We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay excellent hotel staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I was pleased to fine out upon my arrival that the hotel offered complimentary wine and hot appetizers. We had a choice of wine of beer. In the morning due to having two college sporting teams at the hotel the staff opened a room for more sitting for breakfast, they also opened the pool area too. The staff was very helpful when we were looking for a special shop to purchase a gift.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Terry D,
We appreciate your review and complimentary feedback from your visit to Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our friendly staff, and the complimentary amenities that we're proud to offer our guests. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay. It was an exceptional value asthe rooms were clean and comfortable. Stay included afternoon drinks and munchies. Continental breakfast was typical but good quality and plentiful. Staff was cheerful. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Michael F,
We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate you writing a review about your experience at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I'm pleased to hear you found our friendly service, comfortable accommodations, and variety of amenities to offer an exceptional value for your stay. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Excellent hotel and service. Located near shopping centres and shops. I will for sure go back next year. Highly recommended. Breakfast is awsome and personnel is helpful and very polite. Many Canadians go there for shopping and the location is ideal. Ten minutes from Kittery Outlets too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Francine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Francine V,
Thank you for your review and high recommendations of Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and found our excellent service and great location perfectly suited for your travels. Please plan to visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This Hampton Inn is especially notable because of the "Manager's Reception" held each evening from 4:30-6:30 pm in the lobby. Red Hook beer on tap, red/white wines, popcorn and a hot appetizer--all free (although it's nice to leave a $1.00 tip for the server). On a chilly evening, put your feet up next to the gas fireplace that throws nice heat and enjoy your beverage of choice. The morning breakfast, included with the room rate, is excellent--fresh fruit, make your own waffles, hot oatmeal, eggs, a meat (bacon or sausage on the days I was there), lots of Continental bakery items, good coffee...what's not to love? Rooms are clean and nicely appointed. It is a bit off the beaten track in that it is not located in downtown Portsmouth, but there is a complimentary shuttle to downtown until 10 pm, just request at the front desk--no schedule for return, just call and they will come get you. Have stayed numerous times and never disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the Hotel away from the highway for the quietest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie50Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

foodie50Ny,
We appreciate your review and continued patronage with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We're proud to offer such a wonderful variety of value added amenities and complimentary services to our guests. It's great to hear you consistently enjoy your visits, and we look forward to your return stay the next time you travel to the area. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

From the fireplace in the lobby to the warm greeting by the staff, everything made this visit feel like home. The location of the hotel compared to the local sights and the easiness of getting around using the hotel shutter bus made it possible to relax and enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Michael M,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your Hampton Inn Portsmouth experience. I'm delighted to hear that our staff's warm hospitality added extra comforts of home and you enjoyed a relaxing stay. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at this Hampton Inn and will happily go back! The room was clean and comfortable, the staff very friendly and accommodating, the amenities were above and beyond what we have come to expect. We were so happy that shuttle service was provided as we were tired of driving and were in an unfamiliar town with (as we saw later) very limited parking. The shuttle drivers were friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was very good, great coffee and good choices, all very clean and constantly being attended to by their friendly staff. The managers reception is a very nice touch, we enjoyed this as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dstep312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

dstep312,
Thank you for your great review from your stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. It's fantastic to hear all the aspects that made your stay enjoyable. We're pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations with our excellence in cleanliness and hospitality, along with the value added amenities that we're proud to offer our guests. Please come back to join us again soon. Thanks again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Hampton Inn in Portsmouth offered lots of nice amenities, attractive décor, etc. but not worth the high price paid. Desk Clerk Service was okay but not very helpful. Free wine and apps during the early evening was great. Room was spotless. Overall not a bad experience but definitely not worth the high price and would probably stay elsewhere next go round.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank LinekinLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

LinekinLass,
Thank you for writing. Your feedback is important to us as guest satisfaction is our highest priority. It's unfortunate to hear that we did not exceed your expectations and provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. I'm glad you found our complimentary evening reception and clean accommodations to meet your satisfaction. We hope you'll give us an opportunity to make improvements and provide a more positive experience in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#14 of 17 in Portsmouth
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Address: 99 Durgin Ln, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3156
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £80 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing