We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best western portsmouth nh” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Groton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best western portsmouth nh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I felt the price of the room was high, but not much available in the area as it was Columbus weekend. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable, unfortunately across from pool, which left the room feeling a little humid, and there was some mildew on the ceiling over the a/c, and also behind the unit. Also, a school soccer team was fairly noisy in the pool, noise did stop shortly before 10pm. For the price, I expected continental breakfast, none available as there is an attached restaurant, a voucher toward breakfast would have been nice .I also was disappointed in lack of premium channels on TV , did expect HBO for the price. Overall, while hotel and room were very nice, I do not feel it was worth the money, I have stayed in other hotels with equal services for much less.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We appreciate your business and your insight to our hotel. Travelers do enjoy the New England fall days very much coming to the Portsmouth area as a central point to enjoy the changing colors of the foliage everywhere. A lot of our guests on Columbus Day weekend went to the University of New Hampshire for homecoming since we are only 10 minutes away from the campus. Soccer teams and other groups view the holiday weekend as the last chance to enjoy the outdoors before the weather starts to change for the worse. Thank you for appreciating our guest rooms. Our entire staff works very hard to make sure everyone feels comfortable and welcomed into our hotel. The Roundabout diner does provide an excellent breakfast for our guests. We have found with their variety on the menu from Eggs Benedict and Steak to a simple pancake guests enjoy the ability to choose from the wide assortment. Our lobby has free coffee 24 hours a day with all of the fixings to go along with it. If you would like to return in the next six months I will gladly buy you a breakfast at the restaurant. We hope you will come back to visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    217
    125
    71
    36
See reviews for
226
231
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southbridge, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We try to stay here several times over the summer. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, the pools are attractive & inviting, the location is so convenient- beach, Portsmouth and Maine are all easily accessible. Even the bad weather days are OK here- there is an indoor, as well as an, outdoor pool. The attached restaurant means a great meal- without going into lousy weather. We love the beach, but often at this place, we just relax at the pool and read. Kittery is a a short ride up the highway, Portsmouth with all it's attractions is right there, and the beaches are convenient either up or down route 1. Always enjoy our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btheatermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for being a frequent guest of our hotel and for writing such as nice review. We truly appreciate all of your kind words. Our staff enjoys being helpful to our guests. They all work hard to create a warm, friendly and comfortable atmosphere for everyone. Our location is close to the New Hampshire beaches and not too far from some of the Maine beaches. A lot of our guests visit more local places than just Portsmouth. New England has several attractions just a short drive away to the North, West or South. I am glad you enjoy both of our pools. Hopefully, the weather is enjoyable enough to stay outside but everyone enjoys the indoor pool all year round. Please come back soon. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Once we figured out how to get to the hotel from the round-about in the dark - everything went smoothly. The room was clean, nice showerhead, the diner next door was handy (breakfast was better than supper). The rooms near the fitness center have an odd step-up into the doorway of the room - really hazardous as you exit the room! Some contrast paint might help until that step can be eliminated. Both of my traveling companions missed the step when heading out in the morning.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anne32825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Our staff and I both appreciate you mentioning the clean room. Everyone here works hard to make sure our hotel is clean, comfortable and welcoming for our guests. The Roundabout restaurant next door is a wonderful place to eat any meal. We enjoy the food there very much, which why we eat there all the time. I am sorry if anyone in your party difficulty with the step out if their rooms. We will look into possibly putting a contrast paint to help remind guest that their room is just like the entrance to their house and there is a small step down of six inches. From your tripadvisor badges it is apparent you are a frequent traveler and we hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millerton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was the nicest hotel we stayed in our entire vacation. The beds were so comfortable. The HD cable TV was great. The hot tub was so relaxing. The diner attached was really good, and they had the nicest waitresses. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. Your business is appreciated. Our amenities are enjoyable. We are glad you found the TV and bed to be so nice. Our hotel has all 37” flat screen television and "clean" remotes. Everyone at the hotel agrees that the Roundabout Diner is fantastic. We eat there a lot and truly enjoy their food, service and atmosphere. It is hard to tell which waitress you had because they are all so wonderful. Thank you for recommending our hotel. Hopefully you will be able to return real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just back from a great week in New England - we loved our stay at this hotel! My husband and I explored New Hampshire and Maine from this central location. Downtown Portsmouth is charming - a very walkable city! The hotel staff was great with local recommendations for food and shopping - and even helped with a Harley rental for my husband. I understand that the hotel is under new management, and the staff was so friendly! We had a one bedroom suite - so spacious and very clean, with a fully equipped kitchen! We will return - wonder if they can guarantee the same great weather!?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for writing such a glowing review. We appreciate your kind words as well as your business. Our location is very convenient for “leaf peeping”. Guests have gone north to the White Mountains of New Hampshire and also driven along the seacoast to catch the autumn colors of New England. Route 1A offers some truly spectacular views of old trees on the shore and the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. Motorcyclists have great opportunities throughout the region to see the fall foliage. Harley riders even enjoy it more with our corporate partnership between Best Western and Harley Davidson. The weather is always changing so no guarantees however the fall in Portsmouth is warm enough to enjoy a walk through downtown and still eat hot food at a river view restaurant. We hope you will return again soon the different times of year are also fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulberry, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was an excellent hotel located close to all attractions and shopping venues. The hotel itself was very clean and the staff went above and beyond in their duties. I would (and have) recommended this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. Our location is convenient to many different locations during different seasons. Right now during the fall we have a lot of guests that are shopping nearby in tax free New Hampshire and others that are going across the Piscataque River to the outlets in Kittery, Maine. The other popular activity right now is watching the leaves change colors. Our location allows for day trips up and down the seacoast as well as short trips to the New Hampshire Mountains or into the beauty of Maine. We appreciate you taking the time to notice how hard our staff works to keep the hotel clean and welcoming for our guests. Thank you for recommending us to your friends as well as anybody else who might read this review. We hope to see you and/or your friends soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Nice accommodations, the shower was great. The attached restaurant was excellent. No free breakfast but very affordable at the restaurant. I would stay here again and I would recommend it to someone else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We appreciate you staying with us on your last trip to Portsmouth. Our guest rooms offer a variety of shower and tub options including name brand spas. Some of our rooms also have showers designed to allow a guest in a wheelchair easy access to our facilities. I am glad you enjoyed your dining experience. We feel the Roundabout Diner is great too. Our associates eat there all the time. Hopefully you will return to our hotel in the near future for your next relaxing vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Address: 580 US Highway 1 Byp, Interstate Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4144
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel and Suites has clean comfortable rooms featuring a 37" flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and free wi-fi. Our PLUS rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. Our Superior rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. In addition to our PLUS and Superior rooms we have suites with a separate living room and full kitchens. Every guest can also spend time in 1 of our 2 pools, a heated indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor pool or the newly renovated fitness room. The Roundabout Diner and 3,200 sf of meeting space complete our facility but the friendly team of associates make our hotel the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel Portsmouth
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel And Suites
Best Western Wynwood Hotel
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing