We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prices are high but the food is very good.”
Review of The Beach Plum

The Beach Plum
Ranked #20 of 204 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups
Description: The Beach Plum opened in 1992 at North Hampton state beach as a breakfast and lunch restaurant. The next year, a better location became available just down the street (at it's current location) and it became a take out food and ice cream stand. That original location continues to operate seasonally April - October each year. Based on strong growth in the business at that beach location, a second Beach Plum location was opened at 2800 Lafayette Road (Route 1) in Portsmouth on St Patrick's Day 2011. This Portsmouth location features an expanded menu that includes award winning fried seafood with both indoor and outside deck dining. The Portsmouth Beach Plum was featured on TV Diner in 2012 and Phantom Gourmet in 2011 which named it as a Great 8 restaurant for both it's famous lobster rolls AND fried clams. The Beach Plum is believed to be the only restaurant in New England to be so honored as 1 of the 8 best for BOTH seafood specialties. In December 2015, a new Beach Plum opened at the Brickyard Square Plaza, 24 Calef Highway (Route 125),Epping,NH. That location shares the same menu as this Portsmouth location.
Restaurant details
Description: The Beach Plum opened in 1992 at North Hampton state beach as a breakfast and lunch restaurant. The next year, a better location became available just down the street (at it's current location) and it became a take out food and ice cream stand. That original location continues to operate seasonally April - October each year. Based on strong growth in the business at that beach location, a second Beach Plum location was opened at 2800 Lafayette Road (Route 1) in Portsmouth on St Patrick's Day 2011. This Portsmouth location features an expanded menu that includes award winning fried seafood with both indoor and outside deck dining. The Portsmouth Beach Plum was featured on TV Diner in 2012 and Phantom Gourmet in 2011 which named it as a Great 8 restaurant for both it's famous lobster rolls AND fried clams. The Beach Plum is believed to be the only restaurant in New England to be so honored as 1 of the 8 best for BOTH seafood specialties. In December 2015, a new Beach Plum opened at the Brickyard Square Plaza, 24 Calef Highway (Route 125),Epping,NH. That location shares the same menu as this Portsmouth location.
Epping, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Prices are high but the food is very good.”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Can be pricey and this tends to keep many of the locals away but the food is always veru good and very creative. Spend the money and treat yourself

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ke b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    93
    34
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Lobster roll in New England!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were on a bus tour of New England and had the great fortune to have a tour guide who had been on a search for the "best lobster roll"...he found it and took the whole busload of us to the Beach Plum in Portsmouth, NH. There were 45 of us...and they accommodated us with no problem. It's a nice, open, family-oriented restaurant with wooden tables and benches. Nothing fancy...except the food! Honestly, they do have THE BEST LOBSTER ROLL! If you want to taste something fabulous, go there. Wear your jeans and bring the kids! It's great!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etowah, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lobster roll and bisque set the bar so high no others reached it”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband & I and another couple stopped by here on arriving in the New England states (there are 2 sites, we ate at the one on Hwy 1a). It is just a small 'place' with only dining outside - but this was OK with us as the weather was good and we were right across from the ocean. We all had the lobster roll and bisque (and off couse ice cream for desert) - and it was the best we had ever had (including a host of other New England 'lobster' restuarants we tried after that). It is well worth going out of your way to eat here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripAdviso54259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“is that all there is?”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Came to Portsmouth for a long weekend at end of summer - going to beach and recognized this joint from TA. Welcoming and quick for ordering. Was nice outside, with plenty of picnic benches. Unfortunately all were really dirty with old food, etc and no one could sit at them, so were eating on sidelines. Food choices were abundant. We ordered many items. Soups were meh. Tuna sandwich was huge - like three cans plus mayo - gross. My chicken wrap had no chicken at all. Took a while to fix - by then everyone done at gone to beach. Nice in concept but would not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank santonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“I guess I should've had a lobster roll.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I ordered lobster bisque and was very disappointed in it. It appeared to have a tomato base and had a lot of other fish in it. I asked if they had given me the fish chowder instead and was told that I did have the bisque. I'm accustomed to a cream base with sherry in it. They did offer to bring me something else, but I declined. They advertised that their lobster rolls were voted #1. I like the lobster rolls that are mainly plain lobster and are served hot; not cold with lot of mayo or onions. My husband had a bowl of chili.It was not as good as he'd had the night before in Sandwich, MA. We felt like this restaurant was over priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank molly30087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Plum also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing