We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed one night this past weekend and were less then impressed with this property.
When I originally made the reservation over a month ago I had booked two nights, but two weeks before arrival I had called to cancel one of the nights. A few days before our trip I checked my reservation online to find out that both nights were still on my reservation. I called again to request the cancellation of one as well as a confirmation which I was given. Needless to say I would have been upset if they charged me for two nights after I had called and cancelled.

Positives about our stay-
Hotel was convenient, had a free shuttle, and was clean and modern
Negatives about our stay-
Hotel was LOUD, I have personally never experienced such loud noise in any hotel.
I could hear word for word conversations in the room next to ours. We were located on the second floor above the lobby entrance and we literally heard people talking all night as they stood outside to smoke. Another negative was the sound of the pluming. We thought they were using a jackhammer somewhere at 6:30am when really it was the sound of the plumbing in the walls.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a higher floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachy817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Rachy817,
We appreciate your feedback from your stay. It's unfortunate to hear about the areas where we fell short of meeting your expectations. I sincerely apologize for the noise disturbances you experienced during your stay and any inconveniences that resulted. On a positive note, I'm glad you found our convenient location, complimentary shuttle and clean hotel well suited for your travels. We thank you for your feedback and hope to have an opportunity to provide a more positive experience in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    227
    75
    38
    22
See reviews for
231
254
20
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights while visiting my son at the University of New Hampshire in Durham, NH. The hotel is in a convenient location to restaurants, shopping and a movie theatre. The selection for breakfast was fine, I enjoyed the fruit. It is nice to just take the elevator down to get coffee and not have to get in your car and drive some place. The lady working at the front desk was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Ruth F,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We appreciate you selecting our hotel while visiting your son at the University of New Hampshire. I'm delighted to hear our convenient location, friendly service, and value added amenities made for an enjoyable stay. We hope to welcome you back as our guest for all your future visits. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette IN
Level Contributor
326 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is an older Hampton that has been remodeled and is a step below the top-tier Hamptons, but we had a good stay. Our room was clean, quiet, and large. The free breakfast had a smaller selection than some Hamptons, but it was fine. The Manager's reception included beer, wine, popcorn, and egg rolls. It isn't walking distance to downtown, but as others have mentioned, there is a shuttle to downtown. Also, if you have a car, parking in the garage at Hanover and Market was easy and very inexpensive.

Make note of the address or directions on the hotel's website because it is tucked behind a retail area and isn't easy to find.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
azogal,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your visit with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we're glad you enjoyed a quiet stay in our clean and spacious accommodations. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future. Thank you once again for writing.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

It was our 50th wedding anniversary and we couldn't had pick a better place to stay. From the time I made reservation with the young lady, very pleasant, very respectful, very helpful, meeting the management staff as we walked in, the clean room, the indoor swimming pool, the breakfast(great), shuttle service and the staff, who were great. It was a great choice by my wife and I and we would stay there again. We have bragging to our family and friends. Also a lot of stores for the wives to go shopping. And not far from I95. A great value for a great place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
JOHN S,
Happy 50th wedding anniversary! We appreciate you sharing such a special occasion with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth, and for writing a review about your experience. It's wonderful to hear that our staff's excellence in service made for a fantastic stay and memorable anniversary celebration. I look forward to sharing your complimentary feedback with our team. Please come back and visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing and sharing your recommendations of our great hotel to friends and family.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Spacious rooms but with very thin walls. If someone in one of neighboring room has a phone conversation you can almost hear all conversation details. Service was OK. They could not find my reservation for a long time. Breakfast is typical Hampton Inn powder eggs and few other things. Their service score was boosted by complementary high quality draft beer service for all guests. You are within walking distance of several restaurants but still far away from downtown Portsmouth.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveFreeOrTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dan R,
Thank you for sharing feedback. We always appreciate hearing from our guests on positive feedback, as well as opportunities for improving our guest experience. We're sorry for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. It's nice to know that you enjoyed our complimentary amenities and found our location to provide shopping and dining options within walking distance. We value your business and hope you'll visit us again in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a getaway. Friendly service, convenient location. TV had to be manually set for input each time it was used and the cable box turned on separately, no instructions, had to call for maintenance to show the first time. Otherwise, clean and quiet room despite highway view. Would stay again at this location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
wenpj,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Portsmouth for your 2 night stay getaway. We appreciate you writing a review about your experience, and we're glad our friendly service, clean accommodations, and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay. We apologize for the frustrations you encountered with the television set and we thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We value you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We've stayed at many different motels/hotels in Portsmouth, NH -
we go to the Portsm.outh Maritime Music Festival every September -
this is our new favorite.
Rooms were nice, clean, comfortable, & affordable (AAA/AARP rate),
with all the ammenities: coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge, etc. A good value.
Free "Happy Hour" every evening except Sunday and good selection of free breakfast items.
All staff were very helpful and courteous.
I must remember to bring my laptop & swim suit next year!
Only negative was the slowness of the 2 public computers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
L M,
We're happy to have had you as our guests while attending the Maritime Music Festival. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay, as well as our friendly service, clean accommodations, and the variety of amenities that we're proud to offer our guests. We appreciate you choosing Hampton Inn Portsmouth, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to the area. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Property: Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Address: 99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing