of Portsmouth and had seen there was a new Residence Inn right in the downtown/ waterfront area. Now I have to admit I love Marriott but seldom stay at a Residence Inn because of the quality and service of most of them. We decided to take a chance because of the location. It is 1 block from shopping, waterfront, great restaurants and nightlife It is also walking distance to Prescott Park and Strawberry Banke!! Yes, there is a $12 valet only parking fee but you don't need your car for anything else and the car is safe! The decor is soft colors of the seaside and crisp and new. The furniture is good quality---meaning you don't sink to the floor when you sit down! There is a full kitchen and a huge bathroom with an oversized shower. Windows open if the is a nice seabreeze but if not the air conditioning goes down to 60! Best of all was the king sized bed which was extremely comfortable and a great TV. Keep in mind this is a brand new RI and not the other one which is on the outskirts of Portsmouth!!! RI's offer a free hot breakfast and this was the only shortcoming--the quality of the eggs and potatoes were shaky but there was plenty of other food. Everyone we dealt with was totally happy and anxious to help. I would go back there any chance I get!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewHampshireSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Great location and easy walking to everything Portsmouth has to offer. Because the Hotel was so new they were having some challenges getting things right, we were up and down the elevator 3 times before we had the right room. The manager was nice enough to comp us a free pizza for our troubles, no big deal. The rooms are spacious and very well equiped. Nice lobby and bar, complimentary breakfast which was again a bit of a challenge because the property had only been open for a week and the staff was still figuring things out, I am sure they will get it together.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martymnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
502 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3719
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £130 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing