We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fennville, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Convenient”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband & I have stayed a few times now at the Port Inn. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is conveniently located to downtown Portsmouth. Also reasonably priced and friendly helpful front desk. Will stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    237
    62
    14
    1
See reviews for
216
342
38
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This motel-style inn is very reasonably-priced, situated a few minutes outside the main town of Portsmouth. The front desk was very friendly and helpful when we checked in. Our room was in the second building in the back- very quiet, clean, and with a small kitchenette. There is a decent breakfast included, which is nice since there are no other places to eat in the immediate location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building behind the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBTraveler38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A very pleasant little inn. Clean and very comfy. We had a double bedded room in the front (103). Even though there was a fairly busy road along the side of this inn, our room was very quiet. It has a nice comfortable chair for reading on a rainy day....which is what it was doing while we were here. Also a small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Breakfast was very adequate...scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, Mc Donald's Sausage, egg and cheese biscuits, yogurt, an assortment of breads and bagels, muffins, fruit, yogurt, and juice, cocoa and coffee. I would highly recommend this as a very good value for your money. Cookies at night would have made the stay perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Port Inn hotel has it all! Well appointed rooms, delicious fresh breakfast and friendly staff! Plenty of parking and beautiful new pool area. You can pay more but you won't do better in this area,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Port Inn is a cozy place outside of downtown Portsmouth.
The morning breakfast bar is great.The staff was very friendly and helpful. When the person at the front desk realized someone in our party was running a 1/2 marathon that morning, she made sure to provide us with a bag to take some fruit, juice, and a muffin for after the race.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. The only complaint - at the time of arrival there was a very strong scent (possibly room freshener) that was a bit overwhelming. However, leaving the windows open for a few hours eliminated most of the odor.
The location is not beautiful (off the highway and near shopping plazas), however it is a short (3-4 minute) drive to downtown, and the price is far better than other hotels in the area. I have stayed at the Portsmouth Hilton, and if I return to Portsmouth, I would probably stay at The Port Inn again.
You cannot beat the price and friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thrr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Port Inn is a comfortable and cozy hotel at a value price. Even though it is not located downtown (see value price), it is right off the freeway and only a short drive to ample parking and wonderful restaurants in the heart of Portsmouth. We stayed in a suite which was very clean and quiet. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We were able to extend our stay twice during the week and instead made day trips to Portland and Boston. The continental breakfast was complete and all we needed to get us going in the morning. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

the Port Inn has just become an Ascend Collection Hotel from Choice and it is refurbished..Clean and comfortable. Nice staff. Breakfast is not as good as Comfort Inn up the street but the price is less so worth the difference for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHURCHGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
484 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 505 US Highway 1 Bypass, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4175 (Formerly Port Inn Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off Rt. 95 and the Portsmouth Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking. Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn feature microwaves, refrigerators, Starbucks in room coffee, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and High Definition cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area We are pet friendly- sorry, dogs only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing