We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A value driven Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

great free breakfast, excellent pool we really loved the gas grills that were available to bbq on in the patio area. The beds were comfortable and the overall room was very clean. Although an older hotel my family enjoyed it. Cant beat the location either shopping close by, great stay I would stay there again and plan to.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Dan: We’re so glad your family enjoyed their stay. We’re glad you enjoyed the pool and took advantage of the BBQ. We look forward to seeing all of you again.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingely
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

A one night stay that we loved. Quiet, clean and comfortable. One negative was the bathroom. It had bad lighting and the commode was one of the shortest I've ever used. Plus the air vent seemed useless. But the whirlpool tub was great. (To be fair, this Hampton is on the list for a redo.) Other than, that no complainants. Service was top notch. The bed was wonderful, and the breakfast was typical Hampton menu, but well attended to. A busy breakfast room, the food was not over cooked and rubbery. All the fruits, etc., were fresh and nice. When in the area again I'd look to book here first.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allenfizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Fizers3,
Thank you so much for the review. I am pleased you enjoyed all of the amenities we offer, along with the Hampton Inn in general. Thank you for your pledged loyalty to our brand!
I will be sure to share your comments to our staff. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife is in a wheel chair and we have found that the world can be very inconvenient for someone who is handicapped. Once we arrived at the Hampton in Portsmouth we were reminded how nice convenience can be. The hotel was laid out to be very accessible. The room we had was spacious and clean. And we didn't need to fuss over parking at the hotel once we were there because the hotel offered a shuttle that accommodated wheel chair usage and allowed us to do whatever we wanted, whenever we wanted and I didn't need to worry about how to get anywhere or worry about finding parking. The Hampton shuttle service blessed us with convenience and we are very appreciative.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Douglas H,
It’s wonderful to receive your review and feedback on your experience at the Hampton Portsmouth. We’re happy to have been a part of travels, and we’re glad our friendly service and accommodating staff made for a memorable weekend. We appreciate your patronage and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Ok... This Hampton Inn allows animals and there is smoking even if they tell you it is non smoking.
If you are allergic to cats and/ or dogs do not stay here. We had to move twice to get away from a noisy grinding air handler and a second room that suddenly filled with cigarette smoke but fortunately the third room was ok or we were just to dead tired to move again.
The clerk was efficient and handled us in a courteous and professional manner.
The breakfast area is extremely small and was so crowded that we did not eat breakfast there.

Room Tip: If you have any allergies to cats and/ or dogs do not stay here. We saw animals on each floor that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Terry W,
Thank you for writing. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends when you were to return to the Portsmouth area.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The entire staff has treated me like family from day one of my long term business stay ! The pool and hot tub are a wonderful way to relax after a long day at work. The hotel is convenient to just about anything I need.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Judson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Judson G,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am pleased you enjoyed all of the amenities we offer, along with the Hampton Inn Brand in general. Thank you for your pledged loyalty to our brand! Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I'm a Hampton Inn fan. They are generally clean and well run and this one was no different. I was a little concerned about noise based on other reviews posted here. I found, however, that noise was not an issue. I couldn't hear the highway noise, and the halls were quieter than I've experienced at other places. One trick I've learned when traveling is to leave the fan on the A/C unit on all night even if the A/C isn't running. The white noise helps cancel out an ambient noise from the hall or adjacent rooms. If there was noise, my family didn't hear it.

The staff were all very friendly and I felt they were generally interested in making sure their guests were happy.

The breakfast area is not as openly arranged as other Hampton Inns. The majority of the food is in a small area that creates a bottleneck. I believe we stayed when the hotel was quite booked because we had difficulty getting a table and getting to the food. The lady attending to the breakfast area was working her tail off and doing a great job to try and keep everything fresh.

We were just passing through so I didn't take much note of area attractions. It was near shopping and restaurants and is quite convenient to the highways.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Jeff W,
Thank you for writing a review about your experience at The Hampton Portsmouth. We appreciate your continued patronage and for choosing our hotel for your business and group travel needs. It’s wonderful to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating to your requests. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our family really enjoyed our stay at Hampton Inn. Great location, tucked away from the high traffic main street. My whole family really enjoyed the pool and the hot tub. (very clean) The rooms are really clean and quite. Family friendly for all ages. Noticed people with pets were welcome as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Sara C,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience at The Hampton Portsmouth. We’re pleased to hear our clean hotel, friendly staff, and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#14 of 17 in Portsmouth
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Address: 99 Durgin Ln, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3156
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £78 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing