We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R & R despite Hurricane Arthur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Southbridge, MA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“R & R despite Hurricane Arthur”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We cone here for long weekends to rest, relax, read & use pools & hot tub. Great location- lots to do in Portsmouth, close to Kittery shopping & Maine beaches. Hotel is clean, comfortable & well cared for. Staff is friendly & helpful. We always enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank btheatermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    225
    128
    75
    38
See reviews for
234
242
24
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here two nights. The room was clean and had everything needed for my stay. The bathroom was a nice size. The hotel has an indoor and an outdoor pool. There is no included breakfast, but there is a cute little restaurant attached to the hotel. I would stay here again. It is a good price. I have no complaints, but it nothing really stands out, either.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaml1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

we had a great stay in this hotel. we arrived late due to traffic in Ct. I was greeted by a very friendly desk clerk. She and I had a discussion about the traffic because I called in hours earlier to let them know e would be a late arrival. When she seen we were traveling with kids she upgraded us to a suite and told us to relax for the evening since we had such a long day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Yvette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Me, wife and child stayed 2 nights over 4th of July. Close to full but not crazy. We pricelined it and got a decent room (not a suite). Lots of families and kids but really quiet--good walls where we were. The traffic circle proximity isn't noticeable--on our side of the building and no noise--and the furnishings were used but fine. What really impressed me was staff attitude. A very busy holiday weekend for everyone but them, and I'm pretty cranky after a day of travel. Mason at the front desk was so kind and responsive that he really talked me off the ceiling, and that attitude came across in all the staff areas as well. It turns an okay place into a good experience. The only piece of surprising bad news (and maybe this was because we were priceliners): they wanted $22 / night for a rollaway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CampbellFamily888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, Pa, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this facility before going out to Star Island the next day. We stayed at this facility last year. We enjoyed our stay once again. The room was clean (except for some trash in the recycling bin. It is nicely decorated and the staff was very friendly. We will stay here again if given the opportunity. We really like the Diner that is attached to the hotel because it plays the old time tunes. Once again, thank you Best Western for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Harriet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Property needs attention. The only positive was the bathroom in the room (clean & updated). The age of the carpet throughout the hallway and room certainly showed, and smelled. Air conditioning was awful. Will search for a different hotel next time I visit Portsmouth.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SJRenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed her one night because we were going to a family gathering in the area and another family member was staying here. Our room had a thick coating of dust on part of the bathroom vanity, and our tub gurgled and backed up the next morning with gunk coming up our of the drain. We were unable to shower and when we talked to the front desk, we were told that the maintenance guy was not there now. She offered to take 10 % off our bill. She later offered a whopping 20%. There was no effort to seem sorry for this and I left very angry. I would never stay here or recommend it to anyone. There were other choices nearby, and I should have done my own research.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jvenneberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 June 2017
I am so sorry you had any difficulties at all during your visit. I apologize for the difficulties you had with the plumbing. We appreciate your insight and we'll make sure our maintenance department does better at catching preventive issues. The tub should have never back-up. Our Front Desk would also be willing if there is a problem to have you switch rooms or use a bathroom in an unoccupied guest room if that could help with your concerns. We all feel bad that we were unable to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
356 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
#12 of 17 in Portsmouth
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Address: 580 US Highway 1 Bypass, Interstate Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4144
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel and Suites has clean comfortable rooms featuring a 37" flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and free wi-fi. Our PLUS rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. Our Superior rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. In addition to our PLUS and Superior rooms we have suites with a separate living room and full kitchens. Every guest can also spend time in 1 of our 2 pools, a heated indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor pool or the newly renovated fitness room. The Roundabout Diner and 3,200 sf of meeting space complete our facility but the friendly team of associates make our hotel the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel Portsmouth
Best Western Wynwood Hotel
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing