We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by first impressions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 June 2007

The front part of the hotel from the street looks like an old route 66 type motel. Not in upkeep, just the single story, outside entrance to rooms, appearance. But what a pleasure our nights stay was. The fellow in the office was helpful, you could tell he genuinely cared about your stay. Recommended a nearby restaurant for a late meal, which was fine.

The room was as described in other reviews. Easy wireless access, and "Seattles Best" coffee, which was a nice touch for someone from the west coast.

I would definitely stay there again if passing through Portsmouth anytime in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bcrcretire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 898 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2007

The Port Inn, Portsmouth NH - June 7-8, 2007

I booked this hotel as I had always noticed in the past how well kept this little inn looked. On numerous occasions I called to make reservations, but our plans always ended up changing. I remember always thinking to myself how pleasant the reservation agent or desk clerk was each time and vowed someday for all the above mentioned reasons I would in fact sty there. On June 7th, this finally happened, as we were travelling to a seminar further up the coast and felt this would help us to get to the seminar which was to start fairly early the next morning. By the time we got out of work. and headed up to the Inn, stopping for a bite to eat, it was nearly 10:30 when we arrived. We needed to be out and on our way by approx 7:30 the next morning. One would think that this was not much of a stay, but it was! The property was much larger than it appeared from the street, the pool which could not be seen from the street looked gorgeous, very inviting and very well kept, the amenities in the room were again more than we expected-I never even though to ask if there was a refrigerator, and I think there was a microwave also. We were treated very pleasantly by the hotel clerk, possibly the owner, informed of the continental breakfast they offered in the morning starting at 6am, given directions to our destination to save a bit of time in the morning (the locals always know the traffic and the best ways of getting where you need to, as quickly as you can-also of possible construction delays etc.). We settled in for the night -had a wonderful nights sleep, grabbed some ting quick to drink and was told to take something to eat on our way and off we went. The next night we were at a very luxurious hotel for the seminar we attended all that day. As were settled down to sleep my husband remarked " I only hope the bed is nearly as comfortable as the one at The Port Inn, because I slept great last night and could really use another good nites sleep. In all we found everything and everyone to be great at the Port Inn, very personable, much more than the very luxious hotel we stayed at the next night. The room was great, the landscaping very well kept up and appealing. the pool quite inviting (if we only had a few more hours!), and the Inn was far more than we expected and much larger than it appeared from the roadside. I would really commend the owner on the neatness of his property and coutesy extended by his staff.
The only problem I found was we need more time to stop and stay, so we could enjoy all The Port Inn offers. We have stayed in many of the chain hotels in Portsmouth, and would not stya at most of them again after staying here-the only other hotel I'd consider as a second choice, if we could not get into the Port Inn, would be the Hampton Inn, (even though it overlooks the highway and Home Depot's parking lot) where we have also found the service to be good, and the staff friendly, but I think the pool at the Port Inn and the location and grounds of the Port Inn are so much nicer! You could not even bother with the other hotel chain properties in the area - The Holiday inn, The Marriott Courtyard, Howard Johnsons whcih may be Ramada Inn now?, the Comfort Inn, we've stayed at them all - it's a shame we didn't know what we were missing so many years ago!
D. Simpson, Scituate, RI

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DARLS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2007

I stayed at this little hotel recently and was blown away by the service. The owner and his wife have run the hotel for many years and obviously have a great sense of pride in their operation. The rooms are clean and nice, the rates reasonable, and the customer service impeccable. It is refreshing to stay in a hotel that is bucking the current trend of nickel and diming you for everything and sticking you for extra nights if you check out early. The Port Inn is the real deal. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank callmeishmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2007

I agree with all the other reviews. Cute little place, good rates ($80 something for a Sun. nite in May), only a 20 min walk into downtown which we did a couple times. The towels were of great quality, bathroom was nicely done, room was fine. They offered Royal Dansk cookies in the afternoon and a good spread for the cont. breakfast but we were going out so we didn't take advantage of it. Everyone there was very nice, if only all hotels had that great combo.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2007

This motel was a real find. It was clean, quiet, comfortable, and in a good location. The people went out of their way to be helpful. We plan to stay there again when we are in the area.
MS, Alexandria, VA

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank traveling2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2007

Traveling by car for l4 hours, we wanted to have a goal of where to stay that would be a good value for the money. The pictures on the websight looked too good to be true but in reality The Port was decorated in a lovely way. We arrived at l0 p.m. and yet were warmly welcomed by the owner. Our room was in perfect condtion and beautifully decorated with top quality bedding. Our room even had a kitchenette that we did not have time to use but it was nice to know about should we return to the area. Good easy chair, table and chairs to drink coffee at. Everything was in good working condition. A generous continental breakfast was served with a nice variety. The staff was very helpful. The reviews more than lived up to the actual description. We can strongly recommend that you don't pass up The Port should you be in Portsmouth, New Hampshire.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 4,521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

We stayed at the Port Inn for three nights the end of March. They had a special two night "shopping'pkg for $149, including a gift basket of wine, cheese, candy, and coupons, plus we stayed a third night at the AAA rate of $80. Compared to all the other accommodations in the area, this was a bargain.

The Inn was centrally located - about 10 minutes to downtown Portsmouth, and very close to Kittery Maine for outlet shopping. We were not happy with the location of the room when we checked in - in the front by the main intersection. We were concerned it would be noisy. The staff said that it would not be noisy, but were more than happy to move us to a location in the back. They were extremely accommodating. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The only complaint was that the bathroom was extremely small - but that was minor. Everything else in the room was fine.


They had a complimentary breakfast - coffee, muffins, danish, juice - we just had their juice and went to one of the many coffee cafes in downtown Portsmouth that we really enjoyed.

I would highly recommend staying here and if we visit Portsmouth again in the future, we will have no hesitation staying at the Port Inn again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 133sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
526 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 505 US Highway 1 Byp, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4175 (Formerly Port Inn Portsmouth)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £69 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off Rt. 95 and the Portsmouth Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking. Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn feature microwaves, refrigerators, Starbucks in room coffee, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and High Definition cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area We are pet friendly- sorry, dogs only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing