We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly,fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly,fun”
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel. We booked rooms in route to Portsmouth NH from NYC . We had two of the last available which were handicap rooms located on the second floor. Upon check in one room was not ready even though it was after 4:00pm. No biggie since we were leaving to visit our newly born grand baby at a nearby hospital. rooms were lovely, clean and cool.
My only complaint is that one of our rooms 228 had a refrigerator that vibrated loudly. We unplugged it and then had to deal with a high pitch sound that made us crazy. We could not locate the orgin of that awful sound.Using cotton in our ears was the sleep remedy. A bit of a problem with room keys de-activating causing us to return to main desk three times. Again, remember hotel was booked. The staff very friendly, the breakfast was plentiful and actually quite extensive. If on the run they had "bags to go "which contained water, fruit, muffin, and Kellogg's bar. (nice touch) . Coffee was available 24 hours. They had a managers reception which included beer and wine .
They offer a shuttle bus which we used to visit downtown Portsmouth . We called hotel to pick us up when done and they were there in fifteen minutes. When returning to Portsmouth this hotel will be on my list of considerations. (except for room 228)

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
NewYorkGemini ,

Thank you for taking a moment and writing about our hotel on TripAdvisor. Congratulations on your new grandchild! We’re happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly, our breakfast plentiful, and our rooms to be clean and comfortable. I apologize for the high pitched sound you heard in your room and will make a point to look into it immediately. I’m glad to hear you used our shuttle service so you could enjoy our downtown area. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Portsmouth.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    227
    75
    38
    24
See reviews for
231
254
21
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Old Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Location is perfect! Free shuttle right into downtown. Right near major roads to get to and from nearby places for day trips. So close to Rt 4 "Antique Alley". The staff is very pleasant and accommodating. We got there earlier than "check in" and it was not a problem. The lobby is a popular hangout! The manager has a nightly complimentary "happy hour" . The hot appetizers were so yummy we actually skipped dinner more than once. Hot and cold drinks always available complimentary in the lobby and late afternoon snacks. Very nice pool area that was cleaned often. Rooms were neat, updated and clean. Didn't hear any traffic from the outside. Also this hotel is right near plenty of shopping, including a supermarket that is open very late, restaurants, and retail shops. A large mall isn't too far down the road either. We'd definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawHyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
LawHyness,

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to have had you stay with us at Hampton Inn. I’m glad you enjoyed our complimentary happy hour as it is very popular with many of our guests. I’m also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the many surrounding stores in restaurants in our area. We appreciate your business and hope to have you come and stay with us again.

Regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Maybe I was expecting a lot after the reviews but this hotel was just ok. The food was horrible from breakfast to the happy hour--beer was good though. The staff was generally nice but Dory (shuttle service-Asian gentlemen) was rude at best. Location was weird. I doubt I'll be recommending it to friends or returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Marie P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you staying with us recently. I’m sorry that you don’t feel our hotel met the high standards of Hampton Inn. There is no excuse for rudeness, so I apologize for you experiencing this as well. We do hope to earn your business again and prove to give you a better experience and a more pleasant stay.

Regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
263 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Based on other good reviews, I was disappointed. We had asked for a quiet room when making the reservation, but the traffic noise from the highway was very loud. The hotel is right next to and visible from the highway, but it's not easy to get to from the highway. It's tucked behind some shopping malls, and a GPS is helpful to get there. The climate control is the kind where you set the temperature and then it alternates between putting out heat and cold to keep it there. When it's summer and you've set the room for 72, you don't want the heat coming on just because the a/c just dropped the temp to 71! So we just turned the climate control off and had no a/c to avoid the problem.The price was good, but the traffic noise and poor climate control didn't make it worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
LMomNY,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel on TripAdvisor. Our hotel is situated in a convenient location for travelers near the highway so we always strive to provide quiet rooms for our guests. We do invite you to come and stay with us again on your next trip to Portsmouth.

Regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This was a very enjoyable stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were tip-top, so kudos to the housekeeping folks.

The people who did the morning breakfast were also fantastic. They put out one of the best spreads I have seen in this type of hotel and kept up with consumption. They never ran out of anything.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

From check-in to check-out the staff was helpful and friendly. There is a complimentary shuttle to downtown Portsmouth,NH, which is great in the summer when tourists make finding a parking space downtown almost impossible. There is a manager's reception Monday-Saturday afternoons with free beer and wine as well as munchies. The indoor pool area is large enough to include a hot tub and has great outdoor patio area off the pool that includes 2 gas grills if you want to cook your own meal (maybe good for families with children or a group). There were several bachelor and bachelorette groups booked the weekend we were there and the hotel was able to accommodate them without it becoming noisy. The rooms were comfortable and had good size bathrooms. The breakfasts were on the high end of what Hampton chain offers, eggs each morning with other hot offerings as well. It is convenient to Pease Trade Port (Redhook Brewery, Paddy's restaurant) and a shopping mall cross the street, although the hotel itself is set back from the street and is fairly quiet. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I'd suggest rooms above the 1st floor to avoid foot traffic noise. The shuttle service is very a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
stella1st,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our staff and hotel on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the surrounding area. I believe your comments and recommendations will be helpful to all future travelers so they can experience an enjoyable trip to Portsmouth, NH as well. Come and stay with us again.

Regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

The staff here does a terrific job of making you feel welcome. From the check in to the thoughtful details in the room, you know you are appreciated. New lobby area and up to date rooms. Price seemed a bit high for Portsmouth, but competitive. Not the newest hotel, but excellent customer service and a clean, comfortable bed ranks very high for me.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Roadtrip091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Property: Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Address: 99 Durgin Ln, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3156
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing