We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for "Leaf Peeping"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location for "Leaf Peeping"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just back from a great week in New England - we loved our stay at this hotel! My husband and I explored New Hampshire and Maine from this central location. Downtown Portsmouth is charming - a very walkable city! The hotel staff was great with local recommendations for food and shopping - and even helped with a Harley rental for my husband. I understand that the hotel is under new management, and the staff was so friendly! We had a one bedroom suite - so spacious and very clean, with a fully equipped kitchen! We will return - wonder if they can guarantee the same great weather!?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for writing such a glowing review. We appreciate your kind words as well as your business. Our location is very convenient for “leaf peeping”. Guests have gone north to the White Mountains of New Hampshire and also driven along the seacoast to catch the autumn colors of New England. Route 1A offers some truly spectacular views of old trees on the shore and the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. Motorcyclists have great opportunities throughout the region to see the fall foliage. Harley riders even enjoy it more with our corporate partnership between Best Western and Harley Davidson. The weather is always changing so no guarantees however the fall in Portsmouth is warm enough to enjoy a walk through downtown and still eat hot food at a river view restaurant. We hope you will return again soon the different times of year are also fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    217
    125
    72
    36
See reviews for
226
231
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mulberry, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was an excellent hotel located close to all attractions and shopping venues. The hotel itself was very clean and the staff went above and beyond in their duties. I would (and have) recommended this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. Our location is convenient to many different locations during different seasons. Right now during the fall we have a lot of guests that are shopping nearby in tax free New Hampshire and others that are going across the Piscataque River to the outlets in Kittery, Maine. The other popular activity right now is watching the leaves change colors. Our location allows for day trips up and down the seacoast as well as short trips to the New Hampshire Mountains or into the beauty of Maine. We appreciate you taking the time to notice how hard our staff works to keep the hotel clean and welcoming for our guests. Thank you for recommending us to your friends as well as anybody else who might read this review. We hope to see you and/or your friends soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Nice accommodations, the shower was great. The attached restaurant was excellent. No free breakfast but very affordable at the restaurant. I would stay here again and I would recommend it to someone else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We appreciate you staying with us on your last trip to Portsmouth. Our guest rooms offer a variety of shower and tub options including name brand spas. Some of our rooms also have showers designed to allow a guest in a wheelchair easy access to our facilities. I am glad you enjoyed your dining experience. We feel the Roundabout Diner is great too. Our associates eat there all the time. Hopefully you will return to our hotel in the near future for your next relaxing vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
81 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and I went on a driving vacation through Maine, New Hampshire, and Ma. We stayed the night at this hotel. We found the staff helpful and good spirited. The hotel was clean and well maintained. Has on site restaurant that has pretty good food. I recommend this place, good balance of price, service, and comfort. It is also well placed to get around the downtown area of Portsmouth.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to mention how hard our staff works to keep our hotel clean and well maintained. All of our associates enjoy welcoming guests both to the hotel and Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Thank you for recommending our hotel to future guests because our staff was helpful and good spirited. The Roundabout Diner next door does offer good food. Both visiting guests and locals compliment the restaurant’s food, service and atmosphere. Our staff eats there all the time as well. Our location is convenient to downtown Portsmouth, the beaches of New Hampshire and fantastic shopping in Maine. We hope you will travel through our area again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth nh, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

good vale no real problems people were nice and helpful--the room was quite good and clean--front desk very helpful nearby resturant convenient and adequate overall I could say it was above average and I could recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Phillip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about our entire staff from the cleanliness of the rooms cleaned by our housekeepers to the helpful of our front desk staff. Everyone of our associates enjoys welcoming guests into our hotel. All of our rooms have a flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave and an in-room coffee maker. Our hotel features the Roundabout Diner next door that has great food and great service. In addition to the restaurant we have a fitness room and two pools to work off the great food from the diner. We hope you are able to visit us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFX
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here on way home from a Boston Bruins at 11pm. on the way home to Nova Scotia. Rate was good through Hotwire.com.
Hotel is very big, kind of resort/convention setup. While it seems clean enough, the decor was dated, and the hotel was in need of repairs in some areas. The pool water was a little cloudy but it didn't stop the kids from swimming.
The fitness room has a whole in the wall the size of a hula hoop with wall paper loosely hanging over it. When i pulled the wall paper back I saw mold, etc. No doubt because it is beside the pool.
Room decor was dated but they were clean, service was good, and overall it was fine for a short over-nighter. I wouldn't stay here for extended period of time however.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhillca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
We appreciate you staying with us on your trip through the area. A lot of our guests find our location very convenient to Boston and other longer trips in New England. Thank you for noticing the cleanliness of our hotel. Our pool is very popular so we work on it on a daily basis to keep the chemicals the proper levels as well as keeping the clarity as high as possible. You are correct we will be repairing and replacing the area in the fitness room by the pool. We hope you will return during your next visit to the area to check out our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, NH, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Attended a submarine reunion in Portsmouth, NH. The facility was convenient to the function and the rest of Portsmouth. The staff was friendly and efficient. The room was nice and had all the amenities a person would need. There is a fitness room, an indoor and an outdoor pool. There is a restaurant attached with good food....A good place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
First, thank you for your service to our country serving in a submarine. Secondly, thank you for taking the time to write a nice review for our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about the staff. All of us enjoy working in the hospitality industry. It is heartwarming to welcome guests to our fine city and our hotel. The fitness room and indoor pool are open all year round however our outdoor pool is only seasonal normally open from Memorial Day to Labor Day. The Roundabout diner next door does offer good food. Their menu is very popular with both guests and our staff. Hopefully, your submarine family will hold another reunion soon or we will just see you for a vacation in Portsmouth in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Address: 580 US Highway 1 Byp, Interstate Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4144
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel and Suites has clean comfortable rooms featuring a 37" flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and free wi-fi. Our PLUS rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. Our Superior rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. In addition to our PLUS and Superior rooms we have suites with a separate living room and full kitchens. Every guest can also spend time in 1 of our 2 pools, a heated indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor pool or the newly renovated fitness room. The Roundabout Diner and 3,200 sf of meeting space complete our facility but the friendly team of associates make our hotel the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel Portsmouth
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel And Suites
Best Western Wynwood Hotel
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing