We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
“Fun”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Nice place to stay. Everything was neat and clean. The pool and hot tub were colder than we preferred but if you don't mind the cold they seemed to be clean. Convenient place to stay for shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Michele G,
Thank you for your review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and found a nice place to stay! We hope your future travels will bring you back to our area and you'll visit us again. Thanks and safe travels.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    231
    75
    38
    24
See reviews for
233
259
21
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malden, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I would like to tell you about my stay at Hampton Inn, Portsmouth, NH. The staff was exceptional. The room was clean and comfortable. Coffee was always ready and hot. The reception was fun and tasty. The staff was friendly, funny, helpful and professional at all times.

Room Tip: Rooms with queen size bed were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Mary M,
We're glad to hear from you, and we're especially glad to receive your kind review. I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit with us from the hot coffee to the friendly staff. Please come and visit us again. We look forward to it.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I'm picky when it comes to hotels. I found this place to be exceptionally friendly, clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. My wife and I stayed overnight to go to a music show at the Press Room in Portsmouth (which I also reviewed) and couldn't have been happier with the choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talking_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Talking_Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Hampton Inn. We're delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed our hotel. I'm pleased you took in a show too! We welcome you both back for another exceptional visit.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

My wife and I loved this hotel. The staff was awesome and the room was great and spotless. The managers reception was a great touch. We really enjoyed the free beer and wine. Beer was local red hook. We will for sure be staying again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
FFCK,
We're glad to hear from you and learn of your great visit with us at Hampton Inn. I'm glad to hear that you and your wife loved our hotel and especially the Manager's Reception. Please make plans to visit us again. We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

1St time I am complaining about a hotel on Trip Advisor. The rooms are very attractive, but upon arriving in our room, we went to put food in the fridge, and it was not clean...and the freezer section had frozen residue of ice cream. I went to call front desk and the phone was DIRTY and DUSTY. The voice and ear part had not been cleaned. A woman came up to look at our complaints and said that MANAGEMENT puts a time limit on how long each room can take to be cleaned so they are forced to hurry through...if this is the case...SHAME ON THEM! She had a rag in her hand and wiped the fridge and then continued to use the same rag to WIPE THE PHONE!! When she left, I took an alcohol wipe and cleaned both phones and the tv remote. The room was lovely, and bed was so comfortable...sofa was too low to the floor. Mirror in bathroom was not cleaned completely, and desk top was not cleaned. I never have complained about a hotel before, and I feel bad to have to express my negatives, but I feel it was something that should be addressed. I would stay again, and would hope that we see an improvement in the cleanliness of the rooms, because we did enjoy our stay in other ways...good breakfast, and nice hospitality event each night from 4:30 to 6:30...and front desk was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear buffyboy:
Thank you for sharing your kind words and constructive feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your input and apologize the cleanliness of your room was not up to our standards. We know our guests deserve the best in comfort and cleanliness and we apologize for this misstep. Having shared your experience with our team, we will take greater care to ensure each room meets our high brand standards moving forward. We are glad you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you were able to enjoy our breakfast offerings. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality service and accommodations you deserve, should you return to our area in the future.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This is a very clean nicely located hotel. It has a fireplace in the lobby with free coffee tea and apple cider. It had a 2 hour free cocktail hour with wine beer and soda and snacks. Free breakfast buffet and free shuttle to town! The beds were very comfortable and it was a great value. The kids had a blast in the pool. Can't beat the price

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Ingrid B,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your experience with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. It's great to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time staying with us. I hope you had time to relax by the fireplace and also enjoy our evening social. Please make plans to visit us again. We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here on New Years eve and were very happy with the choice. The location is easily accessible to restaurants, shops, close to downtown and the highway. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room was very clean, big and the furnishings were modern and new. The hotel offered free beer, wine, and apps at a set time and also offeres free shuttle service to downtown Portsmouth. The shuttle service was great as we didn't have to try and find parking or drive anywhere.
The bathroom was large and had a whirpool tub and was clean as well. Our room so came with a sofa couch, microwave, and mini fridge. The lobby was modern, clean and inviting and there was tea, coffee,and hot chocate for enjoyment there as well. I look forward to staying at a Hampton Inn again the future!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ireaisling79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Ireaisling79,
We appreciate hearing from you and learning about your pleasant stay with us at Hampton Inn. I'm glad you rang in the New Year with us and had a nice, comfortable visit. Thank you for all of your wonderful compliments. We're pleased you liked our hotel and hope you'll come and visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Property: Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Address: 99 Durgin Ln, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3156
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing