We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST everything ( or "Works") bagel anywhere.”

The Works Bakery Cafe
Ranked #55 of 204 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: The Works to you: humanely-raised, naturally-cured meats and poultry with no antibiotics or added hormones. Local eggs from cage-free chickens. Hormone- and antibiotic-free milk and cream cheese from Vermont family farms. Breakfast and lunch sandwiches and paninis on artisan bread, wraps or traditional boiled-and-baked bagels made with unbleached, unbromated flour. Fresh salads. Hearty, from scratch soups. Fresh-fruit smoothies. Rainforest Alliance Certified coffee. Thoughtfully sourced, local when possible.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST everything ( or "Works") bagel anywhere.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Very fresh, and great for a quick lunch. Dont forget to try the everything (or Works bagel as they call it). It's the best!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Styln4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at The Works Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thanks for loving The Works namesake bagel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    27
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cranford, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Tasty Sandwiches But Pricey!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stopped in for lunch on a Thursday afternoon. We had the Hearty Hummus Wrap, the Thai Chicken Wrap, a Greek Salad, 3 drinks, and 2 chips. All of our meals were tasty and a decent size. We thought it might have been a bit overpriced. We paid approximately $33. We've paid less in New York City. When we cleaned our tables to leave, the recycling can and garbage can were overstuffed and you couldn't put anything else in them. We didn't even try and we just left the on top of the counter. It was slightly after lunch hour and the place could have used a good cleaning. Service was good and friendly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melonie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at The Works Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Melonie
Thanks for giving The Works a try, we really appreciate it and know you had a lot of choices. We will work on doing a better job with our overflowing recycling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Holy Sandwiches! ”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Visited for an early lunch and could not have been more impressed. The bagels were fantastic and the day's special panini was perfection. Definitely hit this place up for a casual yummy lunch...or anytime really!

Helpful?
Thank foodiegirl625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at The Works Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thanks Foodie Girl, glad you liked your lunch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Paninis are awesome!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a ham & cheddar Panini which was made with naturally-cured ham, Vermont cheddar, local apples, toasted almonds, honey mustard, on grilled multigrain and wow was it great. This is a perfect place to grab a sandwich for lunch. The staff was very friendly and made a great sandwich. I cant wait to go back!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at The Works Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thanks Glenn, hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Ok Bagel”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went here on our way out of town for a bagel Sunday morning. The bagels are small and not very good. I'm tempted to say they might have even been frozen. I was really happy when I saw the girl squeeze all the bagels to find a stale one to toast for me and save the fresh ones for non-toasted. I didn't know there was a punishment for ordering a toasted bagel? Oh well. It was mediocre at best and the tables were pretty dirty. It must be hard to run a good place when you have six 17 year olds running it. It wasn't bad but I won't be back, I can get a better bagel elsewhere and $11 for two bagel and two juices is a bit much.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Works Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Works Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing