We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Portsmouth(Portsmouth)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (837)
Filter reviews
837 results
Traveller rating
434
243
88
44
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
243
88
44
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschristmas tree shopthe manager's receptionfree shuttleshuttle servicejacuzzi tubbeer and wineroom was cleanfree beercomplimentary breakfastshopping and restaurantsthe breakfast areaa wonderful staynew hampshirefront desk staffminute drivewould stay here againoatmeal
Filter
Updating list...
478 - 483 of 837 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Have stayed at this hotel numerous times in the past, but will never go back again. Tub drain was broken, shower curtain mold-stained, had to request clean towels (yes, we left the used ones on the floor). Reported issues and received a new shower curtain. No fix to the tub. Also there were numerous bugs (looked like fungus gnats) flying around the room (primarily in the bathroom).

Stay at Hilton properties all over (for business and personal) and rarely experience problems; don't know if this property has had a management change, but it was never like this in the past.

There are plenty of other hotel alternatives in Portsmouth - don't waste your money here.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McTraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

McTraveler81,
Thank you for writing. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends when you were to return to the Portsmouth area.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is clean, the shuttle is great, but what good is it if you do not get the room you reserved? I had a confirmation for a King bed with whirlpool tub and yet at check-in the room we had a CONFIRMATION on was not available. The desk clerk had no explanation and there was no manager on duty to speak to. We took what they offered, but got the impression that customer satisfaction and brand loyalty means very little. A phone call to customer service was a waste of time. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Imabooklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Imabooklover,
Thank you for writing. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends when you were to return to the Portsmouth area.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very clean and the staff was very friendly. Loved the afternoon "cocktail" hour. pool and hot tub area clean and we weren't over powered by the smell of chlorine like most indoor pools. Fitness room small, but good enough for a quick cardio workout.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 407jamese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

407jamese,
Thank you writing a review about your recent experience. It’s wonderful to receive your feedback on our clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as our friendly staff. We appreciate you choosing Hampton Portsmouth for your hotel needs, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Awful service and amenities are far below standards. The price and Hilton name are not enough to cover the lack of hospitality. Breakfast is disgusting and pool smells like a locker room. The rooms are great but still not enough to change my mind at this hotel. Worst Hilton property I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Imabooklover,
Thank you for writing. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends when you were to return to the Portsmouth area.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel was very convenient, as we attended a wedding at a church in Newington. This hotel was available while the Dover hotels were sold out- it was high in the room rate- that is why the value rating is average. This room was booked last minute in the summer. We liked the location, and enjoyed the closeness to downtown Portsmouth, church of the wedding, and malls- Great breakfast and afternoon appetizers....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Gail K,
Thank you writing a review about your Hampton experience. It’s wonderful to receive your feedback on our clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as our friendly staff. We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your hotel needs, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews