We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointed.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Portsmouth

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Motel 6 Portsmouth
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The only good thing to say is the girls behind the check in/out counter were very friendly. The beds were like rocks, no shampoo/condition (vending machine had 2 little packets for $2.00) Had to pay $3 a day for wi-fii. No breakfast or even coffee or tea, none in rooms or anywhere else. No hair dryer in room. There was hair from the previous person in the shower. The walls were paper thin, could hear the people walking above us and partying out in the hall and their rooms next to us. The pool is very tiny. I could see this as a $50 a night motel not one that cost us $104 a night!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wavewatcher73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    78
    63
    34
    40
See reviews for
73
92
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Staff wasn't sure my room confirmed with Priceline would be ready on time,Their credit machine was not working properly,when calling their helpline they were put on hold indefinitely.Finally I gave them cash.They gave us a smoke stenched (nonsmoking) room.When I spoke up they Febreezed it.It still smelled so I too bought Febreeze but it made no difference.I liked their shower,luckilly I brought own shampoo and tooth brush as they're available in the candy machine
to buy.There no microwave,refrigerator or coffeemaker and no complimentary breakfast.Ive gotten more for 49.00.With tax 104.00.You might be better finding a cardboard box.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtlemann60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Augusta, ME
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

For the budget traveler, this is a good choice for a night's sleep near Portsmouth. It is right off I-95 and next to a shopping center. The room was clean and quiet. As Motel 6's go this is a good choice for a budget stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Gadfly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent our first night at this motel as it was outside Boston but only an hour drive away, so a good spot to start from fresh from a nights sleep. Comfortable rooms and within walking distance of a couple of large stores and places to eat. No breakfast provided which suited us fine as we had found a nice diner not far away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
317 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We always choose Motel 6 when traveling with our dogs because of their chain wide pet friendly policy. This property is hands down the best Motel 6 we've stayed at. The interior and exterior is spotless. The rooms and furnishings appear new and modern. If all the Motel 6 were this good, we'd stay in them all the time. The front desk clerk was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We will be back here whenever we're in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a cheap place to crash, this place will do. The building was scheduled for renovations later in the year so hopefully it improved. That being said, the room was clean. The T.V., Lighting, Decor, Hallways and other aspects were very dated. The hallways feel a little like a poorly lit school. Like I said though, very affordable and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonAllsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

From the moment you walk into this beautiful and very clean hotel the staff makes you feel welcome , at home ! The rooms were clean , and well maintained . the microwave and fridge were also clean . The room was quiet and the only drawback was that when the phone rang at the business next door , we could here it if the windows were open . John is the best!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkpegasus1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.5 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.5 mi away
America's Best Inns & Suites
America's Best Inns & Suites
#12 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portsmouth

Property: Motel 6 Portsmouth
Address: 3 Gosling Road, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Motel Six Portsmouth
Portsmouth Motel Six
Portsmouth Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing