We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, very clean, nice pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great rooms, very clean, nice pool.”
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed in the honeymoon suite. Excellent room. Nice mini-kitchen, Massive TV in the lounge and another large TV in the bedroom. On-demand TV channels in both rooms. Very clean and very well finished. Free wi-fi access. Very tidy outdoor area with small pool. Very friendly staff. Good value. Only downside is that it's situated outside the town.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rippedapig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    237
    62
    14
    1
See reviews for
216
342
38
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

My wife and I decided to stay at the Port Inn in Portsmouth after our telephone call to a Receptionist ( Noreen) at that Inn. We decided to stay for 7 days due to the great rate ( less than $ 100 per night ) we were being offered for a studio king if we stayed a minimum of a week.
The \inn was easy to locate by GPS and we really liked the location as it was close to the traffic circle which allowed us to travel in any direction at any time ( Newberryport, Mass, Kittery ,Me, etc ) and the Inn was only a few minutes from downtown Portsmouth. We felt that we had a great room for the price and the studio rooms are located in a separate and very quiet building next to the pool and in the back of the front section which is more of a motel type accomodations. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and Noreen was always ready to help us when we needed help regarding restaurants, etc. The rooms were also very clean and our housekeeper, Rita, went out of her way to make us feel comfortable and at home. The room was not luxuriously furnished but great for the price and it included the internet, and a kitchenette. It was also very convenient to be able to drive up and park at the spot in front of our door.
My wife and I really enjoyed our experience at the Port Inn and we felt that the price made it very attractive for us to stay in that area for 7 days. Next year, we plan to stay at the same Inn in Aug or Sept for at least 2 weeks.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralphl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, MA
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

My family stayed here at the end of the summer in 2009. Overall we had a great experience. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and extreemly helpful. There was a bucketin our room filled with goodies which was a nice touch and a good snack. Nice kitchenette and comfy beds. The pool was really nice to have and never over crowded. My only complaint was the breakfast was limited and not much seating. If you do not want to sit outside in the beating hot sun in front of traffic then you have to ballance your plate on your lap and eat in a chair in the lobby. This could be improved on. Overall a good expeience good locationa nd reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetp9994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We stayed at the Port Inn in Portsmouth NH for a long weekend. We looked at the website and everything looked nice. This place was fabulous. Very pleasant and attentive staff, extremely clean, totally peaceful and quiet, great outdoor pool and sitting areas and their continental breakfast is beyond anything we've experienced at any other hotel. This hotel is right near downtown Portsmouth where there is wonderful dining and shopping. We cannot wait to go back again. I know we will be going back there for years to come. If you need a place to stay in the Portsmouth NH area I would suggest you stay at the Port Inn. You won't be disappointed in any way.

Judy and John

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank destinyAlbanyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Hotel was easy to find after a long drive. Room was immaculate - very spacious with well stocked kitchen unit and parking right outside - nice pool and friendly staff. Easy drive to downtown Portsmouth, Kittery and York beaches. Need a car to do anything though.
Only disappointment was the breakfast - very limited choice. If you don't want bagels or muffins, there's not a lot else to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toonrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I stayed here with kids and it was a good value. Clean, comfortable and convenient!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Although we had lots of rain during our stay, the people at The Port Inn made a cheerful difference. At check in we received the best "shortcut" to downtown Portsmouth, info on where to park and eat, and where to local shopping. Our room was small, but VERY clean, and the microwave and refigerator (larger than the usual ones) were very appreciated. Pool was also a nice surprise, as it's in back and quiet and secluded. One afternoon I was the only one there!
Continental breakfast was fine- better than many places, and we ate there every morning. The Kittery outlets are 7 minutes away, and beyond that, driving to Ogunquit is about a half an hour. Great place, and a wonderful value. I di notice there were few families, and not many children. It was a very quiet area, so perhaps families go more for the beach motels

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LocalGirl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
485 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 505 US Highway 1 Bypass, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4175 (Formerly Port Inn Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off Rt. 95 and the Portsmouth Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking. Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn feature microwaves, refrigerators, Starbucks in room coffee, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and High Definition cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area We are pet friendly- sorry, dogs only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing