We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wrens Nest Village Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Belleview, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

stayed here over columbus day weekend. had another reservation through expedia but it was overbooked so they sent us the wren's nest. we expected it would be subpar based on reviews but when we arrived we were given a suite in a duplex near the rear of the rather large property. it felt very private and convenient with our own driveway. the room was apleasant surprise with a loft hot tub and very nice walk in showre. the carpeting was dated and it didn't have a luxurious feel, but it was clean, well laid out and very comfortable.

Room Tip: this was probaly a honeyroom suite or the like. the front builing looks more like a motel. opt for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    18
    11
    9
    13
See reviews for
6
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed there last week believing it was a bed and breakfast. The room had no character and resembled an old low class Motel 5 room. Noisy AC. No way to darken the room. People walking upstairs for ever sounded like they were in our room... Finally when my wife asked about breakfast, she was advised that it was from 9 to 10. Coffee and fruits, and that if we wanted a breakfast, we could buy one at their restaurant starting at 7:00... Talk about a bed and breakfast... Also we paid in excess of $140.00 for this disaster.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PatrickBarbary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Sunny Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Worst hotel I ever stayed at. I grew up in Boston and wanted to show my world-traveled husband New England. Was so disappointed that we stopped here. The noise from the air conditioner was too much and the noise from floor above was unbearable. We paid and left w/in an hour. Never ever stayed at a cheaper-quality hotel. Place smelled of cigarette smoke and all you got was a cheap wrapped piece of soap to wash. OMG, not even close to a Days Inn.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AnitaBOnToppOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed in one of the 1 bedromm cabins. It was comfortable large and clean. The staff was freindly and the resturant was great. All in all we had a great time and would recomend Wren's to our friends.

Room Tip: I can't speak for the rooms but the cabin was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acochris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton on Thames
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in May. Both rooms were clean but needed redecorating and better lighting. Our room smelt of alcohol - perhaps from the bottle of Jack Daniels we discovered in the fridge. Not well sound proofed as we could hear the people above very clearly.
The owner recommended breakfast in Betty's Kitchen, a few minutes along the road and he was right - great place and food. We ate dinner at the Wren's Nest restaurant - food was tasty and owner & chef couldn't have been more welcoming.

It is OK for just a night en route to Portsmouth (we paid $70 per room).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaltononThamesAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilford, NH
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I took my wife to Portsmouth for a couple of days for Mother's Day. Everything was wonderful, except the Wrens Nest! I heard about it from B&B.com. We love authentic b&b's for their charm, friendliness, and home-made breakfasts. This was NONE of that!

First problem - it's NOT a b&b. You can get a simple continental breakfast if you're willing to wait until after 9:30. Second, Ralph Lauren would have been embarrassed to have our room named after him. Old, worn, tacky. It's an old motel from the 1960's. Finally, it's way over priced.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billjohn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed in the Ralph Lauren room last night 1/28/12 and boy can picures be deceiving! The room itself was clean, but the old ratty carpets, drapes, and bedding must have been 100 years old, giving the place a very dirty, dingy appearance. Very disappointing! And "Ralph Lauren"?? Oh my God! There were two very old dingy "Ralph Lauren" throw pillows on the bed and a print on the wall of a girl in riding breeches ! That and a faded picture of a polo player on the coffee cups was about it. Also, we brought our bathing suits because the website said that there was a swimming pool with a jacuzzi and waterfall! Well, the "swimming pool" room which was a separate building was closed down, locked up, and the door jam so rusted it looked like it hadn't been opened in years. Why is it still on their website?! And the worst part was that outside of each room there was a loungechair for sitting and a large standing ashtray because smoking is not allowed inside the rooms. I am not exaggerating when I say that the ashtrays probably had not been emptied in a year. Some of them were so overflowing with cigarette butts that there must have been a hundred or so. Disgusting! Another surprise was that there is no shower in the room. There is a showerhead mounted on the wall of the jacuzzi attached to a long cord so if you want to take a shower you have to stand in the jacuzzi in the middle of your bedroom (where the jacuzzi is) and "shower". One last thing, some reviewers mentioned that if you are on the bottom floor you hear people stomping on the floors in the rooms overhead. Well, we were on the top floor and the people next door to us were up at 3AM having a fight and it sounded like they were in the same room with us. AND, when they walked across the room it was like someone banging a sledgehammer on the floor. This shouting and stomping went on for several hours until finally someone must have complained because someone from the management came up to their room. I understand that rude guests are not the fault of the establishment, but the fact that someone walking and talking (even when they weren't shouting) was so incredibly loud in our room next door was amazing to me! Anyway, we kept a sense of humor about it all, but I just want to warn anyone who plans to stay there that pictures are deceiving!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
4.2 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
478 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrens Nest Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrens Nest Village Inn

Property: Wrens Nest Village Inn
Address: 3548 Lafayette Rd, Portsmouth, NH 03801-6090
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrens Nest Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why not relax in a jacuzzi tub in a themed room? Welcome to the Wren's Nest Inn, on Route 1 convenient to Portsmouth NH and Hampton NH. Choose from several room options - Standard King Rooms, Studio Suites, Cottages with Kitchens, 1-Bedroom Suites with Kitchenettes, Deluxe Jacuzzi Suites with various themes, and our Premium Jacuzzi Suites, such as the Isle of Shoals Room, The Hemingway Room, the White Mountain Lodge, or the Harley Davidson Room. All of our rooms offer private baths, free wi-fi internet, cable TV, in-room coffee, phone, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, micro-frig, climate control, etc. All guests can enjoy our indoor heated pool and free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Wrens Nest Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrens Nest Village Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing