We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service from start to finish!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
1 review
“great service from start to finish!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

we were welcomed and checked in promptly...staff very helpful in letting us know best places to eat...breakfast was average...if we had some problems with washroom etc. the staff was right there asap...good location for the hotel...they had a happy hour from 4:30 to 6:30 daily serving wine ,beer finger foods...first time we've had that at a Hampton

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Gary B,
Thank you for your review and complimentary feedback on your visit at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. It’s fantastic to hear all the aspects that made your stay enjoyable. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our amenities, but more importantly, our friendly staff. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest again at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    227
    75
    38
    22
See reviews for
230
254
20
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
182 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed here during a mini vacation. The hotel had a nice location, close to 95, but not too close. The staff was very nice and our room was clean. We had a mini fridge and a microwave. The pool and spa were nice as well. The parking was free. The breakfast area was a bit crowded, but there were lots of offerings and the staff was keeping things clean and stocked.

Room Tip: We were on a high floor near the elevator and the noise level was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2travelVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Love2travelVT,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your Hampton Inn Portsmouth experience. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us on a mini vacation. It’s wonderful to hear that our convenient location, friendly staff and clean accommodations made for an enjoyable stay. We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed in Portsmouth on our way to Maine. It is a little challenge to find the hotel because there is just a small sign and you can not see the hotel from the main road.. Hotel was very clean and the folks working at the hotel were very helpful and friendly. The 2 queen sized beds were very comfortable and the room was very quiet. The bathroom was very nice and very clean. The breakfast was ok...typical to what you find at a hotel offering a free breakfast in the morning. For those of you on vacation, breakfast is served until 10 am so you don't have to rush in the morning. The hotel is next store to a huge Christmas Tree store.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationLoverUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
VacationLoverUSA,
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed a quiet stay in our clean and comfortable accommodations, and found our staff friendly and helpful during your visit. We’re happy to have been a part of your travels to Maine, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Have stayed at multiple Hamptons, Breakfast here included strawberries and wh. cream with the standard waffles. first and only HAPPY HOUR I have ever seen at a Hampton and pet friendly for those with dogs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
A TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for your review and complimentary feedback on your stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I’m pleased to hear our value added amenities left a great impression and made for an enjoyable stay. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Picked this hotel for proximity to I95 and outlet shopping. Hotel is a bit old so the rooms didn't have a new look and feel of other Hampton Inns we've been to. Check in was friendly. Didn't use the pool but breakfast next morning was very good with fresh blueberries for the waffles. Grocery store and pharmacy near by.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soymoosemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Soymoosemom,
We appreciate you writing a review and sharing your experience with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I’m glad our central location provided many options and conveniences for your travel needs. It’s wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff. We hope you’ll visit us again the next time you travel to Portsmouth. Thank you once again.

Kind regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stopped here for a quick overnight on a recent trip to Bar Harbor. Although a bit out of town (and interesting to find if you follow your GPS!), the hotel itself is a great Hampton Inn. They have a shuttle that will take you to and from downtown (until 10:00). Although busy (being summer) the front desk staff was very gracious and helpful. When our room refrigerator wasn't working a service person was promptly dispatched to the room and had it fixed in no time. The location is close to a Shaw's grocery story, and it was an easy on and off from the interstate. Overall, a nice Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A frequent traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
A frequent traveler,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us on your trip to Bar Harbor, and we’re glad you enjoyed your overnight visit as well as our helpful staff. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Everything about this hotel is exceptional! From check-in to breakfast. It was one of the best free breakfast we have ever had. The rooms were so clean. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. FABULOUS!! The best staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Lisa B,
Thank you for your complimentary review and recommendations of our great hotel to future travelers. I’m pleased to hear you had an exceptional stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth and found our clean rooms and excellent staff to exceed your expectations. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Property: Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Address: 99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing