We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“is that all there is?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beach Plum

The Beach Plum
Ranked #18 of 199 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Fast food, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Beach Plum opened in 1992 at North Hampton state beach as a breakfast and lunch restaurant. The next year, a better location became available just down the street (at it's current location) and it became a take out food and ice cream stand. That original location continues to operate seasonally April - October each year. Based on strong growth in the business at that beach location, a second Beach Plum location was opened at 2800 Lafayette Road (Route 1) in Portsmouth on St Patrick's Day 2011. This Portsmouth location features an expanded menu that includes award winning fried seafood with both indoor and outside deck dining. The Portsmouth Beach Plum was featured on TV Diner in 2012 and Phantom Gourmet in 2011 which named it as a Great 8 restaurant for both it's famous lobster rolls AND fried clams. The Beach Plum is believed to be the only restaurant in New England to be so honored as 1 of the 8 best for BOTH seafood specialties. In December 2015, a new Beach Plum opened at the Brickyard Square Plaza, 24 Calef Highway (Route 125),Epping,NH. That location shares the same menu as this Portsmouth location.
connecticut
Level Contributor
222 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“is that all there is?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Came to Portsmouth for a long weekend at end of summer - going to beach and recognized this joint from TA. Welcoming and quick for ordering. Was nice outside, with plenty of picnic benches. Unfortunately all were really dirty with old food, etc and no one could sit at them, so were eating on sidelines. Food choices were abundant. We ordered many items. Soups were meh. Tuna sandwich was huge - like three cans plus mayo - gross. My chicken wrap had no chicken at all. Took a while to fix - by then everyone done at gone to beach. Nice in concept but would not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank santonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    86
    33
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“I guess I should've had a lobster roll.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I ordered lobster bisque and was very disappointed in it. It appeared to have a tomato base and had a lot of other fish in it. I asked if they had given me the fish chowder instead and was told that I did have the bisque. I'm accustomed to a cream base with sherry in it. They did offer to bring me something else, but I declined. They advertised that their lobster rolls were voted #1. I like the lobster rolls that are mainly plain lobster and are served hot; not cold with lot of mayo or onions. My husband had a bowl of chili.It was not as good as he'd had the night before in Sandwich, MA. We felt like this restaurant was over priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank molly30087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
328 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best fast food I've ever eaten!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This isn't your typical fast food place since it has some of the best seafood I've ever eaten. Ordered a 7 oz. lobster sandwich that was just loaded with lobster. I also ordered the lobster bisque which was loaded with lobster. Don't let the fast food layout steer you away, this place is awesome and very popular with the locals for seafood takeout.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jmesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmundston, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood and a very affordable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

It was really worth the stop. Great seafood. Me and my friends were really impressed by the quality of food, fast and friendly service at a very affordable price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jobg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Great seafood in a casual family setting!!! Best lobster rolls!!! We also had the mixed fried seafood and it was selicious. worth every penny! My entire family enjoyed it!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DebItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Plum also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing