We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsville, United States
1 review
“An enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

From the fireplace in the lobby to the warm greeting by the staff, everything made this visit feel like home. The location of the hotel compared to the local sights and the easiness of getting around using the hotel shutter bus made it possible to relax and enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Michael M,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your Hampton Inn Portsmouth experience. I'm delighted to hear that our staff's warm hospitality added extra comforts of home and you enjoyed a relaxing stay. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    227
    75
    38
    22
See reviews for
231
254
20
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Schroon Lake, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at this Hampton Inn and will happily go back! The room was clean and comfortable, the staff very friendly and accommodating, the amenities were above and beyond what we have come to expect. We were so happy that shuttle service was provided as we were tired of driving and were in an unfamiliar town with (as we saw later) very limited parking. The shuttle drivers were friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was very good, great coffee and good choices, all very clean and constantly being attended to by their friendly staff. The managers reception is a very nice touch, we enjoyed this as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dstep312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
dstep312,
Thank you for your great review from your stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. It's fantastic to hear all the aspects that made your stay enjoyable. We're pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations with our excellence in cleanliness and hospitality, along with the value added amenities that we're proud to offer our guests. Please come back to join us again soon. Thanks again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Hampton Inn in Portsmouth offered lots of nice amenities, attractive décor, etc. but not worth the high price paid. Desk Clerk Service was okay but not very helpful. Free wine and apps during the early evening was great. Room was spotless. Overall not a bad experience but definitely not worth the high price and would probably stay elsewhere next go round.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank LinekinLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
LinekinLass,
Thank you for writing. Your feedback is important to us as guest satisfaction is our highest priority. It's unfortunate to hear that we did not exceed your expectations and provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. I'm glad you found our complimentary evening reception and clean accommodations to meet your satisfaction. We hope you'll give us an opportunity to make improvements and provide a more positive experience in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was my first visit to the Hamton Inn, Portsmouth hotel and I would recommend it. The rooms are clean and comfortable and staff are very friendly and helpful. Free WiFi and breakfast are great also.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Gerard G,
Thank you for your review and recommendations of Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We are thrilled that your first visit was made memorable by our friendly staff, wonderful amenities, and comfortable accommodations. We hope to welcome you back for many more visits in the future. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
211 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Hampton Inn Portsmouth is a bit out of the business area of the town, but offers a clean, comfortable stay with great amenities. The free breakfast offers many choices including eggs, meats, cereals, oatmeal, waffles, and sweet rolls. On the morning we visited, the hotel was quite full and the staff member had difficulty keeping up with demand for several items. It was great though, if you had the patience and time to watch her catch up while doing her best. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The bathroom offered soap, shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion, and a sign offered to supply essential bathroom things which may have been forgotten. Extra towels were available in the room. The only negative thing about our trip was being questioned by the desk clerk about the validity of the rate I received when reserving on the internet. He finally honored it, but since there is no way I can hack into the Hilton system and change the rates, I don’t know what he was thinking. I think he was overwhelmed by a group of wedding participants and race fans arriving when we arrived, but why question someone who has a copy of an email from Hilton with the rate clearly marked?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
AlwaysForever,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I'm delighted to receive your kind comments about our clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as the variety of amenities that we're proud to offer our guests. I appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that you were questioned about the validity of your room rate. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority so I thank you for bringing this concern to my attention. We value you as our guest and do hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My family visited for the weekend for business and pleasure. Although the hotel was full to capacity with hockey teams and bus tour groups, the hotel was incredibly quiet and efficient. Front desk service was prompt and gracious. Breakfast buffet was generous and assistance was lovely. Happy hour offerings were an unexpected bonus. Rooms were impeccable and the decor throughout was elegant and refined. Beautiful local historic photographs of Portsmouth filled the rooms, lounge and elevator waiting areas. I was honestly very impressed with this hotel. The staff do go out of their way to accommodate guests, which included my elderly father.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSchlaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
MSchlaeger,
We appreciate you choosing Hampton Inn Portsmouth for your travels, and we thank you for writing a review about your experience. It's wonderful to hear you and your family enjoyed a quiet stay and found our accommodations, amenities, and friendly service to exceed your expectations. We hope to extend our hospitality to you again in the near future. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we discovered complimentary beer, wine, egg rolls and more served in the late afternoon for no cost. Difficult to drive from hotel to restaurants or town without getting lost (we don't have GPS). We relied on the shuttle instead. The downside of that is that it takes much longer to use the shuttle than to drive one's own car.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lr_sheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
lr_sheen,
Thank you for writing a review from your stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I'm delighted to hear our manager's reception exceeded your expectations and added a pleasant and unexpected value to your stay. We're glad you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle service, and apologize for any extended wait times that you may have experienced. We value you as our guest, and do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Property: Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Address: 99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing