We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disrespectful Front Desk Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disrespectful Front Desk Staff”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Terrible customer service at the front desk. Rude and not accommodating in anyway. I was staying as part of a wedding block. I had a toddler who came down with a sever ear infection the morning of the wedding. The staff was unable to direct us to a proper clinic. They could and would not get us into a room before we had to leave from a wedding even though I was a bridesmaid. The staff was heard talking negatively about the bride and party publicly in the lobby. The father or the bride had to talk to the staff about their disrespect to the wedding guests because of the numerous complaints by guests to the bride's father. Not exactly what he should be dealing with the day of his daughters wedding...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Kate: Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the areas that we have fallen short of meeting your expectations. When the wedding group was booked, we did set up and offer a free meeting/hospitality suite where wedding guests can change or get ready. Due to the busy summer season, we were unable to accommodate check-ins earlier than our 3pm checkin time. When we explained this to the father of the bride that it was pre-arranged, he was super understanding and even gave our front desk personnel kudos. Our goal is to provide all guests with a rewarding stay. Please know that we have taken your comments into consideration to improve our overall guest experience. We hope you’ll visit us again and experience the higher level of customer service that you have come to expect from us. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    227
    75
    38
    24
See reviews for
231
254
21
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Came with family to visit Portsmouth. There is absolutely no view from this hotel except parking lots. You're about 5-10 minutes from downtown. But it reflects in the price. Really a good spot for free parking, GREAT breakfast, and being relatively close to downtown. Rooms were clean, beds comfy, nice microwave and fridge in the room. Basketball courts, pool and hot tub. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Brandon: We’re so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks so much for writing a review and detailing some of our amenities and our location which is accessible to a lot of Portsmouth areas. We hope all of you stay with us again on your next trip to Portsmouth.
Take Care,
Cathi Tingley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Pros:
- free shattle within 5 miles around hotel (great for drinking in the downrtown)
- free beer, snacks and coockies
- shopping malls are all around
- friendly staff
- friendly atmosphere in the lobby (I suspect free beer plays some role here:))

Cons:
- not downtown
- no dining space in the room (coffee machine was in the WC)
- no dinner

Total:
next time would choose this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Olga: Thank you for staying with us when you were in Portmouth. We appreciate your review of our hotel and our friendly staff & free beer at social! We hope to see you again.

Safe travels,
Cathi Tingley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed overnight here last weekend. The check in went smoothly and the front desk clerk was wonderful. She offered to take us to town in the free shuttle, she also informed us of the Managers cocktail hour, offering free beer, wine and snacks and about the free breakfast in the morning. This is a well run, beautifully kept hotel. The room was very clean and spacious. Post it note on the bed stating sheets and duvets were changed. I loved that. They had an indoor pool we didn't use but there were a lot of people using it and they also had a firepit outside that was being used by a few people when we returned from dinner that night.
The hotel itself is an easy drive to the Waterfront in Portsmouth and also Kittery and York Maine. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpsmith47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear bpsmith47: Thanks so much for the glowing review, particularly about our great staff! I will be sure to share your comments with the hotel team. We hope we’ll be your first pick whenever you stay in Portsmouth. Safe travels until next time!

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this Hampton Inn, particularly the helpful and courteous staff. Erin at the front desk was friendly, enthusiastic and seemed to really like her job. Our room was clean, quiet, and updated. We appreciated the photos throughout our room and the hotel of local landmarks. We also appreciated the shuttle drivers who provided friendly drop off and pick up of our choosing. Plus the van was new, clean and air conditioned.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank abriner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear arbriner3:
Thank you for your terrific review. It’s wonderful to receive your complimentary feedback on our clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as our friendly staff. I’ll be sure to tell Erin that she’s been recognized for her friendly service! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Portsmouth.

Take care,
Cathi Tingley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle River, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had booked this room in advance knowing that we would have a long arduous drive at the end of the 4th of July weekend. From our past experience we knew we would have a very easy check in & out experience. And have a clean fresh room to rest in before continuing our trip. We were not disappointed. The front desk staff were courteous and quick, the room clean and nice, and the complimentary breakfast was generous and very good. And the other guests were pleasant to be around as well. We definitely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Michael: Thank you for your nice review. We’re glad you found the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff friendly. It’s especially nice that the other guest were pleasant to be around as well. We’re happy you had a nice experience and look forward to seeing you again.

Take Care,
Cathi Tingley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

You really can't go wrong at the Hampton Inn in Portsmouth - so nice to have breakfast and the manager's reception with cocktails and snacks included - you don't find that in too many hotel chains!! We would definately go back - the location here is very convenient to NH and ME attractions but for a much lower price than being right in the heart of the touristy areas.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Doreen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Doreen: We are so glad to hear that you’ll come back the next time you’re in Portsmouth! Thank you for writing such a nice review. Safe travels!

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Property: Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Address: 99 Durgin Ln, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3156
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing