We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”
Review of Mombo

Mombo
Ranked #40 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Court Street
Description: Opened in the Spring of 2010, Mombo’s dining experience is a short vacation from it all offering creative cuisine with international influences, warm hospitality and unparalleled service in a historic Portsmouth, NH landmark. Walk under the wood-beamed ceiling and wrought-iron chandeliers to feel the relaxed elegance of the space. Sit in the fireplace lounge, at the open kitchen bar, in one of the comfy banquettes or even next to the bubbling fountain in the rear courtyard to enjoy the delightful made-from-scratch dishes using fresh, local and honest ingredients. Whether it is the chef’s charcuterie platter, the seared fois gras or our signature lobster bisque that you start your meal with, we want to make you feel as if you have escaped from everyday stresses and leave wanting to come on vacation again at Mombo.
Millville, DE
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Really nice interior and an innovative menu started what was an almost perfect dinner. The menu has a number of intriguing appetizers and main courses, and it took a few minutes to get make selections. Our waitress was excellent and professional and did not engage in chit chat. They also know how to pour a drink at this restaurant. My wife and I started with the duck confit and the melon salad which were superb and blended a variety of flavors and textures to come up with great dishes. The entrees ( lamb sirloin and hangar steak) were perfect. The meats were
perfectly done with superb accompaniments. Only negative is that they could have used a couple of busboys to ease the work load on the wait staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bankruptcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    57
    25
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here on a girls overnight and really enjoyed it. Great space and very friendly staff. Bread plate is very plentiful and unbelievable, so much food! Charcuterie was amazing. Steak, chicken, duck and lamb were all delicious. Really enjoyed our meals and evening. I will definitely come back for the seasonal menu in the fall or winter. We really had a great time and a delicious dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BostonJenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I decided to try this restaurant after researching it on trip advisor. Great choice. Our waitress, Amanda, couldn't have been nicer. We never felt rushed. Amanda and the maître d welcomed us in this cozy restaurant. We had a couple of martinis to start which were nice sized and their cheese plate was wonderful. Amanda recommended the lamb which was amazing and the swordfish, which my husband said was the best he's ever tasted. This restaurant should be on the top of everyone's list who visits Portsmouth. We only have one regret. We're not dessert eaters but wonder how great the desserts would have been.I can't wait to come back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fabulous Art”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The food and service @ Mombo was exceptional. In fact, I'd say it was one of the best meals I have ever had @ a restaurant in the US. I had a scallop dish that was out of this world. My husband had swordfish that was elegantly prepared and extremely tasty. The service was exceptional. Plus, the owner has a fabulous collection of Russian oil paintings. Eating well and then enjoying fine art...life is good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MMG8401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great for a wedding!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friend was married at Mombo last weekend and the entire event was fantastic; a big reason for that was the professionalism and attentiveness of the staff at Mombo! Beautiful venue, great food, great service

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12erin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mombo also viewed

 

Been to Mombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing