We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (877)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveller rating
453
253
96
45
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
253
96
45
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschristmas tree shopthe manager's receptionfree shuttlewithin milesroom was cleanwhirlpool tubfree beercomplimentary breakfasta wonderful staynew hampshirewould stay here againfront desk staffoatmealfresh fruitkittery outletsclose to downtownlobby
Filter
Updating list...
549 - 554 of 877 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was my second visit to this hotel and it was just as pleasant as I remembered it. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff very pleasant and accommodating. The hotel is conveniently located near to shopping and restaurants and there is a complimentary shuttle to various point of interest. Wine and cheese is served in the lobby around 4:30 pm and chocolate chip cookies awaited us on return from our supper. I love that the Christmas Tree Shop and Bed, Bath and Beyond are right next door. This is a place I would return to again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Linda154958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Linda154958,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel and for recommending us. I will pass along all of your comments to our team during our next weekly meeting. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Originally booked for 2 nights but after seeing the room we cancelled the second night, we didn't find the standard was as we have come to expect at Hampton Inns. The ceiling was stained, brown scum gurgled out of the jet tub when the jets were turned on but the main complaint was regarding the bedding. The bottom sheet elastic was too small to stretch over the mattress resulting in it slipping off and exposing the mattress and cover, the top sheet was only just big enough to cover the bed so it was not tucked in at the sides, basically the bedding is cheap. We would not come back, even with the free beer and wine managers reception every evening, Hampton's slogan in the lobby says "if you are not satisfied we don't expect you to pay" but I am not holding my breath for a refund.

Room Tip: Check out the room well before you confirm the reservation
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kipperdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Kipperdave,
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate hearing from you and appreciate your feedback. My apologies for the issues you had with your room, thanks for bringing them to our attention. We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in the area!

Yours truly,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I as very pleased with this hotel. It was very clean and the hotel was very friendly and accommodating. The shuttle is a plus....it will take you right into downtown Portsmouth! Expedia had messed up our booking, but the staff fixed it with no issues or hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maegan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Maegan B,
Thank you for your review and recommendation! We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Yours truly,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We celebrated my husband's 70th birthday with a family trip to Strawbery Banke, reserved 5 rooms and stayed overnight here at the Hampton Inn. This choice was excellent, very clean & good-sized rooms, great swimming pool, basketball hoop in back with balls at front desk, and a marvelous/scrumptious FREE breakfast before checkout. Only complaint was the softness of pillows; if we had stayed multiple nights, we would have asked for harder or different or more pillows. We also checked in at the time of "free beer and wine welcome to our hotel festivities," wow what fun! All the employees were most friendly and courteous. Will stay here again when we are in town, thank you very much

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Carol h,
Thank you very much for writing a review! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We take a lot of care into our breakfast selection and the rest of our hotel and I am glad you found it enjoyable. We look forward to see you again when you are in the area!

Thanks again,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recommend this hotel if you want to do shopping, located near many stores (Macy's, TJ Maxx, Homegoods, etc.). Also located in a quiet place for peaceful sleep. Complimentary breakfast: greatly appreciated. Happy hour: free beer(draught) from 4 h 30 to 6 h 60. Politeness of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Francine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Francine V,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel and for recommending us. I will pass along all of your comments to our team during our next weekly meeting. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews