We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiny”
Review of Motel 6 Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Portsmouth
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Tiny little roomies no shampoo no razors.no nuthin just a crash pad and kinda crummy

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestconsumer411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

No frills at all. Bring your own shampoo, etc. However, clean, neat, friendly staff, easy to drive in and out. Fine for an overnight. There is coffee in the morning in the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn4452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Good location to visit UNH or Portsmouth, no frills but perfect for overnite stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim10_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The motel is listed as having an outdoor pool however it's very small (only goes to 5' and is about the size of a parking spot -- 8'x20'). Motel exterior is somewhat elaborate but that feeling ends once you leave the lobby: hallways are old (yet nicely scented) and our room had a musty 'glow'. The deadbolt lock didn't work and half of the lights are burned out. The price is decent for a spur-of-the-moment stay, as well as for being so close (15 minutes) to Portsmouth but we will be choosing something else next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inthismoment7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I travel to Portsmouth for business several times a week and have stayed in numerous hotels in the area. This Motel 6 has the friendliest, most efficient staff of any of them! Easy as anything to check in and get to your room. Very accomodating, down to earth clerks, unlike some of the other snobby hotels in the area.

Some of the rooms have excellent beds, some do not. Quiet. Good internet. Clean rooms.

Highly recommend this motel above the other big-name chains.

PS - I've never seen any bed bugs here and I've stayed in several smoking rooms on the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: The queen beds aren't as comfortable as the full-size, in my opinion. But the showers in the que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

No-nonsense highway motel. The room seemed OK at arrival, but during nighttime a pump/generator or something else kept humming at a level keeping you half awake. We stayed at 2nd floor at the far end from the elevator - maybe it's better at the other end?

Room Tip: Check your specific room before signing in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeJeWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Firstly, we had to ask to have our non-smoking room changed to another non-smoking room because the first smelled like...you guessed it smoke. The other room still smelled like cigarette but wasn't as bad. But hey it was just a one night stay but then I laid down on the bed and all I could feel we're the springs. I had to put the main bed spread which I should mention had at least one cigarette burn in it underneath me. If you have any type of back or neck problems you'd be better off sleeping in your car. I am in SHOCK so many people gave it a Very Good rating

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinsapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
#10 of 17 in Portsmouth
431 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 17 in Portsmouth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portsmouth

Address: 3 Gosling Road, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £48 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Motel Six Portsmouth
Portsmouth Motel 6
Portsmouth Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing