We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, great amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Came here after escaping from the Motel 6. Never been happier to get a room! Staff were very friendly, breakfast was excellent and the shuttle service was a nice touch. Only complaint is that they need to expand their breakfast area. Too small, long line and no where to sit. Everything was clean. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liberin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
liberin,
Thank you for your review and recommendation!  We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    227
    75
    38
    22
See reviews for
231
254
20
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The bathroom curtain was stained (someone had sneezed on it) & i think the housekeeper didn't change it. The hot tub wasn't that clean, i could tell from the walls there were stains, pool area was a little messy, it could be improved. Staff was friendly & helpful though

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Abbey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Abbeykaweki,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your stay with us at the Hampton Portsmouth. It’s great to receive your kind comments about our friendly staff. I appreciate you recognizing our strengths while providing us some areas of opportunity for improvement. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Portsmouth.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orono, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Uniformity across all hotels. Convenient, quality of rooms, clean, friendly. Space for meeting during breakfast and in evening is excellent. Always easy to access. Never a waiting line. A hotel that compels a guest to place Hampton at the top of the list of option because the risk is very low and the rewards/benefits are high and assured. We are always comfortable at the Hampton.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
David B,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am pleased you enjoyed all of the amenities we offer, along with the Hampton Brand in general. Thank you for your pledged loyalty to our brand!
I will be sure to share your comments to our staff. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Have stayed at this hotel numerous times in the past, but will never go back again. Tub drain was broken, shower curtain mold-stained, had to request clean towels (yes, we left the used ones on the floor). Reported issues and received a new shower curtain. No fix to the tub. Also there were numerous bugs (looked like fungus gnats) flying around the room (primarily in the bathroom).

Stay at Hilton properties all over (for business and personal) and rarely experience problems; don't know if this property has had a management change, but it was never like this in the past.

There are plenty of other hotel alternatives in Portsmouth - don't waste your money here.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McTraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
McTraveler81,
Thank you for writing. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends when you were to return to the Portsmouth area.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is clean, the shuttle is great, but what good is it if you do not get the room you reserved? I had a confirmation for a King bed with whirlpool tub and yet at check-in the room we had a CONFIRMATION on was not available. The desk clerk had no explanation and there was no manager on duty to speak to. We took what they offered, but got the impression that customer satisfaction and brand loyalty means very little. A phone call to customer service was a waste of time. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imabooklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Imabooklover,
Thank you for writing. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends when you were to return to the Portsmouth area.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very clean and the staff was very friendly. Loved the afternoon "cocktail" hour. pool and hot tub area clean and we weren't over powered by the smell of chlorine like most indoor pools. Fitness room small, but good enough for a quick cardio workout.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 407jamese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
407jamese,
Thank you writing a review about your recent experience. It’s wonderful to receive your feedback on our clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as our friendly staff. We appreciate you choosing Hampton Portsmouth for your hotel needs, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, NH, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Awful service and amenities are far below standards. The price and Hilton name are not enough to cover the lack of hospitality. Breakfast is disgusting and pool smells like a locker room. The rooms are great but still not enough to change my mind at this hotel. Worst Hilton property I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Imabooklover,
Thank you for writing. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends when you were to return to the Portsmouth area.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Property: Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Address: 99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing