We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Inn, great value and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Port Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
CT
2 reviews
“Wonderful Inn, great value and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

My husband and I stayed here for two nights with our two young children. It poured the entire time we were there, but we still managed to have a good time. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful in finding us something to do in the rain. I thought the rooms were very nice, spotlessly clean, and it was wonderful to have the fridge and microwave for the kids. We paid $107 per night with the AAA rate and thought this was a great value - I have paid much more for places of significantly lower quality. The continental breakfast was quite generous and coffee and tea were available all day. The location was perfect - central to everything. I would highly recommed the port inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    233
    60
    12
    1
See reviews for
201
331
34
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Because these reviews are truly bizarre. First, read every review here and you won't realize one thing: THIS IS A MOTEL. It's the classic 50s format of a U-shaped parking lot with a U-shaped line of rooms around it. No halls. No elevators. Park right in front of your room.

Next, open your door. You're not just in Maine: you're in the 60s! At least, that what the decor looks like. Pretty horrific, very dark. And I hope the room you get doesn't smell as bad as ours. If it does, well, you get used to it.

So, every review here -- and my star ratings -- should be prefaced with the words "For a motel," because otherwise none of this makes sense. For a motel, this place is clean. The fridge is nice, the microwave is nice. The shampoo and soap are truly motel quality. Breakfast was a bit better than motel average. Desk guy was great. I didn't like the neighborhood, didn't like the view out my back window, and didn't like the lack of security that a front door opening on a major highway means.

Would I stay here again? Good question. The folks I travelled with didn't mind the place, but though $110 a night was way too high. I'd check hotels in the area and see if any were near that rate. This place is functional but DEFINITELY not romantic or even fun.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanHans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmacdDoverNH, manager at Port Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 7 July 2009
To start, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the odor the guests encountered in their room and by no means is it something you should have had to “get used to”. As the review states, The Port Inn was indeed originally a U-shaped motel, but other than this original layout, nothing remains from it’s past. The property now consists of two buildings, the pool is no longer in the center of the “U”, having been moved to a beautifully landscaped area away from the road, is now heated, and open three seasons. There is also a picnic and barbeque patio located in this area. The last 10 years have seen a total transformation of the rooms to a level far beyond a typical motel - 32 inch High Def Flat Panel TVs, high speed internet access, wired and wireless, in all rooms. Décor varies by room type, some being appointed with a traditional style based on burgundy and gold toile. Others are appointed with white comforters in a contemporary cottage style. Bathrooms vary from cottage style with white bead board accents to some with granite shower and vanities. In keeping with our strive to be an environmentally friendly operation, we have chosen lines of bath amenities called “Natura” & “Natura Green”, from Resource Sweden. The packaging in this line includes 100% natural recycled paper, soy based ink, and hair product bottles made from corn based ingredients that are 100% biodegradable. The products are 100% vegetable based. Complimentary Seattle’s Best Coffees and Tazo Teas are available 24 hours a day in our lobby and are featured in our Continental Breakfast along with assorted pastries, muffins, and breads, including locally produced “When Pigs Fly” breads. The question of security - whenever one is visiting an area they are unfamiliar with, there can be feelings of uneasiness about the unknown. The Route 1 Bypass is a moderately traveled local commuting road, and the area is by no means considered unsafe. Finally, it is always a good idea to check other rates when considering a hotel choice. In the Portsmouth Market, The Port Inn would be considered a mid priced choice. There are some others that are lower priced, others that are much higher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

Excellent stay, friendly and extremely efficient staff from front desk to house cleaning. Spotless rooms, nice continental breakfast. 24hr coffee and tea. All for a extremely reasonable rate. Also its all about location, location, location!! Close to everything you are going to want to see. Stay here and see for yourself but I can tell you this, you will NOT be dissatisfied. I will stay here from now on whenever I visit this area in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr3158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

We decided to stay at The Port Inn to try it out, what a pleasant surprise! We have stayed in several places in Portsmouth over the years, including the new Hilton and Sheraton. We needed to find a place where we could stay while house hunting and not pay the cost of the bigger hotel chains. This was it! The check in process was fast and courteous and paperwork was ready upon arrival. When we opened the door to our room, it was a little stuffy, but what do you expect from a motel near the sea. The smell was gone in minutes once we opened the windows. The kitchenette was immaculate along with the bathroom! Let it be known that the kitchenette was fully equipped with a full range and convection oven. There was all types of cooking utensils and two different sized coffee makers. Everything we needed was there, and then some!
The second night we were there, there was a wedding party, but thankfully they were very quiet! Unfortunately, there is some noise from the RT. 1 bypass, but it was not that noticeable. Overall, for the price we paid, we found The Port Inn to be a gem of a motel! We wish them luck! We highly recommend them.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealTrueStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

This was a great place to stay all around: friendly staff (esp. Skip), nice rooms and even better: quite affordable (use AAA if you have it). Nice flat screen TV in the room, along with a little corner nook with an iron/ironing board, microwave & refrigerator. A little tricky to find the exact location of the place but happy we did. Would recommend this place 100x over!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisco-traveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

I've never written a review for a hotel before but I was very impressed and felt a need to write this. The Port Inn was a great location for me and my niece. Located right off the highway, but not noisy at all. The rooms were clean and we felt perfectly safe. The staff was very helpful and gave us directions for everyting we needed. I originally was disappointed that we were not closer to town but we were only 10 minutes away and the drive in was easy, plus we got to see more of the area. The continental breakfast was not spectacular but very adequate and left us room for great meals in town. I would return without a moment's hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerib54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here on Valentine's weekend and will certainly be back. It's right off of the Portsmouth Traffic circle so it's not very secluded, but it is close to many restaurants and about a five-minute jaunt from both Kittery and downtown Portsmouth. When we first arrived our room was not as it appeared on hotels.com (the site we booked it through), so we contacted the front desk. Skip was concerned and we decided that hotels.com may have put up misleading photos to make the hotel seem more attractive. He asked us to explore other available rooms to see if we liked anything else better and said he'd gladly switch us if that was the case. We found that many of the other rooms looked exactly as the pictures online depicted, and once we settled into our new room we couldn't have been happier. In fact, we were so pleased with the stay we decided to book an extra night! Another wonderful amenity is the 24-hour coffee/ Tazo tea station in the lobby and the wonderful continental breakfast that includes juices, When Pigs Fly breads (a great little New England company), bagels, fruit, muffins, danishes, and scones. A great gem in Portsmouth!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAgirlinME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn Portsmouth

Property: Port Inn Portsmouth
Address: 505 US Highway 1 Byp, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4175
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off Rt. 95 and the Portsmouth Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking. Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn feature microwaves, refrigerators, Starbucks in room coffee, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and High Definition cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area We are pet friendly- sorry, dogs only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing