We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“European pastry in new hamshire”
Review of Cafe Vonsolln

Cafe Vonsolln
Ranked #69 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“European pastry in new hamshire”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Very good
Very friendly
Would go back! Typing this on my cell phone !
Had " apple cake"
Was a bit expensive $4.95


Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Californiatrip2013me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    14
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
339 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“Forget Starbucks, try Vonsolln!!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I've lined up at Vonsolln coffee shop hopping for a better cup of coffee. For my surprise the experience at Vonsolln has turned into a gourmet coffee event. Their coffee is just outstanding along with good quality German pastries.

Kaffee Vonsolln is one of the most atmospheric cafe I've been in North America.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robby_Cristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit of Bavaria in Portsmouth”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Who knew you could find German pastries in Portsmouth? Being from a German family and born there myself, I was thrilled to try to plum coffee cake (kuchen) and find it very close to my mothers receipe. If we had had more time, I would have tried many more yummy looking pastries. Definitely worth checking out and authentic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GBtravels50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Coffee good but pastries not authentic”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My family came here with expectations of great German coffee and pastries.The coffee is good but the apple streudel was like Hannaford's:not fresh apples and not streudle dough.I saw the Sacher torte and it looked like chocolate cake,not what I had at the Hotel Sacher in Vienna or other konditorei(pastry shops)in Germany or Austria.Would I come back?Probably not.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJBVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altus, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“German Cafe!”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

In Portsmouth for a few days and discovered this fantastic little slice of Germany. Having lived in Germany for several years, my family and I miss these little gems. Grab a breakfast sandwich or pastry and a coffee, sit out side and watch the world go by. Great little place, I'll miss it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jetdriver21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Vonsolln also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Vonsolln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing