We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Great place for a quick stay. This is not a fancy or trendy hotel. Just your standard hotel. But it is very clean and neat with a very comfortable bed.what more do you need?

There is also a hot and cold breakfast every morning. Oh before I forget each room comes with a microwave and a refrigerator.

The staff is very nice.

The only con might be that they need a bit of a facelift (paint etc).

How is this not 200 characters yet?!
Blah blah blah
Blah

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank tsj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Tsj52,
Thank you for your review and recommendation! We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Yours truly,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    227
    74
    37
    22
See reviews for
229
253
20
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We got a very reasonable rate for a room with 2 queens. We had a 13 year old and 9 month old with us and it was great. Room near the elevator. Pool and hot tub were clean and fun and there were plenty of towels. Breakfast was outstanding. Reservation directions were simple and great too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Julie L,
Thank you very much for your review. It is great to know you and your family enjoyed the hotel and we can’t wait to see you again!
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel is well maintained and clean. Complimentary breakfast is fresh looking and well maintain. Even he other guest in this hotel where friendly. Great place to stay in the Portsmouth area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank BillTDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
BillTDallas,
Thanks so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we provide. We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in the area!

Yours truly,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanham, MD., United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

The Inn was magnificent with excellent amenities. The "managers welcome" each night lead to a festive occasion for all the residents. The delicious snacks and beverages were excellent and inviting. The breakfasts and rooms were as always, way above "extremly satisfied". I use book many Hampton Inns and have never had a complaint but this Inn was above anything I've experienced. I wish all operated to this level

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
William D,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and were extremely satisfied with the level of service we provide. Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and I hope to see you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

the staff, the location, the amenities - all exceeded our expectations for the price. We especially lkie the Managers reception and the free shuttle to surrounding areas. The atmosphere at the buffet breakfast was almost festive because you tend to meet everyone the day before at the reception or on the shuttle in town for dinner or a quick ride over to RedHook.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Fred-Sweetser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your feedback. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and found the amenities to be convenient. We hope to see you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My husband and I ended up spending a week at this Hampton Inn for the purpose of moving our son to Portsmouth from California. When we walked in on a cold January night, we saw a lit fireplace in the lobby with comfortable chairs. All of the front desk people were fantastic, as well as the shuttle drivers, cleaning people. Everything functioned as it should. Two good working computers off the lobby area. Good TV channel selection. But we can't stress enough the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff that works there! My son unknowingly left his wallet in the shuttle van, and we were so happy when they called to say they had found it. We often came down late in the morning just before breakfast was ending, and the staff never rushed us or put away the food or drink items we were interested in. The location was only 7 minutes from downtown Portsmouth and close to markets and places to eat. We especially enjoyed the Panera Bread restaurant that is close by and the closeness of the Bed, Bath & Beyond store, which we had to go to a couple of times to get items for my son's new apartment. The rooms were clean, comfortable and warm; controls were easy to use. They have two nice washer/dryer combo machines that we used. Water pressure in the shower was great. Noise was minimal. Really, we were so pleased with this Hampton and their staff. By the end of our stay, they all felt like family. No hesitations in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancyjams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Nancyjams,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your family’s experience at our hotel and for recommending us! We’re glad you enjoyed the hotel and our convenient location. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our team. We hope to see you and your family again!

Truly yours,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Ipswich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The staff is very friendly, the food is great,& rooms are clean! The pool and hot tub area is really really welcoming & relaxing. The hotel is in a great location to go to restuarants & shopping. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJB4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
MJB4444,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be clean and enjoyable. We appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to seeing you again!
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Property: Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Address: 99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing