We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portsmouth NH Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Overall a nice hotel to stay at. Staff - specially someone there named Nikki - was very helpful. She was attentive. The rooms were comfortable but a little cramped. The bed was just OK. The breakfast service / food and happy hour were both good. I stayed in an accessible room I would rate a C. The bathroom I would rate a B+. It had a roll in shower.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Michael P,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we're glad you felt well taken care of by our staff during your visit. I'll be certain to recognize Nikki with a special commendation for her excellence in service. I'm sorry for the areas we fell short of exceeding your expectations. We value you as our guest and hope you'll visit us again in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

My recent stay at the Portsmouth Hampton Inn was truly a delightful experience! A+ to the entire staff for their friendly & oh-so-accommodating treatment of all their guests! Nikki, Robert, Mary Ann & Andrew all deserve to be the "Employee of the Month" on a rotating basis!!!! :) :) :) :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorCalMamaXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

NorCalMamaXO,
Thank you for writing a review from your stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. It's wonderful to hear that our staff's excellence in service made for a delightful experience. I look forward to sharing your complimentary feedback with our team, and I'll be certain to recognize Nikki, Robert, Mary Ann, and Andrew with special commendations for their sincere hospitality. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The management and Staff at this hotel Rocks.. The rooms are clean and the breakfast was excellent. Everyone goes out of their way for the guests. a must stay destination. This hotel has free shuttle service to the downtown area you dont have to worry about paying for parking. this was a nice perk.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

David L,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your experience at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. Your praise regarding our staff, cleanliness, and convenience highlight our core objective and passion for hospitality. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to welcome you back as our guest again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The only issue I had with this hotel was that the front desk staff were too nice... Is that an issue? They came across as not being genuine. They also felt like they needed to greet you every time you came through the door... is that an issue? Everything else was fantastic!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Karen K,
We appreciate you writing a review about your experience with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I assure you that our staff is sincere in their approach to hospitality. Each member of our team strives daily to provide exceptional guest experiences, and hope to do so by connecting and engaging with each of our guests. We value your business, and we hope you'll visit us again in the future. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

At first glance, this is a non-descript box of a hotel that looks pretty drab. Inside, though, the lobby is bright and well decorated, all modern amenities and furniture. Very comfortable.

The King room was typical, but quiet and well equipped with a mini-fridge and coffeemaker. The bed was comfortable, and had plenty of support. The bathroom was clean and bright and had granite countertops and tile floors. The room had a nice sitting area with a couch and desk for work and a 37 inch flat screen TV with fine picture and good cable channel selection. What's more - there's free Wifi and it worked fine with decent speed.

A lot to like about this hotel. The front desk staff was extra-helpful and friendly, and we always felt like the hotel was willing to go out of its way for the guests. They offered to take us to and from any destination in town in their van on demand. Very helpful!

Breakfast was free and quite good, a variety of nice foods for all tastes. Staff was helpful - we showed up a little before 10 AM but they hadn't had it all cleaned up and put away - there was plenty for us to eat left and it was hot.

This hotel was very convenient for our stay and exceptionally pleasant. We would recommend it to anyone staying in the area who doesn't mind a view of Home Depot and just needs a clean, comfortable room and a helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmc299012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

jimmc299012,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your experience with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We're glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay and found our clean accommodations, friendly staff, and value added amenities well suited for your travels. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I was pleased to fine out upon my arrival that the hotel offered complimentary wine and hot appetizers. We had a choice of wine of beer. In the morning due to having two college sporting teams at the hotel the staff opened a room for more sitting for breakfast, they also opened the pool area too. The staff was very helpful when we were looking for a special shop to purchase a gift.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Terry D,
We appreciate your review and complimentary feedback from your visit to Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our friendly staff, and the complimentary amenities that we're proud to offer our guests. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Address: 99 Durgin Ln, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3156
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £83 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing