We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice roadside/stopover hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Port Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,334 reviews
309 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
“Nice roadside/stopover hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Situated just off the freeway on the outskirts of Portsmouth, this is a good base if you are driving everywhere. It's a 10 minute drive to downtown Portsmouth.

With free parking in front of your room, moving in and out is a breeze.

The bed and pillows were just okay as were the shower and towels but the toiletries were good - Natura.

The room came with a microwave, fridge, TV, coffee machine, work desk, easy chair and free wifi.

Continental breakfast was included and I also used the coin laundry which was inexpensive.

I had a comfortable one night stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    233
    60
    12
    1
See reviews for
201
334
35
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed with a group of friends for a long weekend of exploring the seacoast area. Rooms are clean and and appear to have been updated recently. The complimentary breakfast was remarkable. Set up like a buffet breakfast in a restaurant. Hot and cold items, as well as fruit and juices. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Our room was in the front of the motel and the highway is quite noisy. The hotel is surrounded by car dealers with giant lights on the property, even with dark curtains the room was like sleeping with a light on. I would strongly suggest going for a room in the back section. Central location makes it easy to drive to all the area sights. Would come back again, but go for a back room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank vtcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Port Inn for 1 night on July 8-9. We were given an upgraded room to a king. The room was immaculate and looked like new. Very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was pretty good and served off the front desk area. The pool is in the rear of the property and was clean and refreshing. The front of the property is located on a busy road just off the Hwy 1 traffic circle. Our room was in the front of the proerty. You notice the traffic outside but not from inside the room. The location was a short drive to the waterfront and restaurants. The rate was reasonable as we are budget travelers.

Room Tip: Much quieter in the rear ogf the property around the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSCrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
254 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed for one night and were very friendly welcomed at the front desk. Room is small and somewhat dark due to one small window near the door. They have a swimming pool outside. Ask for a room at the back otherwise the traffic noise can provide a bad night sleep. We walked to the city center, takes around 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Initially we were disappointed by this hotel - we'd paid a high rate as we arrived on the 4th July - only to be given a room reminiscent of the motel we'd stayed in on the 1st nigh of our holiday that charged half the price, and looked very unlike most of the pics on the site. However this was a comfortable stop supported by the excellent friendly staff. It was in a good place to drive the scenic coastal route down to Salem and visit Maines wonderful outlet stores just over the boarder. Portsmouth is a joy - and this hotel was 5 minutes away. The laundry was a welcome facility. The small outdoor pool looked good. Breakfast was one of the best we'd had with biscuits/ sausage/ cheese/egg combos. Home cooked sausages, Bacon and scrambled eggs were all good. Juice, yoghurt, pastries, fruit all available. Rooms well equipped with cooking facilities and fridge, coffee maker. The high rate and dated nature of room stopped me awarding full marks.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenLytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in this hotel for a long weekend. Our room was not available upon arrive but the staff were welcoming and provided us with directions to town and several places to shop and eat. The hotel is about a half hour walk to downtown or a $6 cab ride. The lobby and rooms were decorated very fashionable and everything was clean. However, we had requested a non-smoking room and the room had obviously been smoked in recently as the smell was very strong. We did not request a room change as it was late when we returned from shopping and dinner. Bonuses are a pool and free breakfast. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Portsmouth for the cleanliness/décor, pool and value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneywithChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Port Inn on our way to visit family. We had originally booked at another local hotel, and when we arrived at 9:30 p.m., found out the hotel had no water. The Port Inn was just around the corner, so we stopped not knowing what to expect. The motel has a cute New England style look to it. The room itself was nicely decorated and very clean. We were also pleasantly surprised with the great breakfast in the morning. We would definitely stay again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bolts3032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn Portsmouth

Property: Port Inn Portsmouth
Address: 505 US Highway 1 Byp, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4175
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off Rt. 95 and the Portsmouth Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking. Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn feature microwaves, refrigerators, Starbucks in room coffee, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and High Definition cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area We are pet friendly- sorry, dogs only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing