We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay and service at Portsmouth BW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The suite is perfect for a family weekend retreat. Our service and stay were perfect. This hotel's location is central to hiways and town shopping locations. The staff is very helpful and courteous. Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

All of us are glad you found a suite to be perfect for your family weekend retreat. Our suites are very helpful to enjoy time together but not be too crowded together in one room. We have both a one bedroom suite and a two bedroom suite. They allow for families to have some of the comforts of home such as a full kitchen, multiple televisions, and extra space in a separate living room. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your mini-vacation. Our staff and I appreciate your kind words about our helpfulness and courtesy. Every one of us enjoys helping and welcoming guests to our central location. We hope you will be coming back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel has all the things I want in a hotel.
The stay started at checkin with a friendly welcome by Debbie and Tom the night clerks. As a diamond Elite member I was immediately upgraded to a Suite that was great. The next morning I decided to stay longer and was put back into the same suite. Upon checkout the staff were great. Terri and Sheila made us feel as if we were leaving home.
There is no Breakfast Bar but there is a fabulous "50's Diner" attached. Food is above average.
All in All a Great experience

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for such a nice review. We appreciate you taking the time to write about your visit to our hotel. Our associates are very grateful for your kind words and praise. They all enjoy welcoming guests to our hotel. Best Western Reward members are very important to us. This program allows our guests to gain the benefits of our national chain with over 4,000 worldwide locations. Since the program does not cost anything but provides tremendous benefits a lot of our guests have signed up. Being a Diamond Elite member we know you travel a lot and we hope you will return to our hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Excellent value for he Portsmouth, NH area. Helpful, courteous staff and the Roundabout Diner attached to the hotel serves very good food with all hmemade breads and desserts. I've stayed her twice this year and would definitely make it my hotel of choice for all of my twice-yearly trips to Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our hotel and the Roundabout Diner. The food there is very good which is why our staff eats there all the time. Our associates enjoy welcoming visitors to our fine city of Portsmouth. Everyone of them likes being able to help guests find other great places to eat or informing them of the wide variety of attractions around the area. We appreciate you returning to our hotel on your visit and hope you have a membership with Best Western Rewards to get points Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This affordable hotel was close to downtown Portsmouth, and totally met our needs. It was comfortable, friendly, spacious, and clean. It was easy-access to the highway, yet quiet. The room was large, the service was fine. For a chain hotel, you couldn't ask for much more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MissKitty731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate your staying with us during your last visit to the area. All of our staff appreciates your kind words about the friendliness and cleanliness of our hotel. Everyone here works hard to make sure we have a clean, comfortable and welcoming environment. Our location is easily accessible for Interstate 95 and downtown Portsmouth. We are close to a lot of attractions all year long. Our windows and building do provide a quiet environment inside the rooms. Due to the time frame our rooms were constructed they are larger than the typical hotel rooms. We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel this summer while visiting neighbouring beaches in Wells/Ogunquit/York and the outlets in Kittery. We usually stay in the Wells Beach area, but since we had some points to cash-in, we opted to stay at this hotel which is closer to the shopping locations this time and the York Best Western (BW) was not well ranked.

I have no major complaints against the hotel, but the rooms were more expensive than typical BW, yet the hotel has an older feel, and the rooms are not as modern. The bed linens were old-looking and the bathroom was small. We would usually come back from the beach early afternoon and our room had not yet been cleaned.

We also didn't like that breakfast was not included at the hotel, like usual at BW, but I understand the reason is because a diner is attached to the hotel. We had breakfast at the diner one morning, which was quite expensive.

I would probably not stay here again if we went back again.

Room Tip: The hotel is quite large so ask for a room closer to the elevators as you may have a long way to wal...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJDFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and for being a Best Western Rewards Member. We appreciate you belonging to a program that rewards you at no cost for membership. A lot of people enjoy the numerous benefits of staying at various Best Westerns because our organization has so many different locations. Our location is very convenient for Maine beaches as well as New Hampshire beaches. The Roundabout Diner next to the hotel does offer breakfast all day long. The prices are comparable to other restaurants in the area. It is difficult to comment since they serve anything from Steak to Eggs Benedict to simple pancakes so the costs can vary dramatically. We hope you come back. Even though this is really Bruins country we allow guests that are Devil fans, Islander fans and Canadian fans. We especially appreciate all of our college hockey fans. Go UNH Wildcats!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I felt the price of the room was high, but not much available in the area as it was Columbus weekend. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable, unfortunately across from pool, which left the room feeling a little humid, and there was some mildew on the ceiling over the a/c, and also behind the unit. Also, a school soccer team was fairly noisy in the pool, noise did stop shortly before 10pm. For the price, I expected continental breakfast, none available as there is an attached restaurant, a voucher toward breakfast would have been nice .I also was disappointed in lack of premium channels on TV , did expect HBO for the price. Overall, while hotel and room were very nice, I do not feel it was worth the money, I have stayed in other hotels with equal services for much less.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

We appreciate your business and your insight to our hotel. Travelers do enjoy the New England fall days very much coming to the Portsmouth area as a central point to enjoy the changing colors of the foliage everywhere. A lot of our guests on Columbus Day weekend went to the University of New Hampshire for homecoming since we are only 10 minutes away from the campus. Soccer teams and other groups view the holiday weekend as the last chance to enjoy the outdoors before the weather starts to change for the worse. Thank you for appreciating our guest rooms. Our entire staff works very hard to make sure everyone feels comfortable and welcomed into our hotel. The Roundabout diner does provide an excellent breakfast for our guests. We have found with their variety on the menu from Eggs Benedict and Steak to a simple pancake guests enjoy the ability to choose from the wide assortment. Our lobby has free coffee 24 hours a day with all of the fixings to go along with it. If you would like to return in the next six months I will gladly buy you a breakfast at the restaurant. We hope you will come back to visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We try to stay here several times over the summer. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, the pools are attractive & inviting, the location is so convenient- beach, Portsmouth and Maine are all easily accessible. Even the bad weather days are OK here- there is an indoor, as well as an, outdoor pool. The attached restaurant means a great meal- without going into lousy weather. We love the beach, but often at this place, we just relax at the pool and read. Kittery is a a short ride up the highway, Portsmouth with all it's attractions is right there, and the beaches are convenient either up or down route 1. Always enjoy our stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btheatermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for being a frequent guest of our hotel and for writing such as nice review. We truly appreciate all of your kind words. Our staff enjoys being helpful to our guests. They all work hard to create a warm, friendly and comfortable atmosphere for everyone. Our location is close to the New Hampshire beaches and not too far from some of the Maine beaches. A lot of our guests visit more local places than just Portsmouth. New England has several attractions just a short drive away to the North, West or South. I am glad you enjoy both of our pools. Hopefully, the weather is enjoyable enough to stay outside but everyone enjoys the indoor pool all year round. Please come back soon. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
#11 of 17 in Portsmouth
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites

Address: 580 US Highway 1 Bypass, Interstate Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4144
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £75 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel and Suites has clean comfortable rooms featuring a 37" flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and free wi-fi. Our Plus rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. Our Superior rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. In addition to our Plus and Superior rooms we have suites with a separate living room and full kitchens. Every guest can also spend time in 1 of our 2 pools, a heated indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor pool or the newly renovated fitness room. The Roundabout Diner and 3,200 sf of meeting space complete our facility but the friendly team of associates make our hotel the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel Portsmouth
Best Western Wynwood Hotel
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing