We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Nearby Hotels
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ale House Inn(Portsmouth)
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Portsmouth(Portsmouth)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (931)
Filter reviews
931 results
Traveller rating
592
257
67
14
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
592
257
67
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastdowntown portsmouthbagelsnew englandoff the highwaycoffee makerroom was spotlesstraffic circlewould definitely stay here againone night staya great place to stayminute drivefridge and microwaveconvenient locationflat screen tvoutdoor poolfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
827 - 832 of 931 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2007

I stayed at this little hotel recently and was blown away by the service. The owner and his wife have run the hotel for many years and obviously have a great sense of pride in their operation. The rooms are clean and nice, the rates reasonable, and the customer service impeccable. It is refreshing to stay in a hotel that is bucking the current trend of nickel and diming you for everything and sticking you for extra nights if you check out early. The Port Inn is the real deal. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank callmeishmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2007

I agree with all the other reviews. Cute little place, good rates ($80 something for a Sun. nite in May), only a 20 min walk into downtown which we did a couple times. The towels were of great quality, bathroom was nicely done, room was fine. They offered Royal Dansk cookies in the afternoon and a good spread for the cont. breakfast but we were going out so we didn't take advantage of it. Everyone there was very nice, if only all hotels had that great combo.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2007

This motel was a real find. It was clean, quiet, comfortable, and in a good location. The people went out of their way to be helpful. We plan to stay there again when we are in the area.
MS, Alexandria, VA

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank traveling2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2007

Traveling by car for l4 hours, we wanted to have a goal of where to stay that would be a good value for the money. The pictures on the websight looked too good to be true but in reality The Port was decorated in a lovely way. We arrived at l0 p.m. and yet were warmly welcomed by the owner. Our room was in perfect condtion and beautifully decorated with top quality bedding. Our room even had a kitchenette that we did not have time to use but it was nice to know about should we return to the area. Good easy chair, table and chairs to drink coffee at. Everything was in good working condition. A generous continental breakfast was served with a nice variety. The staff was very helpful. The reviews more than lived up to the actual description. We can strongly recommend that you don't pass up The Port should you be in Portsmouth, New Hampshire.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 4,521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

We stayed at the Port Inn for three nights the end of March. They had a special two night "shopping'pkg for $149, including a gift basket of wine, cheese, candy, and coupons, plus we stayed a third night at the AAA rate of $80. Compared to all the other accommodations in the area, this was a bargain.

The Inn was centrally located - about 10 minutes to downtown Portsmouth, and very close to Kittery Maine for outlet shopping. We were not happy with the location of the room when we checked in - in the front by the main intersection. We were concerned it would be noisy. The staff said that it would not be noisy, but were more than happy to move us to a location in the back. They were extremely accommodating. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The only complaint was that the bathroom was extremely small - but that was minor. Everything else in the room was fine.


They had a complimentary breakfast - coffee, muffins, danish, juice - we just had their juice and went to one of the many coffee cafes in downtown Portsmouth that we really enjoyed.

I would highly recommend staying here and if we visit Portsmouth again in the future, we will have no hesitation staying at the Port Inn again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 133sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews