We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
US$184
US$162
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$173
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$162
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$144
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Portsmouth(Portsmouth)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
309
248
135
79
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
248
135
79
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant next doordiner attachedroundabout dineradjacent restaurantroom was cleantraffic circleindoor pool and hot tubfront desk stafffridge and microwaveoff the highwaythe hotel staffnew hampshirebedroom suiteclose to downtownconvenient locationwould stay here againkittery outlets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
563 - 568 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband escape to portsmouth as often as possible.Its a great location for shopping,eating and going to the beach in the summer.We always pick this hotel to stay at because of the combination of quality and price.The staff is very friendly and go above and beyond to make your stay fun.The roundabout restaurant is amazing (especially there dessrets !) and the lounge is fun.I'd highly recommend this hotel for buisness or pleasure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our hotel. We are honored that you keep returning to our hotel to enjoy Portsmouth as often as possible. Our staff appreciates your mentioning their friendly and fun attitudes. Everyone at our hotel enjoys welcoming repeat guests over and over again. It is always wonderful to see a familiar face that enjoys our hospitality. We hope you can come back real soon to enjoy another dessert at the Roundabout Dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The proximity of the hotel to downtown Portsmouth made this stay convenient and enjoyable. We will return to this hotel when next we visit our family in Portsmouth. We have stayed at other properties in the are, and found Best Western quieter and more comfortable that others. Perhaps a Bed and Breakfast option with the adjacent restaurant would make the experience even more enjoyable. Shuttle service to downtown Portsmouth would be an additional perk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jverdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us while visiting Portsmouth. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Our location is close to the heart of Portsmouth yet also convenient for a lot of other attractions near by along the New Hampshire seacoast. A shuttle service is something we are in the process of exploring to assist our guests and help with the sometimes crowded parking in the downtown area. Hopefully you will visit your family again in the near future and stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The room is reasonably priced and the hotel is located right off the highway but not to close. Just 5 minutes from the beautiful historic downtown Portsmouth New Hampshire. The friendly staff advised us of the hilights happening in town as well as recomended easy to find parking garages. I can truely said diddonethat and definitely will come again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diddonethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

We appreciate your business and your opinion of our hotel. Our location is very convenient for a lot of guests because we are just a few minutes from downtown yet we are also short distances from other attractions up and down the seacoast. Thank you for your kind words about our friendly staff. Every one of us enjoys sharing knowledge about the area. We look forward to your next visit even though you have already done that we believe there may be more to see and if we are wrong it is all worth looking at twice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Very clean hotel with friendly staff. Wifi was horrible, very, very slow and inconsistent. Ten minutes to load a page is unfathomable......The diner attached to the hotel was good, excellent breakfast with super friendly waitresses!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewbieTraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel and mentioning the friendly staff at both the hotel and the restaurant. I am so sorry you found our free wireless internet access to be slow. Our speed is normally very good so I am not sure what would have caused the lack of speed for your downloads. Due to advances in technology we are constantly updating our systems. Please let us know if there are ever any concerns and we can try to rectify the problem immediately. Hopefully, we will see your friendly face again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Although the two bedroom suite was more than comfortable and roomy, the appliances and carpet were old and worn. My family was very comfortable spreading out and settling down to a long weekend. We did miss having a full sofa in the living room. Four recliner chairs were available, but not having a sofa was noticeable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

We are happy you and your family enjoyed your visit to our hotel. Our large suites do allow families to spread out just like at home. Your suggestions are appreciated. We will definitely take a look at them. Our guests provide us with advice that allows us to understand their needs along with their concerns. Consistently, we are taking a look at our furniture and décor as a way to improve our guest’s experience. Recently, we added a brand new Elliptical Machine plus a 60” television to our fitness room to respond to guest’s feedback. Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts, your business and your review. Hopefully you and your family will be able to return soon so we can show you our latest improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews