We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay at best western” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
portsmouth nh, United States
1 review
“stay at best western”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

good vale no real problems people were nice and helpful--the room was quite good and clean--front desk very helpful nearby resturant convenient and adequate overall I could say it was above average and I could recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Phillip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about our entire staff from the cleanliness of the rooms cleaned by our housekeepers to the helpful of our front desk staff. Everyone of our associates enjoys welcoming guests into our hotel. All of our rooms have a flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave and an in-room coffee maker. Our hotel features the Roundabout Diner next door that has great food and great service. In addition to the restaurant we have a fitness room and two pools to work off the great food from the diner. We hope you are able to visit us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    217
    124
    71
    36
See reviews for
225
231
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HFX
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here on way home from a Boston Bruins at 11pm. on the way home to Nova Scotia. Rate was good through Hotwire.com.
Hotel is very big, kind of resort/convention setup. While it seems clean enough, the decor was dated, and the hotel was in need of repairs in some areas. The pool water was a little cloudy but it didn't stop the kids from swimming.
The fitness room has a whole in the wall the size of a hula hoop with wall paper loosely hanging over it. When i pulled the wall paper back I saw mold, etc. No doubt because it is beside the pool.
Room decor was dated but they were clean, service was good, and overall it was fine for a short over-nighter. I wouldn't stay here for extended period of time however.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhillca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
We appreciate you staying with us on your trip through the area. A lot of our guests find our location very convenient to Boston and other longer trips in New England. Thank you for noticing the cleanliness of our hotel. Our pool is very popular so we work on it on a daily basis to keep the chemicals the proper levels as well as keeping the clarity as high as possible. You are correct we will be repairing and replacing the area in the fitness room by the pool. We hope you will return during your next visit to the area to check out our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, NH, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Attended a submarine reunion in Portsmouth, NH. The facility was convenient to the function and the rest of Portsmouth. The staff was friendly and efficient. The room was nice and had all the amenities a person would need. There is a fitness room, an indoor and an outdoor pool. There is a restaurant attached with good food....A good place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
First, thank you for your service to our country serving in a submarine. Secondly, thank you for taking the time to write a nice review for our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about the staff. All of us enjoy working in the hospitality industry. It is heartwarming to welcome guests to our fine city and our hotel. The fitness room and indoor pool are open all year round however our outdoor pool is only seasonal normally open from Memorial Day to Labor Day. The Roundabout diner next door does offer good food. Their menu is very popular with both guests and our staff. Hopefully, your submarine family will hold another reunion soon or we will just see you for a vacation in Portsmouth in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

VERY clean hotel. Literally saw my face in the bathroom floor. Great location and on site restaurant was delicious. Stayed at many hotels in area and this is by far the cleaniest and best. Used indoor pool and hottub. When I come back to NH in the summer, I'd like to use the outdoor pool. First time at a best western and it was a great choice. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
WOW! We appreciate you noticing how hard our staff works to keep our hotel clean and welcoming for our guests. I will pass on your enthusiasm for our bathroom floors to the housekeeping team. All of our rooms have been renovated with 12” square ceramic tile floors that have the ability to really shine. The Roundabout restaurant next door does serve delicious food we agree, which is why we eat there all the time. Our outdoor pool is open from Memorial Day to a little after Labor Day so you have a full three months to try it out. Thank you for writing such a nice review. We hope to see you again real soon or at least next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

They gave us a corporate rate just for calling. It was cheaper than internet quoted. Great staff and clean rooms. We couldn't have picked a nicer hotel! Front desk was so accommodating. Coffee maker in room along with refrigerator and microwave. It's a home away from home!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizzoumeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us and writing such a glowing review. A phone call is always more enjoyable to our staff when we can make a connection with a guest. We appreciate you letting us know about your great stay at our hotel. All of our associates work hard to keep our hotel clean and welcoming for our guests. All of our rooms have an in-room coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave. Our hotel also features suites with full kitchens that include stove tops, dishwashers as well as all of the plates, glass and silverware you may need for your stay with us. Hopefully you will be able to call us again when you return to the Portsmouth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here on a golf weekend. The room was larger than most in the area in this price range, bathroom was recently updated, comfortable beds, refrig and microwave in the room was helpful. Very clean room. The front desk was helpful. Good location, although you will need to drive into town. The restaurant next door has a very good breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soxrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. All of your kind words are appreciated by our staff. Our housekeepers work very hard to make sure our hotel is clean for our guests as evidenced by tripadvisor reviewers mentioning it in more than half of their comments. We are all glad your golf weekend went well. While it is true our location is not in the downtown area of Portsmouth we are closer to several very nice golf courses. We agree the restaurant next door, The Roundabout Diner, has very good food because we eat there a lot as well. Hopefully you and your group will be able to enjoy another golf weekend in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, NL, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

My family of four (2 children ages 10 and 12) stayed for 2 nights at the Best Western Portsmouth in August 2013. We did not have a reservation and had no problem getting a room. The hotel honored a $99.00/night coupon I acquired from hotelcoupons.com as well. Check in was handled by a friendly gentleman who was informative. Our room was clean but small, our biggest concern was the bathtub, it had 2 rather large cracks which gave way under your feet. I told front desk on check out to look at repairing/re-placing the tub. The pool was in need of some TLC for sure, there was a film over the top. We had club sandwiches at the adjacent diner and they were very good! We would stay here again but I would inspect the room to ensure the bathroom was in good condition.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Follettfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and for mentioning our cleanliness. Guest mention the cleanliness of our hotel in more than half of our tripadvisor reviews. All of our staff tries very hard to create a warm welcoming atmosphere for our guests from our friendly front desk to our helpful housekeepers. Our rooms range in size from the PLUS rooms of 330 square feet to our suites up to almost 1,000 square feet with the Superior Rooms in between at approximately 400 square feet. In our bathrooms, we offer a variety of tubs and spas depending on the room type. Our maintenance staff works hard to make sure every surface is free of defects. During the month of August both our outdoor and indoor pool are open. Our chemicals are regulated with the most advanced technology to make sure the water is safe for all guests at all times. We hope you are able to return to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Address: 580 US Highway 1 Byp, Interstate Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4144
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel and Suites has clean comfortable rooms featuring a 37" flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and free wi-fi. Our PLUS rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. Our Superior rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. In addition to our PLUS and Superior rooms we have suites with a separate living room and full kitchens. Every guest can also spend time in 1 of our 2 pools, a heated indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor pool or the newly renovated fitness room. The Roundabout Diner and 3,200 sf of meeting space complete our facility but the friendly team of associates make our hotel the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel Portsmouth
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel And Suites
Best Western Wynwood Hotel
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing